We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wild, pristine beach!”

Nosara Beach (Playa Guiones)
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,250.00*
and up
8-Day Tour: Beach and Mountains in Guanacaste
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“wild, pristine beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We went in off season, there were people but never too many. The beach was everything I had hoped, large, wild and with good surf! Lots of shells everywhere for us to admire and leave behind for the next visitor to see.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrophyRachelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    130
    21
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible Beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great surf! Beautiful, pristine beach and water! Very family friendly! Walking up and down the beach was a joy and the sunsets should not be missed!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“so so lala”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The beach itself is quite nice - big waves, surfers, sand.
However, the "Guiones" village is very touristic oriented. We tried to stay in several hotels there but the mid-range quality hotels were very basic.
My recommendation. in case you want to have more personal touch in the accommodation, is to try to find a hotel at playa Pelada.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Diman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Super Clean, easy to walk and to walk to - about 5 min but it took us longer as we always stopped at the Beach Dog for Imperials and the 3 dip salsa

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Zevonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Spectacular shooting at low tide and sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

8' plus tidal range opens the beach 100m wide at low tide. Sandy beach with stream running in at north side by Punta Pelada. Interesting tide pools at Pta. Pelada very photogenic for long exposures and sunset framing. At high tide, rip currents are strong, so stay very close to shore (yes, it's like swimming in a washing machine, but hey - you're in the warm Pacific). Be careful and keep the kiddies out 'till low tide. Then let em loose to run all over the beach. One of my fav beaches in Nicoya (and I've been on a lot of em).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Palmisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nosara Beach (Playa Guiones) also viewed

Playa Avellanas, Tamarindo
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
El Guapote, Tamarindo
 

Been to Nosara Beach (Playa Guiones)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing