We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Castelnaudary
Post
Inbox
Search

“What a great Cassoulet ”
Review of Chez David

Chez David
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed February 17, 2017 via mobile

Went there for a lunch business. The Cassoulet and crème Catalane were amazing. Recommend this place.

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank Guerino4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 550 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2017

We were pointed in the direction of this little gem by the base of Le Boat and were we delighted that we chose to take their advice! The cassoulet was simply to die for! We had never tasted one before but later that evening we had another one at another restaurant and were so disappointed in comparison!
The service, the ambience, the food - you can't go wrong! Great because all the locals frequent it as well which always tells you something about the food.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenny-Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2016

First class muscles everything was well presented and nice and hot.The wine was good and local to the area It made a good stoping place for lunch and was only a short distance from the motorway.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2016

Do not be miss-led by the bistrot look of this restaurant. We have eaten many cassoulet over the past 30 odd years but this one is to die for. David spends most of November and December in Chicago where the locals get the chance to eat this Languedocien delicacy. His menu also offers some great alternatives to cassoulet if so desired. One of our party went for the veal in Madeira sauce and she was enchanted (she is herself an excellent cook). We look forward to an excuse to return in the beginning of next year to try one of his other specialties, but not choosing the cassoulet accompanied by a bottle of Fitou, which is the perfect wine for the two tastes to compliment each other, may very well be too difficult. The desert called “cassoulet glacé” was superb as were the “profiteroles”. The prices are extremely reasonable and the personnel efficient.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2016 via mobile

Ate here upon the recommendation of Trip Advisor...wow, the reviews weren't wrong. A great restaurant, with friendly atmosphere, good location in town, a waiter who couldn't do enough for you, and a menu which provided something for all. We had the cassoulet, it was the best!!! Chef David is a real character and is happy to chat after the meal...we couldn't fault this place and would definitely go back! The best cassoulet in town!

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Nikkib1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez David also viewed

Castelnaudary, Aude
 
Labastide-d'Anjou, Aude
Castelnaudary, Aude
 

Been to Chez David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing