We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trattoria in the jungle.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Basilico

Il Basilico
Ranked #13 of 72 Restaurants in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
las vegas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Trattoria in the jungle.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Il Basilico is difficult to spot off the main road. Glad I found it though. The thin crust pizza is excellent and all the ingredients are fresh. My pasta was al dente and the sauce had unique Italian flavors. The service was fast and efficient. The atmosphere lacked vitality though.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank discriminating7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    28
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Penna
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So good we came back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Had Spaghetti Carbonera first time, pizza the second. Our friend had seafood spaghetti in a bowl with a pastry shell over it..resembled a pie..full of shrimp, calamari, clams, mussels ect..
Great rustic setting and good service..not pricey.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DansGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“SEA FOOD and Pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had one of our best meals in the Nosara - Guiones area at Il Basilico. Fresh sea food was done just right. Pasta for my kids tell s it all when the plates are empty after a whole day at the beach. Good service, clean nice place for a meal.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roberto K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love it when I'm there-dream about it when I'm not!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

There's just no pizza like it! Try the shrimp pizza and if you need a break from saucy, cheesy heaven, the grilled shrimp salad with avocados is positively addictive!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank grommom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pizza Reminiscent of New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

After 5 years in New York I'm grateful for Il Basilico. The pizza is a little different but very high quality and they deliver. Good stuff. Must visit in Guoines.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Basilico also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Il Basilico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing