We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay near Canal du Midi”
Review of Villa des Roses

Villa des Roses
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castelnaudary
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa des Roses
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good place to stay near Canal du Midi”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our party of five had very nice rooms in this B&B before our Le Boat trip. They are clean, comfortable, and roomy. One drawback is no air conditioning. We opened our windows, turned on the fan, and were comfortable. However, it might be hot in the summer. The gracious owners, Eddie and Shirley, are from England and are restoring this old country house. It is an easy walk to Le Boat and town. Eddie took us and our luggage to Le Boat and helped us get our provisions to Le Boat the morning of departure. The breakfast was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for the nice large room on the first floor -- especially if you are tall. The bed doesn't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandJ-Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
4
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here whilst walking the canal du midi. Welcoming hosts, lovely garden and they even changed our room as they noticed that my husband is 6ft 2 and although the standard bed was fine the bigger room (and so bigger bed) for no extra charge was a lovely touch.

Would recommend.staying here. Short walk into castelnaudray where the boulangerie (open till 10pm) serves wine and has a terrace which over looks the port

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My friend and I were cycling the canal Du Midi on our Brompton bicycles. We checked out the Tourist Information in Castelnaudary and saw their leaflet. What attracted us was the 'garage pour velos'. We got a warm welcome and a cold drink on the house when we arrived which was a perfect end to a long ride from Toulouse. The large room was clean, cool (30 degree heat outside) and comfortable with an ensuite shower and bathroom. Only thing was we missed was the 100th Tour de France passing their gates a few days before!!
The next day started with a big breakfast which set us up for the next leg of the ride.
Fantastic.
Annief

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed here for one night when I was walking along the Canal Du Midi and it is in the perfect location for the canal. I was made to feel very welcome, given good suggestions for dinner in Castelnaudry and given a great breakfast to send me on my way. The room was spotless and comfy and there were lovely extra touches like an array of leaflets, magazines and games. Very handy location for walking into Castelnaudry and also for joining the canal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JC73Jainty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We were part of a group of eight friends that met up at Villa des Roses prior to commencing a trip on the Canal du Midi. The accommodation is a short walk to the centre of Castelnaudary and is very comfortable set in large grounds. Eddie and Shirley made us all very welcome giving us the run of the house. They supplied us with endless pots of tea and coffee while we all caught up with our various traveling stories and news from home. They also gave us good advice on where to go to partake of the famous Cassoulet the specialty of the region. After a huge breakfast Eddie very kindly carted our luggage to the boat harbour and assisted us with gathering the provisions for the boat. His extra help was well beyond the call of duty and very much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling-Tassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanderer
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

This beautifully renovated villa is on the outskirts of Castelnaudary overlooking picturesque French countryside - but still easy walking to all that the town offers. It's also just around the corner from the Grand Basin and a set of canal locks which are great to watch in operation.
The owners are really friendly and helpful and the continental was definitely up to standard.
My room (with en suite) was clean, light and airy, with a lovely view - altogether a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DragonWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, Dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2008

I would like to share with the users of this website what a fantastic B&B Villa Des Roses is!

I spent 4 nights at Villa Des Roses with my Family in Sept '08. We had 2 en-suite rooms (1 Twin Room and 1 Double Room) both of which were a great size, very comfortable and imaculately cleaned (we could even see the Pyrenees from our bedroom window on one of the clearer days)

Villa Des Roses really is a beautiful B&B, and it has such a homely feel. Eddie & Shirley were wonderful hosts who made us all feel very welcome from the moment we arrived, and we were welcomed with a drink!

The centre of Castelnaudary was just a 10-15 minute stroll (along the beautiful Canal du Midi) from Villa Des Roses, and the nearest restaraunts were just 5-10 minutes, so the location was also very good.

I really could not recommend Villa Des Roses highly enough!

  • Liked — The hospitality
  • Disliked — Breakfast was too nice, so ate too much!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank StLouis80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castelnaudary hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Canal
Hotel du Canal
#3 of 6 in Castelnaudary
200 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clos Fleuri
Clos Fleuri
#1 of 6 in Castelnaudary
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Centre et du Lauragais
Hotel du Centre et du Lauragais
#4 of 6 in Castelnaudary
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#5 of 6 in Castelnaudary
91 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Castelnaudary
Ibis Budget Castelnaudary
#2 of 6 in Castelnaudary
261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aujuseb
Aujuseb
#1 of 3 in Castelnaudary
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa des Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa des Roses

Property: Villa des Roses
Address: 1 avenue des Pyrenees, 11400 Castelnaudary, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Castelnaudary
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Castelnaudary
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing