We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rode motorcycles up to Cerro Verde - incredible!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Park Cerro Verde

National Park Cerro Verde
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.99*
and up
Santa Ana Volcano Hiking Tour from San Salvador
Ranked #4 of 12 things to do in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
160 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Rode motorcycles up to Cerro Verde - incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We rode our bikes up through San Isidro on a smaller road and into the National Park. Stopped for lunch and debated about a hike to the top of Volcan Santa Ana but it was a bit late in the day (it's a 4 hour hike round trip) and I wasn't feeling well enough to tackle it. The views from the top of the valley and country below, Lago Coatepeque and the volcanoes was incredible and well worth the trip without the hike.

There is an overlook stop for photos on the road up for Lago Coatepeque. And as we left the park we headed north toward Santa Ana to get better views of the lake and skyline/ridgeline road in this area. Beautiful drive/ride!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jardindemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    23
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nature!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Another excellent choice for those that enjoy nature and walking. This place has many alternatives to enjoy nature, from walking to great views along the paths. Great place to bring family or enjoy just with friends.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MerceditasHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester MA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Volcano Izalco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I took the 248 bus at 730am from Santa Ana to Cerro Verde. It took about two hours to get there and cost 90 cents. We arrive at 930 and pay the 3 dollars to enter. Me and a buddy noticed a group walking down towards the Izalco Trail. We asked if we can join and they were ok with it. We were with two guides and two policemen. We walk down this trail that takes about a half hour to trek. We arrive at this moonscape of a place that takes you aback. Amazing! We start the climb which takes about 45 minutes. The views from the top are spectacular. The smoke coming from the massive crater gives you a sauna experience. You can walk around the edge and get a panoramic. The climb down on the other hand is pretty dangerous. I fell about 6 times. Make sure you take your time and get some walking shoes that can handle the pressure. And then theres the return climb up. Wow! challenging for sure. Its the toughest part of the adventure but worth it all. We arrive back at the park by 1pm. A guard tells me the next bus leaves 4pm. We decided to walk down the road and maybe catch a hitch. We were rewarded with I believe the best view of the lake Coatepeque just not too far walk from the park. We walk about 2K and hitch a ride with military police. Yeah you read that right. They drop us off at the intersection and hop on a bus that arrived about ten minutes later to Santa Ana. Great day. Worth the hassle. Happy travels.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kentmoney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milbridge, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GORGEOUS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was an amazing experience for me. I went with my husband and a few of his cousins. It was an absolutely gorgeous day to be on an absolutely gorgeous volcano! I could not have asked for a better experience. I took some amazing photos of the landscape. For anyone who enjoys rummaging through trees as much as I do, this is a must visit place for you! I was even able to see some rainforest wildlife.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank runawaypalomino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fees have gone up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Two months ago they started a new fee of $3.00 to enter park. Prices have also gone up for hike up Santa Ana Volcano and it now costs $8.00.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BoxcarSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Park Cerro Verde also viewed

Santa Ana, Santa Ana Department
San Salvador, San Salvador Department
 
Santa Ana, Santa Ana Department
Coatepeque, Santa Ana Department
 

Been to National Park Cerro Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing