We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, laid-back place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gilded Iguana Hotel
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Nosara
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Great place, great vibe. I love that there is a surfing school on premises. Adds everything to the place to have that. Free flowing coffee poolside is also awesome. The only thing I would suggest to management is that they do a tiny bit of sprucing up to the pool area. It need a smudge of beautification. But the place is great and I highly reccommend.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annewadham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costahotelier, General Manager at Gilded Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2011

Thank you very much for your kind comments, and your suggestion is spot on, we agree 100%, new tables have been put in place and more deck chairs are currently being made. Hope to see you back in the future to enjoy them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 134 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2010

My wife, sister-in-law, and I stayed at the Gilded Iguana for a week in early November 2010. We came in right at the end of the rainy season during a storm, but we were blessed with a full week of beautiful weather and great surf after the first day. The managers of the Iguana, Joellen and Matt, scheduled us a pickup from Liberia airport. Marco, the driver they recommended, was fantastic and made us feel right at home from the start. He navigated the difficult muddy drive with ease while cracking jokes and pointing out interesting facts about the area.

My wife and I stayed in an AC room with 2 double beds and my sister in law had the same type of room. The rooms looked new, were very clean, and included a walk in shower, ceiling fan, AC, and a mini fridge. The beds were comfy and I slept great after long surf and yoga sessions. The hotel was a comfortable walking distance to the main crossroads in town where there are several cafes and shops. Outside the room we had a clothesline to dry bathing suits, rash guards, etc. and room to lock up bikes, which we rented from the Frog Pad across the street from the hotel. Down the walkway from our room was a nice tile pool that was very clean…and the adjacent pool bar was also convenient.

The main bar and restaurant served up fantastic, affordable meals. From our experience, the food was the best in Guiones. The menu provided many vegetarian options, which was important to us, and included Mexican, Italian, seafood, and local dishes. They provided free coffee starting at 7am and had great breakfast options. On Tuesday and Friday nights they had live music, which was very well attended (it is probably good to make a reservation on those nights). The music was mellow and the atmosphere was chill and friendly.

Additionally, the hotel provided free wifi, which worked on our iphones. The staff will book a number activities for you right at the hotel, such as canopy tours, surf lessons, and quad rentals (you shouldn't miss the Miss Sky Canopy Tour). The beach is a short walk from the hotel and carrying a surfboard is no problem. You can rent a board at El Punto, the Frog Pad, or Nosara Surf Academy, all within easy walking distance from the hotel.

Joellen and Matt surround themselves with genuinely nice and gracious people and we were blown away by the hospitality they and the rest of the staff showed us during our stay. I would suggest the Gilded Iguana to anyone staying in Guiones and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niewoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

As the friend who recommended the Iguana to me said, "Every year we think we'll try a new place for vacation, but we always end up back at the Iguana." And now I understand why.

Service: Three months after the vacation, and I'm still keeping up with the staff as friends. Content and kind people, who helped us with directions, recommendations, and anything else we needed.

Room: Simple, cleaned daily, and unbelievable reasonable. I don't understand why anyone would pay more to stay at one of the "luxury" hotels. The Iguana is all you need, and it's steps from the beach.

Favorite Parks: Nosara Surf Academy - Kim is one of the most encouraging, professional, and talented teachers I've met. Food - breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks are all there if you want them. The staff - all-around wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liner33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

The friendly staff, great food, and relaxed atmosphere add up to pleasant memories every time we visit the "GI". Lots of good, live music helps too. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and affordable. The GI is located less than 1/4 mile from Playa Guiones, a most beautiful and surfable beach that is a safe, clean place to swim and surf. This is extremely convenient. The Nosara Surf Academy is also conveniently located directly behind the GI. You can rent a board there or take a lesson. The NSA instructors, Kim and Mark are cool professionals. The folks at the GI always make us feel welcome and staying at the GI is always a pleasure. Matt and Joellen are excellent hosts and with their trusty staff are like a big, happy family. I highly recommend the GI to anyone looking for good food, good company and good value.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mudcat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We have known the owners of this hotel for many years. Did not stay there until they added the pool and rooms with A/C which was several years ago. It is in the best location in Nosara--close to the beach, the mini-super, the internet cafe and bookstore, and several other restaurants. The rooms are clean, cool, secure and include a fridge and coffe maker if you ask for one. The pool bar is open every afternoon and is a great place to retreat if there is an afternoon shower. The restaurant is excellent and offers many healthy choices if that is your inclination. There is fresh fish daily and a variety of salads along with a tasty cheeseburger and a variety of Mexican dishes. You can also order typical Costa Rican fare. The beer is cold and the margaritas are tasty. There is live music every Tuesday night and on other nights during high season. The service is excellent! DeeDee, Freddy, and Roger are our favorite servers and will go out of their way to take care of your needs. (I can't imagine who the guy with the negative review could have been referring to.) The new managers, Matt and Joellen, run the hotel very efficiently. As for the locals hanging around--that's just the way it is. Try getting to know them and be friendly. It's fun to make connections! You can arrange for many kinds of excursions through the hotel as well as transportation to other destinations. The Iguana was the only hotel which was totally full while we were there. We had lunch at another hotel one day and there was nobody there! The Iguana is the happening place!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tropicalgirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

The Gilded Iguana is a cool little hotel and restaurant in a cool little town. I loved staying here and will definitely be back.

The restaurant has good food at good prices. The service is friendly and laid back. The other customers are cool and friendly. If you go, say hi to D (she works in the mornings most days).They also have live music some nights, which is really cool.

The room I stayed in was basic (no AC) but it was clean and really affordable and i found that you really didn't need the AC (there's a ceiling fan and a stand up fan that i found to be more than sufficient and i even got too cold at one point). The cleaning staff is friendly and very good. The beds are comfortable and i loved that there was no alarm clock or TV or radio -- just the sound of the cicadas and the monkeys howling somewhere near by.

I have to say, if you want a resort, go to a resort town. Nosara is NOT a resort town and there are no chain hotels there. If you want American-style hotels, stay in America. You people who complain about bugs and a laid back attitude are why the rest of the world cringes when they see an American walk through their doors. Get over it and enjoy the surroundings. If you cannot, then stay home where you can watch TV all day. If I read one more complaint about bugs, i'm going to scream -- this is a jungle-like tropical location. Of course there are bugs and there are going to be bugs that are not desirable so suck it up and deal.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NLM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

This hotel is awesome! The rooms were basic, but all one would really need while in Nosara. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were extremely clean and the AC was cold. The hammocks outside were great for the habitual afternoon siesta. If you are looking for an all inclusive, this aint it. But if you want a safe, mellow, relaxing, comfortable place, then stay at the Guilded Iguana. The restaurant is by far the best in town, offering affordable Tico style cuisine. The menu is stacked with fresh fish, chicken, and vegetables. Yes there is the occasional local pool crasher, but if that's not okay with you, then you need to stay at a Sandals beach resort. The people are all very friendly, and very very accommodating. In short, this is a great place and we disagree with the previous post. If you want to feel like you are in America, go to an all inclusive. If you want an authentic Costa Rican small town experience, there is no better place than the GI.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abarranco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
0.5 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#2 of 22 in Nosara
111 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
0.1 mi away
La Negra Surf Hotel & Soda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunset Shack Hotel
Sunset Shack Hotel
#10 of 22 in Nosara
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#8 of 22 in Nosara
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor Reef Hotel
Harbor Reef Hotel
#11 of 22 in Nosara
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilded Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilded Iguana Hotel

Address: Playa Guiones, Nosara 5233, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Nosara
Price Range: $50 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark at the beaches of Nosara, Costa Rica, The Gilded Iguana Hotel brings casual relaxation, comfort and excellent service to the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. One of the most famous and well loved vacation destination hotels in Nosara for surfers, expats, families and adventure holidayers. **NEWS** - Gilded Iguana has been sold to new owners - but is sure to be better than ever for open Nov 2014. All reservations still valid! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing