We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place & Great Couple”
Review of Villa Mango

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Mango
Ranked #1 of 18 Nosara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Place & Great Couple”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have a long list of “adjectives” for Villa Mango. It is beautiful, wonderful, peaceful, relaxing, private and fun place to stay. Just a few minutes down the hill and you are at the beach! Agnes and Jo are so full of life, very friendly and such a fun couple to be around.

It was so exciting to be up close and personal with the resident tribe(s) of monkeys every day, especially in the pool under the mango tree where they would come to eat a couple of times a day. The hummingbirds are amazing and we cannot forget the dragonflies; there were thousands of them. Unfortunately, we didn’t get to meet Sophie (the resident iguana) but we did see “him” sunning himself in a tree a couple of times and got great pictures. A pizote ventured out a couple of times but never bothered anyone. The views are spectacular from everywhere.

Sweet Yamileth prepared the tastiest breakfasts each morning, anything we wanted she would just whip it up. There were fresh fruits, artesian breads, cereal, yogurt and ice cold juices set out each morning as well. If you go, you must try the chocolate banana pancakes; they are to die for. I hope Agnes and Jo never change their breakfast routine… It was really nice having breakfast with them and the other guests each morning.

Pete and I love cats so we found Minette “the yoga cat” to be a joy. She is so dainty and just the sweetest thing. She reminds us of our cat, Dinker who lived to be 18 years old.

There is also a yoga instructor who comes every morning after breakfast to give lessons.

We loved our time at Villa Mango and will be sure to visit again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Pizote and the view was wonderful. We loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmie1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    17
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
66
191
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We arrived at the much anticipated Villa Mango in March. As stated in all of the reviews, Agnes and Jo are wonderful hosts. They create a congenial and relaxed atmosphere for their guests. Breakfasts were simply yummy! Villa Mango is right in the jungle with a view of the ocean and a tree full over howler monkeys to entertain you (including a tiny baby monkey on our visit). Even though it looks as if you are far from the ocean, it is only an 8 minute walk. So, it is really the best of both worlds.

Our room, Congo, was unique. It consists of two rooms. The bedroom has windows that can be closed if you want to use the air conditioner. It costs $10 a night to use the air conditioner, well worth the cost for us as it was very warm at night. The other room is completely open. It has a huge window without a screen, just an unimpeded, gorgeous view of the world outside. I cannot imagine such a room in the states (at least not without a lengthy disclaimer of liability). This room serves as a bathroom and balcony (there are curtains you can draw closed for privacy). From the bathroom mirror there is an incredible view of the jungle and ocean behind you. This was a beautiful site to wake up to.

Other things to consider about the Congo: The room is atop a spiral staircase, keep that in mind if have mobility issues. We did not have internet access in our room but access in the community area was good. The bed was quite firm which was fine for my husband but too hard for me.

Recommendations: First of all, if you arrive at Villa Mango before the sunset, I recommend you grab your flashlight, head to the beach, and walk to the La Luna Restaurant for dinner (excellent meal). Oh, bring dollars or colons: they don’t take credit cards. It is an easy walk along the beach, about 15 minutes, much longer (and dustier) from the road. The other thing we would do differently is rent a vehicle. Even if you fly in, like we did, it is difficult to get around without a vehicle. Other Villa Mango guests offered us rides; otherwise we walked or took a taxi. Typically, we like to walk, but the dirt roads are so dry and dusty that after a few vehicles go by you begin to wear the road. Also, it takes time to walk to restaurants so we ended up eating two of our dinners at the Lagarta Lodge Restaurant. The food was mostly good, especially the coconut flan. The best flan I have ever had. I could have skipped dinner and eaten five of them.

We also recommend Coconut Harry's Surf Shop on Playa Guiones to rent a surf board or boogie boards. The outdoor shop was run by friendly and helpful guys, and the rental rates were reasonable.

One last thing to tell you about the howler monkeys is that they would be better named growler monkeys. Walking along the roads of Nosara at night can be a bit spooky, thanks to their growling (but fun spooky).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveldaze247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great week. Agnes & Jo are excellent hosts. Super chilled, no pressure, relax at the pool, relax on the veranda, relax anywhere.

Great breakfasts. Nothing is too much trouble for the hosts.

The honour system for the bar (bottled water, soft drinks etc.) works very well.

We will return (for longer next time!).

Many thanks...

Room Tip: Ask Agnes for a suggestion - depends on your holiday expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Watsonlimuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This B&B doesnt need another rave review from me. But I must say that Agnes & Jo really make you feel like you're at home. The staff at Villa Mango are very professional and friendly as well.The breakfasts in the morning are so delicious! and honor system beer in the fridge on the patio.
I went on a working vacation and I was a bit worried about the internet connection because I use a softphone (VOIP) to make calls while out of the office. The wireless internet connection here was rock solid. I wont stay anywhere else when on the Nicoya Peninsula. Go & stay with them, you wont be dissappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spencer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Without fail our last minute booking at Villa Mango was exactly what I expected and more. Agnes and Joe are AMAZING hosts! The house and grounds are wonderful. My husband and I only stayed one night because were in Nosara for a yoga retreat, but if we come back we'd happily chose Villa Mango because of the warm hospitality, delicious breakfasts, beautiful views, clean spacious rooms, and nice walk to the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rylly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We've spent two wonderful three week vacations at Villa Mango. The setting is stunning with a panoramic view of the Pacific high above any Tsunami line, the rooms and common area are tasteful and comfortable, and the breakfasts are the best we've found in Costa Rica or Central America for that matter. All of this at prices that haven't increased since 2003!
Although some reviewers mention that a vehicle is a necessity, we've done fine walking the half mile or so to the beach and restaurants there, and the walk along Playa Pelada and over the headland to Playa Guiones is doable and a real pleasure
. Just spending the entire day at the Villa is also restful, with a salt water pool to cool off in and a sun deck with another lovely view of the ocean, and occasionally even of coatis and monkeys who sometime come to visit.
Nosara is one of the last relatively undeveloped beach areas in Costa Rica. If you're looking for freedom from high rise super development and a lovely place to stay, this is it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patriciax_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Don't get me wrong, the bedrooms, breakfast & location are all fantastic, but in the end it comes down to the Inn Keepers - and Jo and Agnes made our family trip to Nosara. We enjoyed the morning and evening chats, as well as all the great advice about where to eat and what to do. If they give you and opinion - take it seriously!

All four of us in the family enjoyed the communal breakfast table - with more than ample healthy food options. B&B's like this attract a great kind of traveler.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
1.7 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
1.1 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#4 of 22 in Nosara
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#5 of 22 in Nosara
79 reviews
1.0 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#7 of 22 in Nosara
172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#10 of 22 in Nosara
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mango

Property: Villa Mango
Address: Playa pelada | Bocas de Nosara, Playa Pelada, Nosara 50206, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Nosara, on the Pacific side of the Nicoya Peninsula, Villa Mango B&B will welcome you to Costa Rica, with 7 bedrooms, each with its own bathroom and some with a/c, pool, large wrap-around terrace with panoramic views of the Ocean, bird and wildlife viewing and delicious breakfasts. Relax by the pool or explore the jungle and the beach! Come as guests, leave as friends! Please note: There is a cat in house and smoking is allowed outdoors ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Mango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mango Hotel Nosara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing