We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awesome food, awesome people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dos Pochotes Asian Restaurant - CLOSED

Dos Pochotes Asian Restaurant
Price range: $7 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food, awesome people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

If you're in Nosara, make sure to treat yourself to a Szechuan beef or pad thai at Pochotes (spanish for spiny cider) for you won't regret it! Beware, you might end up going back asking for more for the rest of your stay. :)

Not only is the food a pure delight, but the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. When the kitchen was not too busy, the chef was even open to cooking meals that were not on the menu and also the fresh fish we had caught during our fishing trip. Try it for yourself!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoloBrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Surprisingly tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

When my husband and I go on vacation in a another country, we always like to try the local food, but we saw this restaurant on our way back from the beach in our first night in Nosara, and this restaurant was completely full. Typically is a good sign. So, the next day, coming back from the beach late afternoon, we just stopped and made reservation for later. Great idea! The menu is not big but with interest dishes.The food is very well served in terms of portions and it is very tasty.We had Shrimp pad-thai and a spicy beef dish ( cannot remember the name), both delicious! Beer was Imperial, a very good local beer by the way. For dessert, brownie with vanilla ice cream - yummm! The service is very friendly and professional, the ambient informal and cozy. If you are in Nosara, Playa Guiones, try the "Dos Pochotes Asian Restaurant" you will be surprised!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luaxlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice change of pace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We love fish and Costa Rican food but needed a change. Our meal at Dos Pochotes satisfied completely. Setting and service were excellent. My shrimp pad thai was quite good and my husband's Sechzuan beef was good. As expected, the beef was a little tough, but all the flavors were delicious and his salad and rice were good. I gave him the chile sauce from my pad thai and he enjoyed it on his rice. As others mentioned, the coconut flan is exceptional. Two entrees, two beers, a coke and dessert in a beautiful setting for $40 was a good deal. Next time I will see what the chef does with the catch of the day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We've eaten here for the past three years and we've never been disappointed. The food is great, especially because there aren't many Asian options here. The people are absolutely awesome and are very attentive. The atmosphere is quiet and serene. We will be coming back to eat here next year!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Micah68you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprising Asian Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The food here is fresh and well-prepared, and it was so nice to have a change of pace after all the more typical Costa Rican restaurants I had eaten in. The open-air dining room is simple but elegant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank serviceberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dos Pochotes Asian Restaurant also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing