We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of La Belle Epoque

La Belle Epoque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: From the Palmes to the Belle Epoque, The restoration is for us a profession But above all a passion. From Pierre Poggioli in 1956 to Jean-Pierre, since 1980, The know-how, like our cassoulet, king dish with us, Is transmitted from father to son. The Belle Epoque is a traditional cuisine With a fancy grain To the good taste of the products of terroir.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Accidentally we did find La Belle Epoque. The diner and the wine were very good. We enjoyed it very much. Everything was as expected. I had the entrecote and my wife agneau. Both very well, after the dessert a cup of delicious coffee. That was the end of a very enjoyable experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kees W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    91
    12
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Antonin Noble Val, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fantastic find”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Dad's had a bee in his bonnet about eating cassoulet for years so as the highlight of our short family holiday we decided on La Belle Epoque. Superb choice, lunchtime ambience, clean, efficient, friendly, easy to find by the canal, parking no problem. Cassoulet for the guys, salmon for mum ( small portion i have to say) snails & salad for me, all very, very good. Would do it all again any time, oh & the pudding tarte tatine was lovely.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Great food,
If your French is limited or as in my case no existant you may need a little time to order or translate with your phone.
We had the fillet steak and it was one of best we have ever had.
The pear tart was fantastic.
You wont find much better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dogsbodyinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Finest cuisine in town”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you are ever in Castelnaudary this is the only place to dine. Extremely friendly hosts, even if your French is not so good. Five of us dined, all varying meals but all were superb. For myself I must recommend the Cassoulet, has to be the best in the South of France. Do not miss!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank libs46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth finding and almost excellent”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Recommended by the reception team at Le Boat, La Belle Époque was well worth the find for our end of holiday meal. Located down a side street the ambience on approach is not great and, as the first diners to arrive, we were initially unsure as to whether they were open or, as it looks quite formal, under dressed. We need not have worried as what followed was a very good meal in a relaxed unpretentious style with attentive service. 3 chose from the regional fixed price and 3 from the a la carte. The two confit cassoulet was excellent and steak ordered medium rare was not, to our relief, adjusted to a stereotypical 'Englishman's medium'. Escargot, tournedos, entrecot and veal with morrelles mushrooms all much enjoyed. Relatively quickly the restaurant filled to give a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere. The initially chosen wine was found to be corked (it was rather unceremoniously uncorked at the table and not poured for trying) but without further ado was immediately changed and the batch 'quarantined' until the owner had been able to check a selection to ensure the quality. The replacement recommendation proved to be an excellent and well priced red. The arrival was a bit too quirky to make this an excellent but it is a close run thing. That said, I suspect that others arriving a bit later to an occupied restaurant would have a slightly different experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sherwoodStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Epoque also viewed

 
Castelnaudary, Aude
 

Been to La Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing