We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza was fine, but not wood fired”
Review of Il Basilico

Il Basilico
Ranked #16 of 80 Restaurants in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pizza was fine, but not wood fired”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The pizza was fine, a bit more cheese than crust though.

The service was not very friendly and it was hard to ask a question or get the check, but not a big deal.

The restaurant was clean and a nice atmosphere, despite the loud music.

Personally, would rather got to Rancho Tico or La Luna for their wood fired pizza, at a better price instead.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank darinicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    31
    16
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moab, UT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“couldn't be better”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The $10 pizza deal on Saturdays cannot be beat and is definitely worth a try. We called ahead for a pick-up order on a Saturday as we figured that would be easier on a busy Saturday night with two young children. The ceviche and pizza were so good the first time that we went back for more the next Thursday only that time we dined at the restaurant. The staff was super friendly and welcoming. Within moments the pizza chef (James?) had our two young children up at the bar with a kid's size wooden rolling pin to roll out dough balls for their own mini pizzas. He was so friendly and chatty with the kids (and the six other kids that came into the restaurant with their families) is was surprising. He topped the mini pizzas and popped them into the oven. What a fabulous idea for kids and families! We enjoyed our meals and highly recommend take-out or dining in whichever works for your schedule. Yum...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJMoab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Go for the best pizza!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I went with two friends and called in to get our pizza done 10 min before arriving. The staff was very friendly and easy going.

There are not many restaurants in the area but there are a few pizza spots, this is certainly one of the best of not the best. The food was delicious and the price was reasonable, they serve good quality pizza and as well offer beers and regular soft drinks. There is quite a bit of space and even if the place can be a bit full the service is fast.

Something that might help you on the peak season is to call in and reserve, also one not so good thing is that as the road is just in front there is quite a bit of noise and maybe some dust a big truck passes by but honestly you barely realize about those details as the place is nice and has a natural wall in front.(trees)

This is NOT a place for a fancy dinner, is more the usual sit down spot but it definitely worth to go!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Feds-Vargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Waited too long”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Unfortunately, when we ate here it was too busy. Great for ambience but the wait time was far too long and when the food came my calamari was cold. The pizza was good and the vibe was great. My daughter did not like her pasta. The one man band was entertaining and the waiter was nice but we had to wait and wait and wait.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SurfFamilyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pizza, Pizza”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I cannot say enough about the only Italian Restaurant in Nosara. Maybe there are more but they don't taste like this. Pizza crust is perfect and the Greek Pizza is my favorite!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Athena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Basilico also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Il Basilico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing