We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place and these people”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Romantica
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Nosara
California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this place and these people”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

So relaxing and low key. We usually stay at the harmony but it was booked up. After this stay we've found our new location to stay in Nosara. We plan to return soon.
Staff are fantastic and very welcoming. Location is great, food is great. Very affordable, it's a surfers location. We stayed with our kids and they loved it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocj949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    28
    7
    11
    5
See reviews for
24
61
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have been going here over 10 years and I just adore this place. It is clean, quiet, comfortable, super affordable, and the restaurant is the best one in the area. I just love this place, I almost don't want to write a review and give away my favorite beach/hotel/surf spot. The owners are so nice and they will seriously do whatever it takes to make you feel comfortable. Bonus: they are Swiss and make a delicious rösti, if you're craving something rich if you have been surfing all day. One of the most perfect rösti I have had in forever- crispy and delicious!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTrav2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed at this hotel due to a reservation mix up at Harmony Hotel. Casa Romantica is great value for money and the location is terrific and the staff super friendly. A 1 min walk from the beach it makes for a great budget friendly option.
Thanks Casa Romantica!

Room Tip: ask for the rooms upstairs which have a balcony overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Incredibly run, beautiful, and romantic hotel. My wife and I were on our honeymoon and our original hotel in Nosara was overrun with fire ants and crabs. Needless to say, we needed to switch hotels immediately. In the middle of the night, we stumbled across Casa Romantica where Remo and JC found us a clean and gorgeous room. Mary-Lou makes a delicious breakfast and is a sweetheart! Our stay was incredible. There is also direct beach access. My wife and I cannot recommend this place any more highly!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at Casa Romantica in April 2012 and enjoyed our stay!

Pros:
Breakfast is delicious! Fresh fruit in the states will never taste the same.
Dinner at the restaurant is THE BEST we had in Nosara, and we ate at a different hotel for dinner and lunch every day. Also can charge lunch and dinner to the room and pay with CC at the end of stay vs. paying cash at the time of dining.
Pool is fantastic!
Covered area with hammocks by the pool is great for those who don't want to be in the sun.
Private (and locked) pathway to the beach, can't beat it!
Outdoor showers! Great for coming back from the beach, out of the pool, or after we'd checked out of our room before heading to our flight.
Surfboard racks for storage and surfboard cleaning area.
ATVs for rent daily or by the week on site.
Air conditioning in our room.
Bookshelf with previous visitors books and a great place to leave ours that we finished, kind of like a book swap.
Rocking chairs on the terrace.
Being able to leave all our shoes on the terrace and not having to worry about anyone taking them.
Clothes drying lines and racks on the terrace for wet bathing suits, towels, etc.
Close walk to KayaSol (for the best lunch in Nosara).
Close walk to Spacio for massages.
WiFi!!!! Best reception by the pool and in the lobby, but available in our room as well.
Knox the dog.
Mary Lou and JC the concierges.

Cons:
The bed we had wasn't that comfortable (but we are spoiled with our bed back home).
One towel per person at a time meant that we had to wait for laundry to be done before getting a clean towel for showering after a day at the beach and by the pool. Suggestion: Bring your own beach towels.
10% extra to pay by credit card as opposed to cash.

Would we stay here again? For the price, convenience, and food... yes, but not if we wanted a more luxurious vacation, but those are harder to come by in the area anyway. Even if you don't stay here, you MUST come to the restaurant for dinner as it's fantastic, and make a reservation (limited seating).

Pura Vida!

Room Tip: With only 10 rooms, any of these are great. Email Silvia and she will tell you the room descriptions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamaracat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed at Casa Romantica for two weeks in early march and absolutely loved it. We requested a room with curtains and AC and as such were in aroom with both these things. The food in the hotel was great, the staff were lovely and helpful, and the other visitors were also nice and friendly. Very relaxing atmosphere by the pool in the day time, lots of hummingbirds, iguanas, birds of prey and the occasional coati to look out for. The beach is a short walk down a private path, and the shops (internet cafe, mini super, surf hire) are all just round the corner. No complaints whatsoever!!

Room Tip: we were in room 8, ac and curtains, perfect for a couple sharing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shajacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at Casa Romantica this past February. It is tucked away in a very quiet area and has a private walkway to the beach for those spectacular sunrises and early walks on Play Guiones. There is an a.m. bountiful breakfast with the freshest pineapples, mangoes and watermelon.
The rooms are very comfortable, clean and air conditioned. The grounds are well maintained, the pool and hammocks call your name
What makes the experience so wonderful are the hosts and staff.
We were visiting during Valentine’s Day. Owners, Remo and Sylvia took the time and special attention to celebrate the holiday for their guests. .
We came back from our morning beach walk to find a beautiful heart shaped arrangement of flowers on our bed. That evening, Remo came to our dinner table with a complimentary specialty kir royale.
We ate dinner 4 times at the onsite restaurant……. the freshest fish, amazing Rosti potatoes and a quiet and tranquil environment.
We will be returning to Casa Romantica in 2013 and now consider it our new "home" in Nosara

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elvis815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
0.2 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#7 of 22 in Nosara
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#4 of 22 in Nosara
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Negra Surf Hotel & Soda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
0.2 mi away
The Harmony Hotel
The Harmony Hotel
#5 of 22 in Nosara
382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#9 of 22 in Nosara
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Romantica

Property: Hotel Casa Romantica
Address: Apdo. 134 | Casa Romantica, Playa Guiones, Nosara 50206, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful beachside retreat for surfers, yogis, couples and families Our moderately-sized hotel is located at one of the most beautiful beaches in all Costa Rica; however, our mission is to offer you more than just the beach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Romantica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing