We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect a good night's sleep!”
Review of Campeole Plage Sud

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Biscarrosse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Campeole Plage Sud
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We went here for the first week in August...............!

We arrived at Reception and had to queue.......... and queue.......... and queue....... for almost 2 hours! This is simply not acceptable after a few hours drive and pre-booking and pre-paying for your pitch.

We were led to our site by a young man on a bicycle. Our site was fine as were the toilet and shower facilities but you can see the need for bicycles on this site. We knew it was pretty big and it was, but the size is not a criticism.

The problems started at night. Now the entertainment stops at midnight and this is fine, but it appears that the French youngsters just want to party until dawn, so they do and for this, they choose to base themselves in and around the toilet and shower blocks which have the required electricity sockets for their music!

And party they did, each and every night. The total disregard for anyone else on the site was breathtaking. The British abroad are often criticised for their drunken behaviour but the young French take this to another level! Many people complained, but each day the queues at Reception ground down all but the most dedicated camper.

Morning brought groups of French males in their teens and twenties swigging from cans of lager and beer at 9:00am and these groups tended to continue as long as they could through the days. Not great fro a family site!

The campsite facilites are good with plenty of activities for families and children and should be commended for this. Another lovely touch was the small market area which was set up by traders near the Reception on most evenings. This was really nice. The on site shop was also very good with very reasonable prices, a real neccesity now that there is no longer a Lidls just outside the camp. The nearest supermarket is a 15 minute drive away. Another good point is the fresh bread baked throughout the morning and evening on the camp site.

I guess if I were to sum up this I would say that this site needs to decide just who it caters for. As a family camp site, then this is excellent, plenty to do, close to the town and beach, very safe for children with lots of family based activites.

Where it falls down is in it's failure to uphold the family values by allowing young French people to hold parties and meetings throught the nights in and around the toilet and shower blocks. It felt more like an 18-30s holiday on times!

This site could easily score 4-5 stars if it addressed these issues.......... Oh yes, and one other thing, the daily enourous queues at Reception, simply unbelievable, because what ever you need to go to Reception for at whatever time of the day, you need to queue and 30 mins is a short wait. Mind you, when you leave, you have to use your electronic key to let yourself out, then park up and queue to return your key because none of the staff would take it off you, it took me 1 hour and 20 mins in the queue just to leave...........!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WelshGreyhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 254 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

Having stayed at a Campeole site before we had an idea of what to expect. The 2 bed (sleeps 6) mobile home was brand new, we were the first to stay in it! It had everything you needed for a comfortable stay, even deck chairs. The site was HUGE & because we went out of season (end of June) there were very few children about, and unfortunately, the new swimming pool wasn't complete (was due to open on 1st July) & the old one was being cleaned the whole time we were there so unable to go for a swim which was the only thing that stopped our review being 5 stars. The new pool area looked lovely & only wish we could have had a swim! The site is located within a short walk to the main town of Biscarrosse Plage, about 10 mins walking takes you to the shops & at the end of the shopping area is the beach. There is a Lidl supermarket just outside the main reception to the site which stocks everything you could wish for & a hypermarket is located on the way into the main town of Biscarrosse, along with a McDonalds & a fuel station. Please note that as the site is huge, it depends of what type of accommodation you have booked, as to where it is located, the Pagan & Bengali bungalows as well as the Pagotels are located on a hill & may not have parking outside your door. The are plenty of restaurants in Bisca Plage & also a pizza restaurant just outside the main reception. The guys in reception spoke excellent English & were very helpful. All in all, I would recommend this Campeole site.

Room Tip: Remember that some types of cabins, chalets etc are located on a hill. The better the grade of accom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cédric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
2  Thank Justine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank YannA30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HarDet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mathilde M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biscarrosse
2.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Domaine de Gascogne
9.6 mi away
Les Cottages du Lac
Les Cottages du Lac
#1 of 4 in Parentis-en-Born
354 reviews
1 mi away
Campeole Le Vivier
Campeole Le Vivier
#17 of 21 in Biscarrosse
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Camping Mayotte Vacances
Camping Mayotte Vacances
#3 of 21 in Biscarrosse
1,021 reviews
2.4 mi away
Slow Village Biscarrosse Lac
Slow Village Biscarrosse Lac
#5 of 21 in Biscarrosse
93 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hype Hotel
Hype Hotel
#1 of 11 in Biscarrosse
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campeole Plage Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campeole Plage Sud

Address: 230 rue des Becasses, 40600 Biscarrosse, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Landes > Biscarrosse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Biscarrosse
Price Range: $48 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campeole Plage Sud 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large three-star campsite in the middle of a pine forest. Water slide, heated swimming pool and leisure pool, open-air bar. Beautiful beach 800m away, all shops and services less than 10 minutes' walk. Reservations for campsite places, rentals of mobile homes, chalets, canvas bungalows, deluxe places for mobile homes all year round. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing