We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return Visit Guaranteed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giardino Tropicale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Giardino Tropicale
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Return Visit Guaranteed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We drove from Santa Teresa to Nosara on our surf adventure and we were pretty road weary when we arrived at 4 PM. New stayed one night at the KayaSol Surf Hotel which was recommended to us. Ugh! I've stayed in better college dorms. Without WiFi we just had to search for new digs and we stopped at Giardino Tropicale to see if they had rooms. Right before Green season, Myriam gave us a deal of $75 a night for a room with A/C- Tico tip: have cash on hand- you'll save money as everywhere will charge you extra for credit card use. Though it's double beds (most everywhere) the mattress was good. Safes, beach towels,frig, every room has a patio with hammocks/ lounge chairs/ tables, in room coffee and wonderful coffee at the pool all day long!! Plus access to ice and filtered water - believe me in CR this is a luxury unless you are staying at very expensive places, and sometimes then not even easy. Sea water lap pool and it's a very environmentally conscious hotel with recycle and energy saving appliances. Howler monkeys visit the fruit trees on the property as well as iguanas a plenty and of course the requisite Tico family pets- 2 dogs and cat- make you feel at home. Myriam and Marcel have built a wonderful habitat with interesting cabinas, small houses and rooms. Great restaurant too! A very safe place to stay with good parking too.

Room Tip: Bring cash for best value throughout this country!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klcreview11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    49
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
73
82
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Giardino Tropicale is a great place to stay. The owners, Marcel and Myriam, are very nice and accommodating, as was the rest of the staff. The grounds are nicely kept, and the food is very good. We've stayed in regular rooms and a nice, spacious suite, all of which were very comfortable..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mseanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The owners are a very nice Swiss/Colombian couple. They are lovely, helpful and generous - a pleasure to be with.
The garden is a tropical dream with the plants and the butterfiles. We stayed in a two-story house with open kitchen and individual architecture.
Close to the beach, restaurants, everything.
Excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed two nights here, and although we were working in the region, staying at the Giardino Tropicale was like a small vacation at the same time! The owners were super accommodating and arranged for anything that we needed. Food was delicious, spacious rooms, and the dogs are very friendly! We loved that it was away from the crowd, felt like our own tropical retreat! Will definitely come again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaPCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka Lakes, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. The hosts Myriam and Marcel make you feel right at home. The rooms are clean and well appointed, the food is awesome. The coffee is the best in Nosara. Bird song greets you every morning, The salt water pool was a treat to cool off in. I'm already booked for my next trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Marcell and Miryam (the owners) were great hosts, very friendly. Hotel rooms very clean, food ... great!!. The general policy of friendly to the environment is admirable, really showing their effort. Highly recommended to move through different beaches and area attractions

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOFECAME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel. The food was delicious, the rooms nice, and the location and layout beautiful. The owners were friendly and helpful as well. So close to the beach too! Highly recommend. Only downside was that the wifi was spotty.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
2.3 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
0.7 mi away
Olas Verdes
Olas Verdes
#6 of 23 in Nosara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#9 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#11 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.3 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#8 of 23 in Nosara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harmony Hotel Nosara
Harmony Hotel Nosara
#5 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giardino Tropicale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giardino Tropicale

Property: Giardino Tropicale
Address: Playa Guiones, Nosara 5233, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nosara
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nosara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Giardino Tropicale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giardino Tropicale Nosara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing