We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect mixture: Forest & Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Acqua Viva Resort And Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Acqua Viva Resort And Spa
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Nosara
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect mixture: Forest & Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

This hotel is an excellent option for those who want to have everything at one place. Right there my husband I could have both experiences: Forest & Beach. They are located in the middle of the forest, so we were able to see not only birds, but also monkeys, indeed, we were able to feed a couple of white-faced monkeys who got close to the restaurant to ask for bananas!!!
Great beaches are also very close to the hotel, not even 5 minutes driving. Since the beaches do not have many trees, the hotel provided us with umbrellas and beach chairs everyday along our stay.
The hotel rooms were great, we stayed in a Suite at a great offer they had: 3 nights for the price of 2. It had 2 TV's, A/C, and were beautifully furnitured.
The staff was lovely, they were always beyond our needs and expectations.
I really recommend this hotel as it was one of the best experiences I've ever had.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stargazerlilly31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    28
    12
    5
    16
See reviews for
20
40
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Overall I liked this hotel. I had a two floor suite that was really nice. It felt more like an apartment than a room. The setting was nice and the people very helpful. I was there during the down season so the place was pretty empty which I guess can be a good thing. I was able to see monkeys from my room and also had one come pretty much up to the rooms upper deck. With the thrill of seeing monkeys came the early early wake up call they give you with their loud howls. You are pretty much in the jungle, so what would you expect? One drawback of the place was that for some reason they decided to build these suites right up to the road. The windows don't face that direction but is kind of a disappointing that they would build them there and not away. Also, as you drive down the driveway you see some really unlandscaped areas as well as a rancho that looks like it's falling apart. But once you get to the lobby and dining area, it is pretty amazing.
I would stay here again if being close to the beach isn't so important. It's just a 5-10 minute drive away.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TVtravelLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

If you are planning to go to have fun, relax and enjoy the nature in Guanacaste in Costa Rica, you should definitely go to L'Acquaviva Resort and Spa in Nosara.

The service is outstanding; from the first moment you arrive, you are treated as the most important person in the Hotel. If you don't believe me just try it! In addition the exquisite design of the hotel build in a charming natural environment, offers you the right balance between nature and your mind.

Be part of this experience and feel what “pura vida” means.

Me and my wife totally recommend you this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NiMaDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

We got a free upgrade to a suite, because the standard rooms were all booked. The suite is two levels and is lovely. Very unique design and finishing. We loved the "cove" shower. The bed was comfy and the linens were nice. The service from the front desk was wonderful and very friendly. The included breakfast is nice with fresh fruit and yogurt and your choice of eggs and toast with coffee/tea and juice. It might be a good idea to bring your sleeping mask and earplugs as the villa gets bright at about 5am and it backs onto the road where the traffic starts as soon as it is light.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lehigh acres
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

my experience at l'aqua viva was unbeleivable,from the day i arrived 'till the day i left,beging by a very warm welcome from the front desk,the staff at the restaurant and bar,they are all awesome,they really want your stay there to be unique,and the staff achieves this easily with a great smile on they're faces,the rooms are super clean ,with flat screen tv's, cable,the bathrooms are clean and big,the restaurant is exquisit with a variety of food,pools with perfect water, a spa (for the wife),trees all around,and the place itself it's amazing,the exterior of the buildings are awesome ,never seen anything like that before, the best is in my opinion,the staff,they were nice and ready to help with anything i needed,courteous ,always smiling, thank you l'aqua viva ,i will return soon,

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawrence1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

We came looking for a nice place to stay, and we get a most enjoyable and exquisite experience.
The staff are extremely pleasent and nice, the food at breakfast, lunch and dinner was excellent, the grounds are beautiful.
Overall, a memorable and relaxing respite.
We will defintly recommend Laqua viva to others

Scott & Mary

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottoghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

L'acqua Viva is beautiful and the staff and wonderful. The hotel has everything you could need - a spa that is quite good, a full gym, plasma TVs in every room, AC, a great bar and a pretty good menu. However, you feel somewhat removed from the town and the ocean. They do offer shuttles to the beach regularly but we still wanted to be able to walk to restaurants or to the surf. All in all - it's a gorgeous spot but just doesn't feel like you're getting the 'Costa Rican' experience when you're there.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
1.4 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
2.8 mi away
Harmony Hotel Nosara
Harmony Hotel Nosara
#5 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
2.5 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#7 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#3 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
3.1 mi away
Olas Verdes
Olas Verdes
#8 of 23 in Nosara
5.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#9 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Acqua Viva Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Acqua Viva Resort And Spa

Property: L'Acqua Viva Resort And Spa
Address: Playa Guiones, Nosara 85-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Nosara
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Acqua Viva Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Acqua Viva is idyllically situated in the middle of lush vegetation, bordering the extraordinary Forest Reserve and Wildlife Refuge of Nosara, at a short distance from the spectacular beaches of Pelada, Garza and Guiones, this last one considered a paradise for surfing. The hotel displays a genuine architectural style, which harmonizes with an exclusive decoration representing the fusion of diverse ethnic elements from around the world, creating a high end atmosphere and comfort to enjoy the tropics. Many of the spaces of the hotel will surprise the guests with carefully chosen pieces of art of well-known artists, which belong to a private collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your L'Acqua Viva Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Acqua Viva Resort And Hotel Nosara
l Acqua Viva Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing