We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hosts I've had yet and my new favorite Nosara lodging- here's what you want to know.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodge Vista Del Mar
Ranked #18 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Nosara
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best hosts I've had yet and my new favorite Nosara lodging- here's what you want to know.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Seriously, forget that the property is gorgeous, the view is beautiful and the lodging is in great shape - I'd go back just for the company of Gale and Marina. The best hosts I've had Ever! I've been to Nosara 5 times over the last 6 years and this is my new favorite place to stay. It's a little out of the way - about a 5 minute drive into the main part of town and the beach so if you have no transportation you might stay elsewhere. At the cost though, you could stay here AND rent ATV's during your stay for the same cost of just lodging elsewhere (That would be my recommendation)! I actually prefered being out of the dust/noise of the main part of town. They do NOT have TV's (who cares) but they do have great wi-fi and air conditioning is optional if you want it - they charged us 5 dollars per night that we used it. Breakfast is simple but delicious. We woke up to Coffee, fresh juice, toast/jam and an assortment of fresh fruits every morning before going for a surf. One more unique thing about this place was there pool - it's a 75 foot lap pool which I thought was pretty neat as I've never seen one like it before.
Make sure to ask Gale about his passion project farm. Ask him anything actually, such a great guy to be around. Also, Marina gave us a couples massage (35$ pp) that was pretty wild - it was so good we got one everyday we were there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leigh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mlng001
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived in Nosara without any hotel reservations. Stopped at a few hotels which were recommended. Either they were booked or very expensive. We stumbled onto this location. What luck. Great location, good price. The owner was great. Very clean, we had great views. This place has the basics; no T.V., did have wi-fi. It was perfect. We were there in the dry season. We had a tiny car and had no trouble going up and down the hill. Will stay there again on our next trip.

Room Tip: This lodge is not exactly a hotel. Our room was on the second floor, faced the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlng001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights at Vista Del Mar in the winter of 2012. The host, Gale, could not have been nicer and more accomodating. He moved from the states a number of years back and built the hotel on the peak of one of the larger hills in the area. The view is spectacular. The flowers, wildlife and vegetation are incredible. We ate fresh fruit for breakfast each morning from fruit picked on the grounds. This is a good hotel if you are going to be on the go constantly. We started out in the 1 bedroom the first night and then moved to the 2 bedroom. Neither of them are particularly comfortable with only the basics. Don't stay here if you want a comfortable chair or couch to lounge around. Also, you need a vehicle if you are going to visit the sites. Nothing is really in walking distance and the dusty roads will probably make biking unpleasant. Nosara is truly beautiful and is good for adventure travel. It is very dusty and you will be on dirt roads the whole time. However, if you like surfing, zip lining, river trips, fishing and learning a new culture this is the place for you. This is not resort living.

Room Tip: Go for the 2 bedroom unless you are on a strict budget and don't plan to stay any time in your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blakeb1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

We originally booked a room at Vista Del Mar for two day but ended up staying a third because we loved it so much! This is a unique place to stay. It's not a "hotel" in the true sense of the word. It's intimate and pure, built by the owner many years ago. Surrounded by rain forest with amazing, second to none views of the ocean. Also a wild abundance of wildlife from howler monkeys to iguanas just 20ft away from the balcony. When you stay at Vista Del Mar you feel like you could stay there for a good long while. Gale and Marina outstanding hosts. They were are always warm, gracious, available and extremely hospitable. You can even schedule a massage! If it sounds like I'm extremely biased, I am. I loved this place and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yesac L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

I laughed at the "poor" reviews- complaining about no TV? who needs TV when you've got howler monkeys, iguanas, pixotes & countless birds in the trees overlooking a nature preserve framing a breath taking view of the pacific ocean? no toilet paper in the toilets? IT'S COSTA RICA- that's how it is everywhere EXCEPT the resorts that are so generic and free of local flavor you might as well still be in middle America.
Yes it is quite a drive up the hill- but it's worth it. we saw more wildlife relaxing in the court yard eating the fresh fruit and sipping the local coffee that Marina makes every morning next to the fresh rainwater pool. You are better off if you have a car and preferably a 4X4. It's private. It's quiet. It's comfortable. Marina's massage was superb. Gayle & Marina are down-to-earth, friendly and easy going. If you are looking for super luxury or extreme amenities, don't stay here. If you want family friendly, accommodating, clean and safe- this is the top spot in a warm village. Great for relaxing romantic adventure holiday. We are going back this spring!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kriz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

Gale and Marina are extremely gracious hosts.In addition, they are fun, intelligent and great caretakers on the hotel environment. For years, Gale has been planting flowers and trees all around the lodge. The flora and fauna are now spectacular. Also, from one side of the lodge you have a view of the mountains and from the other side you are above the jungle canopy with a view all of the way to the beach. The view at sunset is so spectacular, that in 2005, it inspired me to propose to my wife. The rooms at Vista Del Mar are nice, Gale and Marina can arrange tours and the morning breakfast is great. If you like swimming or surfing, Nosara is the perfect place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kensurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

Gale and Marina greet you like family and make you feel like a friend right away. By far and away this is the best lodge on a budget. The natural extras included such as surrounding gardens, wildlife and ocean view are not reflected in the very reasonable prices. This is also the only lodge/hotel I could find that has a three lane lap pool and kiddies area both in Nosara. The atmosphere is relaxed and quiet .... and Marina gives several types of healing massages.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomburkecr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
1.0 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
1.2 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#6 of 23 in Nosara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.8 mi away
Teak Pacific Hotel
Teak Pacific Hotel
#13 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
1.1 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#9 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunset Shack Hotel
Sunset Shack Hotel
#10 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Vista Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Vista Del Mar

Property: Lodge Vista Del Mar
Address: Apdo. 139-5233, Nosara 50206, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Ocean View accommodations. Rooms, Apartments, House. Short and long term rentals. 25 yard lap pool. Massage. Secluded, yet 5 to 8 minuets by car to all beaches, and services. Nosara is a destination for surfing, Beaches, Wild life, birding, Turtle nesting, Fishing, Canopy Zip line, River boat tours, Horses, and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing