We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice. Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Living Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Living Hotel
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice. Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Would definitely recommend. Clean, modern, very pleasant hotel located in prime area of Nosara within short walking distance of beach and many restaurants/shops. Friendly staff. Nice pool and grounds. Yoga classes daily. Very good value. Excellent organic cafe on premises. Only cons are rooms are quite small and free breakfast was just fruit and toast with jam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    24
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
70
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hartford, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

I would like to offer a correction or bring a new light to a recent review of the Living Hotel Cafe. I have been to the Cafe many times and plan to continue. It has always been a remarkable and positive experience for me to have interactions and stimulating conversations across the tables with various visitors and locals from Nosara. However, I was surprised and actually alarmed by the scathing direct attack to one of the waitresses in a recent review; the same waitress who served me various times and offered helpful solutions to my numerous questions. My bigger concern is when people use the internet and review forums to anonymously attack others without awareness of the consequences of their actions or responsibility for the facts.

Room Tip: I would stay in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZoestaAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We traveled to Nosara mid-June. It was our first visit to Costa Rica and only had you tube videos of the drive and trip advisor reviews to give us any expectations. It beat them all. Michelle is such a lovely person. She will make you feel very welcome, like you've known her forever ( even if you're only there two says!). The other young lady at the front is equally as lovely and helpful. The rooms are very clean and well thought out. The pool and grounds are exceptionally well maintained and the staff is always vid anime, sweeping, pruning, etc. The morning breakfast is included and consists of fresh fruit, breads, jams, fruit juices and excellent coffee. The location is great. Walking distance to the beach, the mini mart, and some great restaurants. I felt very safe and at ease here. I would definitely recommend and would return!

Room Tip: We are early risers so not many things bother us. If you like to sleep in, ask for a room in the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rennie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Amenities are compactly laid out, from its pool, rooms, main lounge areas decorated with lovely landscaping. Good location and easy access to off grounds restaurants, the nicer-end beach, and a mini convenience store. I said mostly relaxing because the noisy commotion due to location of our room, room #7. It was next to the Living Cafe with it's noisy blenders & juicers, whipping up breakfast drinks. This room is also adjacent the next door property with its super loud drunken revelers late at night and then loudly waxing their surfboards first thing in the morning. This is in addition to the sounds of howler monkeys at night. Hearing the monkeys was a little unnerving at first because they sounded like lions but I came to enjoy the howler monkey sounds after that first night. It allowed me to feel a little closer with nature. :-) Unfortunately we could not get used to the loud drunken neighbors late at night then the blender sounds & board waxing first thing in the morning.

Nice touches with the outdoor shower and great working AC in the room. Thank you!

Oh and um... avoid the bad bug bites! Even on the beach! :-(

Room Tip: I recommend staying at rooms opposite facing room 7 or 8. Unfortunately I don't know those room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amtaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kingston, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I traveled to Nosara for the first time back in April and found the Living Hotel through TripAdvisor. We would highly recommend the hotel to singles, couples and families. The property is beautiful and impeccably maintained. Our room was of a suitable size and was very clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed the location because you could walk to everything. The beach was less than 10 minutes to walk to and some restaurants were just down the street. Other restaurants and shops were within a 15 minute walk. We rented bikes for a day from the Living Hotel, but decided we preferred navigating the area on foot. Michelle was a great host and shared her favorite restaurants and activities that we may have otherwise missed. Some of the highlights of the trip came from her suggestions. The hotel offers a nice breakfast to start your day, yoga classes, spa services and so much more. It really is a great place to spend your vacation and I would have no reservations about recommending it to all of my family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

I was here for a yoga retreat which was blissful. Unfortunately I became ill while I was there. The good news is that the employees made sure I was well hydrated and cooked special meals for me. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awinnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Outstanding stay at the Living Hotel. What a gem!! Gorgeous grounds with a lovely pool. Enclosed off street guest parking. Hotel is centrally located - you can walk to beach and nearby restaurants. On site yoga classes are held in loft area. Had a great massage in the hotel spa. Each room has a porch with comfy bean bag chairs and hammocks. Rooms are tidy. Hotel staff was so helpful - arranging activities and recommending restaurants. On site restaurant serves healthy breakfast/lunch/smoothies. Hotel also offers continental breakfast included in the room rate. Hotel is quiet at night - no party here. Exactly what I was looking for. I stayed a week - wish it was longer. I returned completely rejuvinated after visiting this Shangri La in Costa Rica. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mer220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
1.0 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
0.1 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#9 of 23 in Nosara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#8 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#3 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
0.6 mi away
Sunset Shack Hotel
Sunset Shack Hotel
#10 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Living Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living Hotel

Property: Living Hotel
Address: G-Section | Playa Guiones, Nosara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living Hotel is located at the North End of Playa Guiones about a 5 minute walk to the beach. Our small boutique hotel has a pool, a spa and a large rustic living area for relaxing. The amenities in each room are Wifi, safe box, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini fridge and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Living Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing