We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for a quick stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Campanile Orleans Ouest - La Chapelle Saint Mesmin
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We dash back and forth from the south of france about twice a year and always need to book somewhere for a short stop. We rarely stop until relatively late in the evening so all we are looking for is a convenient location, secure parking, clean and comfortable bed and bath (and of course, relatively inexpensive). On this score, the Campanile really was very good.

We didn't arrive unitl about midnight as we were cuaght in traffic around Paris, We tried to call the hotel but found our mobiles not set up with roaming, and couldn't find payphone in any service stations. Needless to say, the guy on reception was not happy that we didn't phone to say we'd be after 11, and made it known. Not a pleasant encounter at midnight after a long drive from Calais. Fortunately, he was speaking French too fast for me to be 100% sure what he was saying!!

Checkout was swift the next morning though, and we both slept well in the room. Would I stay here if I was staying longer than an overnight stop, I highly doubt it. But for what we wanted, it really did the job. Poor customer service, great value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 168 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2012

As soon as we came off the autoroute, jct 1, we saw the large neon sign of the Campanile so finding it couldn't have been easier. The surroundings didn't bother us much as it was dark. The receptionist was very friendly and welcoming. The outside motel-style bedroom and bathroom were comfortable, clean, warm and tea/coffee facilities very welcome. Entry gates were locked from 10 p.m. until 6 a.m. and we were given an access code should we have needed to venture out. The room was of sufficient size, and we both slept very well. We didn't use the restaurant. All in all it proved a very satisfactory stopover on our long journey from Carcasonne to Calais and good value at 50 euros.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Good location, stayed here after reading some good reviews.

The room was hot and stuffy especially the bathroom, far too hot in there !
There was tea & coffee making in the room which was good.

The restaurant / cafe was awful with dirty tables not being cleaned up. The evening food was terrible although breakfast the next morning was fine.

Some people were smoking outside there room on the floor below and the smell drifted up to us, as none smokers we found that quite unpleasant.

Would not stay here again out of choice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chattypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Stopped over here from Calais heading to the Dordogne. As some reveiews say, it is on an 'industrial' park, but to be honest they are commercial units, not factories, and the hotel feels more like it is on a leafy surburban street. Hotel is fenced and gated, so feels nice and safe if you have a car full of things you don't want to unpack. We had a ground floor room, but it had good shutters, was spacious enough and had a good comfy bed and bathroom. The little restaurant actually had a really good selection and we enjoyed a great meal there at a fair price. There is a small 'garden' where you can sit outside and eat which was a bonus. Breakfast was good, with a reasonably broad selection, though of course it was extra cost - increases the price of the room by a fair percentage, but you can choose to take it or leave it. It's fairly basic and not a place I'd stay at for a few days in a row, but as a stopover it met our needs, and with a beer and some french food nicely kick started our holiday. Oh - free wifi too

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanParnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Having had a pleasant stay in this hotel a few months ago, we decided to book it again. The receptionist, this time, was most unfriendly, abrupt and on the edge of being rude. The beds were comfortable but the rooms were small, extremely hot (nor A/C), the free WiFi was so, so, so slow......and the staff was delivering bed linen at....05:30 in the morning. Breakfast at over 9.00 Euros......no thank you. Two average meals and a room (with no breakfast of course) came to 126,50 Euros........ I don't think we'll use Campanile again !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iamyourman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Campanile Orleans Ouest La Chapelle Saint Mesmin Hotel. We got one of best night's sleep ever. The bed was so comfortable we didn't want to get up. The room was immaculate. The breakfast was excellent. When we had trouble finding the hotel, they sent someone searching for us! For the price, this was one of best hotels we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctordean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Some years ago we stopped staying at the Campanile chain as we found the rooms past their best and the menus monotonous. We booked the Campanile at Orleans Ouest as it was the most convenient on our journey. What a pleasant surprise we had. The rooms were newly furnished with flat screen TVs, lovely bed linen and updated bathroom. All was clean and fresh and the kettle and coffee were still there! The restaurant had the usual set up that Campanile specialise in, but we found that the food served was more varied and interesting. We had the Menu Gourmand which was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would compliment the management and staff on the running of this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dahu60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Chapelle-Saint-Mesmin
0.1 mi away
Hotel Premiere Classe Orleans Ouest - La Chapelle Saint Mesmin
Hotel Premiere Classe Orleans Ou...
#4 of 8 in La Chapelle-Saint-Mesmin
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ptit Dej Hotel Orleans
Ptit Dej Hotel Orleans
#3 of 8 in La Chapelle-Saint-Mesmin
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Orleans Ouest - La Chapelle Saint Mesmin
Kyriad Orleans Ouest - La Chapel...
#1 of 8 in La Chapelle-Saint-Mesmin
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Orleans
B&B Hotel Orleans
#7 of 8 in La Chapelle-Saint-Mesmin
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Orleans
Ibis Styles Orleans
#5 of 8 in La Chapelle-Saint-Mesmin
577 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Orleans sud Parc des Expos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campanile Orleans Ouest - La Chapelle Saint Mesmin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campanile Orleans Ouest - La Chapelle Saint Mesmin

Address: rue de l'Aquitaine, 45380 La Chapelle-Saint-Mesmin, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > La Chapelle-Saint-Mesmin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in La Chapelle-Saint-Mesmin
Price Range: $39 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campanile Orleans Ouest - La Chapelle Saint Mesmin 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Campanile Orleans Ouest - La Chapelle Saint Mesmin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Campanile Orleans Ouest - La Chapelle Saint Mesmin France/La Chapelle-Saint-Mesmin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing