We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Hidden Jem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Basilico

Il Basilico
Ranked #14 of 72 Restaurants in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Hidden Jem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This restaurant is not located directly with all of the other local beach restaurants but do not miss it! My boyfriend raved and raved about their cerviche and I can not say enough about how great the pizza was. It was thin crust and better than most pizza I have had in the U.S. including NYC! The tables were beautiful and they have live entertainment on some nights! We loved the local singer they had one night!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank flbchgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    29
    13
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not the fastest but GREAT pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Make sure you have some time to get your dinner, but this place is really good. Try the tuna carpaccio, it's divine. My kids say it's the best pizza they have EVER had.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Waycott4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pizza to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Dee-lish thin crust pizza. We had the pesto di basilico and it had an outstanding combination of mozzarella, pesto, basil, tomato and parmsian. The crust was thin and crispy, with a perfect crunch. Everything on the menu sounded outstanding and all the food that went out to other tables looked great! We will go back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cocobch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best pizza this side of the Atlantic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Who would have thought that you would find the best little pizza joint in a beach city of Nosara, CR. Il Basilico served me the most delicious, tasteful, thin crust pizza I have ever had. The flavors of mozzarella, homemade doe and sauce, and pepperoni made my pizza most enjoyable. The food was phenomenal. The atmosphere was a little dead but I credit that to the rainy evening where most people wouldn't want to travel and the slowest night of the week, Sunday.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelminded14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Trattoria in the jungle.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Il Basilico is difficult to spot off the main road. Glad I found it though. The thin crust pizza is excellent and all the ingredients are fresh. My pasta was al dente and the sauce had unique Italian flavors. The service was fast and efficient. The atmosphere lacked vitality though.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank discriminating7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Basilico also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Il Basilico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing