We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castelnaudary
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

The only reason one goes to Castelnaudary is for the famous cassoulet and I am afraid that this one was up to my expectations. The hotel was somewhat run down, bt it is an old building. I do not that I would want to stay there but I was there for the meal, which was recommended by guide book. This was very ordinary and I would not go back. The service was good but not what we read about in the article recommending it, therefore I would not go out of my way to get there especially if you are on your way to Carcassone as there many good restaurants in that city.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanfordhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    31
    22
    14
    10
See reviews for
17
40
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leysin, Switzerland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed here during a bicycle trip along the canals. The hotel is run-down and dirty, with dead pigeons stuck in chicken wire above the garage. There were even rats in the walls. The staff were unfriendly and the breakfast was dismal. I am not just another american who doesn't "get" France, I lived there and I speak French. This hotel is a must to avoid. However, the cassoulet at their restaurant was excellent!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AckExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Castelnaudary hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

This was the second time I have stayed here and I had the same experience. very old dirty rooms that i desperate need of an upgrade. It was three star and has been reduced to two star. Justified.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeenthereBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2009

This hotel is excellent value, it has comfortable rooms and a good restaurant specializing in the dish that the area is famous for, cassoulet. The hotel is very inexpensive for what you get and the service is excellent with really friendly staff only to happy to accommodate unusual requests. It was a real pleasure to stay here, the staff's helpful and friendly attitude had a lot to do with it. If you're looking for comfortable lodging that's inexpensive in a good location in Castelnaudary, look no further, the Hotel de France really is excellent value. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bozlogjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lot-et-Garonne
Level Contributor
400 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

In our view this hotel falls below its 3-star rating and doesn't meet the standard of 'Logis de France'. Our room was dingy and cramped - the bed extremely uncomfortable and our friends in the next-door room felt the same. Maintenance was poor; an inoperative toilet fan, and collapsed shower hose that was capable of inflicting lacerations showed that either no-one reported defects or no-one did anything about them. Entry foyer carpets dirty. Inadequate lighting in corridors was dangerous due to varying floor levels. This place could be a lot better than it is, if someone took an interest.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelnaudary
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Canal
Hotel du Canal
#3 of 6 in Castelnaudary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Centre et du Lauragais
Hotel du Centre et du Lauragais
#4 of 6 in Castelnaudary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clos Fleuri
Clos Fleuri
#1 of 6 in Castelnaudary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Castelnaudary
Ibis Budget Castelnaudary
#2 of 6 in Castelnaudary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison du Cassoulet
Maison du Cassoulet
#5 of 6 in Castelnaudary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
14.6 mi away
Auberge du Balestie
Auberge du Balestie
#1 of 1 in Malegoude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: 2 avenue Frederic Mistral, 11400 Castelnaudary, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Castelnaudary
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castelnaudary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing