We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Stars for Staff, Food & Accommodations!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gilded Iguana Hotel
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Nosara
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I both recently became vegetarians and being health conscious and traveling usually are hard to mix. After arriving at the Gilded Iguana, we felt right at home with the clean/comfortable stay, the happy go lucky staff, the Sublime/Marley influenced ipod mix, and most importantly for us the excellent and high quality menu items that we couldn't get enough of. List of our favorites were (not in any order): 1. Im not much of a vege burger guy, but the homemade black bean patty burger is a must try. Comes with an assortment of super fresh veges, order with avocado. 2. Their Gallo Pinto is killer. 3. For lunch everyday I had the black bean burrito - its huge and perfect after a morning spent at the beach. 4. The fettuccine primavera is high quality. 5. The fresh fruit platter (great for breakfast), not too forget the all you can drink coffee is never bitter and very tasty. 6. Pina blended with agua - very nice non-alcoholic mix. 7. and the casada was very nice too.

Hope that helps anyone looking to come this way. Honestly, we wouldn't try to stay anywhere else. 200 meters to the beach!

Room Tip: All rooms have high ceilings with treated wood and better than bottled water quality right out of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GildedIguanaNosara, Owner at Gilded Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Hi Craig,
Thanks for the great review! Our staff are our biggest asset at the Iguana and it's nice to see them get the recognition they deserve. Our restaurant also has it's own trip advisor page if you want to share your rave reviews there! Thanks again and hope to see you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 134 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 9-day trip to Guiones Beach, Costa Rica. The Gilded Iguana was the perfect place for us to stay. We were comfortable and very well taken care of. Our room was great, and we loved the surfboard racks in the room and clothesline right outside. The Gilded Iguana is centrally located and surfboard and ATV rentals are nearby. It's a very very short walk to the beautiful beach. One word of caution: if you plan to surf, don't take anything but yourself and your board, people WILL steal your bag and/or flip flops.

The crew at the Gilded Iguana was so nice and accommodating, and the food was awesome! Try the mahi mahi tacos, thai shrimp, burgers, snapper with dull butter, passion fruit daquiri, melontico, the coconut water with rum and the brownie sundae! We also loved the live music nights. Thanks to everyone for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: A/C rooms are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have never written a review before but my time at the Gilded Iguana was so good I thought it only fair to write one! We stayed for 5 days in early August and loved it. The food is fantastic, (especially the salads, and the tuna, and the chimichanga!). The service was great in a friendly make you feel at home sorta way. The restaurant and pool bar are great areas to chill out and meet people. It was the one place I was genuinely sorry to leave. If I go back to Nosara I will definitely stay at the Gilded Iguana.

Room Tip: The rooms with AC are fantastic. The rooms without are alot more basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Wonderful accommodations in a perfectly remote spot. We have spent many weeks at the Gilded Iguana and love the location. It is central to everything, the beach, great food and lots of jungle walks. There is live music a couple nights a week depending on the time of season. The rooms are great, although we were partial to the air conditioning. The food is great! although it is a little expensive compared to some of the other places in town, but you can't beat the location and dragging yourself up from a surf session for one of their amazing fresh fish sandwiches! Joellen and Matt are wonderful hosts and their staff is always fantastic and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waycott4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

A little late to write this as we were there in late May, but I wanted to get it out there - The Gilded Iguana is a very cool hotel with a fantastic restaurant, bar and live music on occasion. My brother in law and I stayed for 5 days on a surfing trip and loved it. Meals were fantastic, room was clean and spacious, staff was excellent - Thanks to everyone there who made our visit so enjoyable - will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyBethHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed in the rooms above the restaurant in late June. Since it was pre-season, it was not loud (I can certainly see how it could be, though!!). It was so fun -- it felt like sleeping in a screened-in treehouse! And the proximity to food and the beach (and a pool with bar!) was great. Yes, the roads there are atrocious, but that's what keeps the crowds away and makes it a cool place to visit. Howler monkeys outside the door, orange and black crabs on the sides of the road to the beach -- wonderful!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay above the restaurant in high season, unless you plan to party late!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had a couple of fabulous days at the Gilded Iguana - this was our favorite location of all the places we stayed in Costa Rica. Even the several hour ride on bad roads was worth it!
The staff and the food were both fantastic, and the room was clean and very comfortable (we had an AC room). We arrived on a live music night and didn't notice that it was overly loud except for the 20-somethings that were loud going into their room at 2am and waking up at 6am (oh to be young!). The hammocks outside our rooms were a big hit with our sons (as well as the wi-fi).
Nosara Surf Academy is right on the property so it was easy for the boys to take lessons and grab a board to catch some waves (thanks Mark!). While the hotel is not right on the beach, it is just a short walk (don't miss looking in the bushes for the crabs!). For us non-surfers the beach is perfect for a stroll and the sunsets were spectacular.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rumneyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
0.8 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#6 of 24 in Nosara
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#2 of 24 in Nosara
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#9 of 24 in Nosara
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Harmony Hotel
The Harmony Hotel
#5 of 24 in Nosara
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Shack Hotel
Sunset Shack Hotel
#13 of 24 in Nosara
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilded Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilded Iguana Hotel

Address: Playa Guiones, Nosara 5233, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Nosara
Price Range: $50 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark at the beaches of Nosara, Costa Rica, The Gilded Iguana Hotel brings casual relaxation, comfort and excellent service to the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. One of the most famous and well loved vacation destination hotels in Nosara for surfers, expats, families and adventure holidayers. **NEWS** - Gilded Iguana has been sold to new owners - but is sure to be better than ever for open Nov 2014. All reservations still valid! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing