We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in pretty much every respect.”
Review of The Harmony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Harmony Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very expensive, but quite possibly the best experience I've ever had at any hotel, anywhere.

Definitely the best hotel near the beach in Nosara. 2 min walk from the hotel to Playa Guiones through a jungle path.

On arrival we were welcomed with a glass of delicious freshly made lemongrass iced tea at reception, and checked in efficiently, and made to feel very welcome.

The service and staff are excellent - they are all genuinely warm, make an effort to remember your name, helpful with suggestions, arranging activities, looking after room keys if you're going to the beach, etc. We particularly enjoyed sitting at the bar chatting to Tony the bartender one night while he mixed up a couple of custom drinks for us. Denis who served us by the pool and in the restaurant on several occasions was also especially warm and friendly, and Esteban found a hat we left lying around lost and made an effort to bring it to our room for us. Although a special mention is deserved by all the staff at Harmony, as everyone was exceptional and made the stay special.

The sustainability ethos of Harmony is also genuinely inspiring and enhances your stay - from the delicious food, much of which is grown naturally on their own hydroponic farm on site, to use of all natural products - e.g. in the amazing smelling shower gel, shampoo, conditioner they provide, use of bamboo straws instead of plastic, etc.

And on the subject of food - all the food and drink is delicious, natural, and beautifully presented - we usually make more of an effort to explore and try a larger variety of local restaurants and have never eaten at our hotel so frequently, just because everything was so fresh and delicious! Although we do recommend you tear yourself away to try Taco Tuesdays at Harbour Reef a short walk up the road - lively atmosphere with a young crowd, and delicious tacos!

Due to the Jalousie windows (glass slats like venetian blinds) you can hear people outside the room quite clearly & it can at first feel not very private, although we got used to it quickly and Harmony don't attract an especially noisy clientele. You can always request a room a bit further away from the restaurant/pool area.

There are some reviews here from people whose expectations were of a glossy/polished 5 star resort, and while e.g. the bed was more comfortable and functional rather than luxurious, we felt the harmony feels less polished and more authentic in a good way.

The best thing about Harmony overall, is an intangible thing that's difficult to describe, but I guess it's all the little details that make it unique and different to even the best five star hotels I've stayed at elsewhere - they all add up to a unique and memorable experience.

I could go on to describe many more positive experiences at the harmony, from the free yoga lesson, the outdoor patio and shower to every room, the evening visit to our patio by a curious coatimundi, to the dawn chorus of howler monkeys, but it can all be summed up by simply saying we will definitely be back, and I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Nosara.

Thanks to all the staff at Harmony, from Sophie and Gurpreet!

Room Tip: Due to the Jalousie windows (glass slats like venetian blinds) it can at times feel not very private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsp100677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 392 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

This property has rooms and separate bungalows. We stayed in a bungalow, which was perfect for 3 adults (king bed and a twin bed) - had an outdoor shower and hammock.
Very clean, housekeeping staff was excellent. The hotel staff were helpful and attentive.
Nice clean pool in the center, a short walk on a private path to the beach. Yoga classes available 4 times per day, excellent spa services. I had a great deep tissue massage and facial.
The yoga studio looks out into the jungle. All instructors were very good.
Hotel restaurant was consistently good. I was less impressed with the juice bar, but a neighboring property (Living Hotel) had a superb juice bar. Alcoholic drinks tended to be weak - this seemed the case everywhere we went.
Staff helped set up a good paddleboard adventure for us in the mangroves. We were also able to take bikes out to peruse the neighborhood.
Internet is spotty, which was good for the relaxation part of the trip.
A few young families, mostly couples and groups of friends. Really well enjoyed by all of us.

Room Tip: I would request a room away from the front desk area if you prefer to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank outdoorluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Awesome place. Great location, amazing setting, lovely juice bar, healing centre, pool & lounge bar. We absolutely loved this place & highly recommend it to those looking for a relaxing holiday. Book ahead; they are busy. Staff are super nice, polite, professional & helpful. Yoga classes were all amazing. Different styles which is always good for your practice.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank WhistlerMtnGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We LOVED this hotel. Great location, great service, great pool, our room had a very large terrace with hamac and deck chairs. The hotel is 1 min walking distance to the beach. It is rustic but high end well done rustic, very comfortable. Within 2 min. walking distance to surf shop, restaurants and limited stores. No TV, but good wifi. My kids were happy. You can walk the beach for miles & miles, Beach is wide, hard pack, so very conducive for running & playing frisbee. Surfing is great. Swimming too, water temperature is like most people's hot tub! The hotel restaurant is extremely good and breakfast is included in price of stay. My entire family wants to go back. My kids age 13-15. They were never bored. The yoga room & massage rooms are very beautiful. No american style gym facilities. But I did not miss it, we ran the beach & did yoga. Massages were excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuckyDanDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this place. Most of the reviews are spot on. It is a boutique hotel that offers great food and a great location. If you wish to surf, deep sea fish, spearfish or go on a yoga retreat, this is the place to be. If you are looking for clubbing and casino do not come here. This is not the place. You are forced to unwind and enjoy nature.
The staff is very friendly and after a few days you get to know pretty much everyone. The food at the resort is outstanding. Pretty much all of it is caught or grown locally. Maybe even in your bungalow area. The rooms are adequate and clean. Not the Four Seasons. No TV, if that is important. There is free Wifi but terrible to no cell phone service. You can call internationally from your room and I believe a number of calls are complimentary.

We went zip lining, spearfishing, and took a yoga class that was offered at the hotel. .

-Zip Lining was great. About 1/2 hour total from hotel: Miss Sky Canopy Tours. It is safe and fun. Hotel will book it for you. http://www.missskycanopytour.com

Spearfishing was great: Visibility is always a question mark when spearfishing. You will see and catch plenty of fish with this crew if the conditions are right. They know the area and really like what they do. www.spearfishingcostarica.com

The trip from Liberia is a solid 2 to 2.5 hours but once you arrive it is worth it for the serenity. That is the catch 22 for this place. If it were easy to get to, it may be more commercialized thus taking away from its charm.

Go with couples and friends. Not much for kids here.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow by itself. Some are attached to another bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJRES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I did not stay at Harmony Hotel on a recent trip to Nosara, but took several yoga classes at the Wellness Center that is part of the property. The facility was gorgeous, and every teacher was top notch. The drop in rate was reasonable, especially considering the quality of our experience. We loved the juice bar as well - such a beautiful, relaxing vibe and the smoothies and juices we tried were absolutely delicious, if a tad expensive. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MsSadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

This place really is an incredible spot located very far away from any other main roads or other tourist attractions. my wife and I recently spent three nights there having just got married and we loved the serenity of the resort as well as everything around it

At first glance this hotel does not seem like much but after spending a night or two there you begin to fall in love with the place, the town and everything about it


I will say that even though we did fall in love with the place including the staff,the pool,the organic shampoos and everything else I did feel a bit like the rooms were overpriced at over $300 a night

At this price range you expect incredible luxury as well as really nice rooms with a lot of space to spread out. If the hotel rate was more like $200 a night that would feel a lot more reasonable

But overall my wife and I give this place two thumbs up and we definitely plan to return

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
1.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
0.4 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#2 of 23 in Nosara
120 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#8 of 23 in Nosara
156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#6 of 23 in Nosara
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor Reef Hotel
Harbor Reef Hotel
#11 of 23 in Nosara
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harmony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harmony Hotel

Address: Guiones Beach, Nosara 5233, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nosara
#2 Family Hotel in Nosara
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nosara
#3 Green Hotel in Nosara
#4 Spa Hotel in Nosara
Price Range: $344 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Harmony Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Hotel is the perfect combination of low-key luxury, nature, wellness and sustainability. Situated on Guiones Beach in Nosara, Costa Rica, a spot well renowned for its beautiful surroundings and impressive surf, this is an excellent place to unwind, relax and get in tune with your natural rhythm. The Harmony Hotel is part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Harmony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Nosara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing