We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem in Nosara!”
Review of Villa Mango

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Mango
Ranked #1 of 18 Nosara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We feel so lucky that we found and stayed at Villa Mango for our Honeymoon. Agnes and Jo made it feel like we were staying with great friends. The room was very nice, quiet, clean, and air-conditioned. The private bathroom was connected to the room but was open air for a true jungle feel. The location was a short walk to the beach and many restaurants (our favorite was Pepperoni's). The breakfasts was one of my favorite parts. There was always more food than one could eat, and it was delicious! Fresh fruit, yogurt, breads, omelets, bacon and more! Occasionally in the morning we were joined by families of howler monkeys traversing the roof of the inn - very cool! The flora and fauna around the property and in Nosara was really beautiful.

While there we spent lots of time exploring the town, going to pool, walking on the beaches and dining at great restaurants. We also did a zip-lining tour which was a lot of fun. Agnes was very helpful in planning activities during our stay.

Nosara is truly beautiful and we will definitely be back, but it IS off the beaten path. From Liberia, about 1/3rd of the way getting there is on a fairly bumpy dirt road - so 4WD is pretty much a must. For us, this is actually a positive because it has kept the area free from gigantic resorts.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Monkey room. It was on the second floor of the addition and was very nice and priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moment_of_Zen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 394 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at lovely Villa Mango in July, and just loved it. Agnes and Jo are wonderful hosts ~ friendly, helpful and great to talk with. We enjoyed our time spent on the expansive deck, looking out at the beautiful sea view. Our room, Iguana, was very comfy and roomy. The large shower and bathroom were wonderful! Breakfasts were generous and delicious. Our daughter loved the pool, and we all especially loved seeing the howler monkeys so close up!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yucatanbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We got lucky and happened across the Villa Mango, staying there 3 nights with the family in the new rooms in back, which are awesome by the way. Agnes and Joe are great, the place is totally charming, and the breakfasts were fantastic. Everything about the Villa Mango is good mojo.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andredurand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a last minute stop in Nosara and Agnes was very welcoming to us. We stayed in a downstairs room the Iguana. It was spacious and beautiful. Beds were super comfy and the bathroom was nice and big. We loved the monkeys, amazing view, landscaping, fantastic food and great company! So peaceful, highly recommend!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank TolaMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Villa mango is such a wonderful spot. We stayed here for over a week on our honeymoon five years ago and just returned to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. It is a romantic getaway for a couple but it is also a great place for families to stay. Here are top 3 our favorite things about it:
1) All the guests eat breakfast at a common table so there is a fun and natural sharing of ideas and travel stories.
2) The bathrooms are large and you can easily shower with 2.
3) There is a true jungle feel here with an open terrace, many animal sightings and great views from the rooms, pool and terrace.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LWaters2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had a great time in Villa Mango. Great breakfast in great company, amazing views, beautiful room. The ownwers shared their love for the country and the community.
We love to be in the swiming pool watching the monkeys eating mangos.
Marcelo and Karina

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcelorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We have stayed at several other (higher priced) hotels and B&B's in Nosara over the years but Villa Mango is by far the best. It is away from the "hustle and bustle" (not sure if those words have ever been uttered as a description of sleepy Nosara) that is downtown Nosara. Nestled into the mountainside with equally amazing views of the ocean and the forest canopy which is so close you can see eye to eye with monkeys as you have your cooked to order breakfast on their huge terrace. If you like hummingbirds, you're in for a treat. There are dozens of them which spend the whole day defending their rights to the many feeders hung around the terrace. The rooms were very nicely appointed and ours had a panoramic view of the ocean. The hosts, Jo and Agnes were very gracious and helpful. The breakfast is served family style around a huge table on the terrace so there is ample opportunity to swap travel stories and pointers with other travelers. We will definitely be back to Villa Mango and highly recommend it! BTW, If you want to hear a very funny story, ask Agnes about the night my wife "got lost".

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McD_In_Ocotal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
1.9 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#6 of 24 in Nosara
183 reviews
0.9 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#10 of 24 in Nosara
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#2 of 24 in Nosara
145 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunset Shack Hotel
Sunset Shack Hotel
#12 of 24 in Nosara
63 reviews
1 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#9 of 24 in Nosara
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mango

Address: Playa pelada | Bocas de Nosara, Playa Pelada, Nosara 05233, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Nosara
Price Range: $92 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Nosara, on the Pacific side of the Nicoya Peninsula, Villa Mango B&B will welcome you to Costa Rica, with 7 bedrooms, each with its own bathroom and some with a/c, pool, large wrap-around terrace with panoramic views of the Ocean, bird and wildlife viewing and delicious breakfasts. Relax by the pool or explore the jungle and the beach! Come as guests, leave as friends! Please note: There is a cat in house and smoking is allowed outdoors ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Mango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mango Hotel Nosara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing