We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, excellent service”
Review of The Harmony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Harmony Hotel
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
nc
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Elegant, excellent service”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Harmony is a beautiful, elegant, sustainable hotel on the beach in the most beautiful coast of Costa Rica. The restaurant is amazing. The very best, juicy and unique experience is the Harmony Healing Center. You must experience the one of a kind. It is truly special, especially Monika Ramos, who has a lovely presence and warm heart.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are heavenly, but the cabins closer to the ocean offer a more private experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennimoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    77
    20
    9
    1
See reviews for
91
172
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rowayton CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Harmony Hotel in Nosara early Dec 2013. If you are looking for a quiet romantic getaway, this may not be the place. First, there were many small kids and families when we were there. Second, the restaurant seemed to be consistently busy with large parties from outside the hotel. I am sure this is great for business, but it made me feel like I was a bit of an outsider as much attention was taken up by the large tables surrounding us.
But the worst thing is the Coco rooms. They are extremely noisy. Between hearing the restaurant music and talking loud and clear, to people walking by the room constantly, to people slamming their hotel room doors nearby, it was quite jarring. I am sure the villas were a million times better. But for $300/night for the room, it did not feel like great value.
The room itself was smallish, no real closet, nowhere to put luggage except on the floor (I asked for a luggage stand but none were to be had). The huge outdoor back area with shower is a great idea.. but a lot of wasted space. Why no couch to relax on? Or lounge chairs? No shelf to put your shampoo on.. Just small little amenities that would go a long way in making the hotel feel more resort like. Even the inside bathroom did not have much room to put toiletries anywhere. It would be easy to add a shelf under the sink.
That said, the people are all super friendly and that is what made the stay good. All of the waiters and bartenders live in nearby Nosara, and all are extremely sweet, pleasant, and hardworking. It seemed like Bolivar never had a day off!
I was looking for howler monkeys and everyone knew it, and at one point I had one security guy (Joseph) call another to track me down and let me know they had spied some. How nice is that?!
The food was good, and the prices were very reasonable.
The grounds are also beautiful and very well attended to. Again, I think if you stay in a villa you will feel more in touch with nature, rather than the more motel like feel of the Cocos rooms.
The location is great, especially if you are there to surf. You can just walk down to the beach with your board.
The pool is nice with bar service.
The front desk Sebastian was very helpful and accommodating.
Unfortunately I don't know what they can do about the noise of the Cocos rooms. Maybe lower the music in the dining room. Maybe add something to the doors so they close more quietly. Maybe add something to the walkway so it's not so noisy.. But really it's just the way they are set up in a row and their location..
Overall better than 'average' hotel, but in the Cocos rooms did not feel private so not great for honeymooners..

Room Tip: Do not choose Coco Room if you are looking for quiet. Get a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailgirle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Family holiday from 15th to 20th in Villa 17. Hotel and grounds were beautiful and it never felt crowded despite the property being fully booked. Pool centrally located, very peaceful, good service and, again, never more than 4 or 5 guests there at any one time.

Spa services were outstanding (Orion for massage and Gabby for Thai massage).

Yoga classes through out the day at a reasonable price and an offering can be found for type of style you prefer.

Easy 2 minute stroll to the beach for sunsets and surfing, or really long walks as the beach is 6 km long. Always room to surf any time of day and consistent waves all day. Great for learning.

Free breakfast daily was amazing and too much for one person. We usually split a main course after the fresh juice, large fruit plate and good coffee. Dinner menu excellent and varied and the casual atmosphere was perfect. Wait staff timely and attentive.

Everyone at Harmony was a pleasure to interact with and did everything to make the visit as smooth as possible.

Pace here is relaxed and soothing. Off the grid a bit but well worth getting there (2.5 hours from Liberia).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewTraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Harmony Hotel was amazing. On arrival, they greeted us with a cool, refreshing drink (after the long drive from Liberia airport). The rooms we're clean and comfortable! I loved having the restaurant right there, yummy and healthy food. And it is just a short walk to the beautiful beach. Can't wait to return!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Tremblant, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Harmony Hotel in Nosara, was super comfortable and a great place to celebrate a destination wedding. My room was large, super comfortable bed, amazing shampoos, conditioners and private outdoor yard with a hammock and fabulous outdoor shower. The staff were friendly and very helpful. A variety of yoga classes were on the schedule. They were fully equipped with a vast variety of props. I received a treatment package from my kids and enjoyed being pampered. The banana wrap and reflexology were my favourites. The juice bar had fancy coffees, healthy smoothies and sprouted raw bread sandwiches as well as a variety of delicious desserts. The chocolate/ coconut milk shake that was served around the pool area was outstanding.
My recommendation would be to allow guests to attend as many free yoga classes as they like instead of offering them only 1 free pass. The rooms are costly so why not include a couple of extras.
The pool area was great and we often enjoyed seeing the monkeys up in the trees in the late afternoon. The beach was within minutes as was the shopping area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angiyogabloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on honeymoon. The staff were very professional at all times. The food was excellent. Our bungalow was a bit dark but that is because there are so many plants! We didnt use the decking area as would have liked a bit more privacy and there was no direct sun coming into it.

The beach is a very short walk and is gorgeous. Long, sandy, expansive. It seemed to be a great surfing spot but we are not into surfing. I did the stand up paddle through the mangroves which was brilliant, I loved it! We ended up on Nosara beach I think with no one there. We hired a car for a day and went to La Luna restaurant, you can also walk here along the beach. La Luna was excellent, a little gem at the end of a road on the beach. We arrived at 3pm and no one else was there. People arrived for the sunset from 4.30pm.

The best thing about Nosara is the sunsets! Just beautiful! The village near Harmony is small. The places there can be pricey - like the bagel place but it was very nice. There was a really nice ice cream lunch place too, called Ruth's I think?

Lots of americans are on holiday here. There were children at the hotel but that didn't bother us. The natural products in the bathroom were lovely.

We had a couples massage - so fab!! I did a yoga class, beautiful studio. Have never done yoga before but the instructor was really helpful and patient.

We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishtigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I had a great time here. I was with a few friends and we found everything to be great. Right near the beach, great food and bar, and the accommodation was also very nice. I definitely recommend this place. Great trip.

Room Tip: If you're with friends, they have some larger rooms (like the Rancho) which can help save a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
1.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
0.4 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#5 of 22 in Nosara
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#4 of 22 in Nosara
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#7 of 22 in Nosara
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Negra Surf Hotel & Soda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harmony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harmony Hotel

Property: The Harmony Hotel
Address: Guiones Beach, Nosara 5233, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nosara
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nosara
#3 Green Hotel in Nosara
#4 Spa Hotel in Nosara
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harmony Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Hotel is the perfect combination of low-key luxury, nature, wellness and sustainability. Situated on Guiones Beach in Nosara, Costa Rica, a spot well renowned for its beautiful surroundings and impressive surf, this is an excellent place to unwind, relax and get in tune with your natural rhythm. The Harmony Hotel is part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Harmony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Nosara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing