We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A place of healing and reflection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AHKi B&B Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AHKi B&B Retreat
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Nosara
Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A place of healing and reflection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Such a calming and rejuvenating place to stay! I was part of one of the first yoga retreats here and it was incredible. A very relaxing place where you feel like you can just unplug. The rooms were beautiful and the food was excellent. Bring comfy shoes as the walk from the rooms to the main resort is quite an uphill trek. Also, be sure to bring a headlamp or flashlight as there aren't a lot of lights at night. If you intend to leave to explore I suggest renting a car as it is about a 20 minute ride to the beach (it's really not that far away, but the roads are so poor). Otherwise they can call for a cab, but you need to give 4-5 hours notice. The mosquitoes aren't bad, but the occasional bug might find its way into your room. Since I was in the jungle I expected it. If you want to buy beverages from them bring some cash to pay.

All in all fabulous place and I hope to return next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnesotaNicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
3
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Moriches, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

During my journey into the beautiful and exotic Costa Rica I was given the opportunity of staying at Ahki with the warm and open-hearted owners, Karen and Greg. This wonderful couple opened their home and retreat sanctuary to me in between a transition period of my journey, and my life. The energy that encompasses Ahki embraces oneself from all angles and really gives you the opportunity to relax, and breathe in the beauty of nature that surrounds you. On top of being in a great location close to beaches and other nearby excursions, ahki retreat has plenty to offer those who stay here. One could spend all day around the retreat swimming in the infinity pool, lounging on the day beds in the cabana, swinging in a hammock that overlooks the ocean in the near distance, feeling the cool breeze from the upper yoga space as you meditate or do yoga, get lost in a book inside the library/salon, or just sit back and enjoy the view of the mountains that surround you! Just remember to take a moment in the evening to kick back by the fire pit, or lounge in a chair to gaze up at the stars that glow brightly against the dark night sky. Thank you again Karen and Greg for welcoming me into your home and your hearts with light and love. Xoxo ~ Jessica Grace

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jgd31190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

An extraordinary place for a retreat...for healing the mind and soul; a well kept secret in Nosara Costa Rica. The place itself is amazing and Karen and Greg - the creators of this space - make it even better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaaciman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

What an exquisite spot!!! The ambiance was soothing & very zen. The food, views, monkeys & people left nothing to be desired. I would return in a heartbeat. The hosts are accommodating and knowledgeable. The location leaves nothing to be desired; sunrises over the jungle canopy & sunsets over the pacific.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

AHKi is built to be in harmony with the incredible natural beauty that surrounds it. Karen and Greg have created a place that is, indeed, a sanctuary for the Soul. Every detail of this stunning retreat enhances your experience. The guest rooms are spacious, the common areas are beautiful and the food is great. There are wonderful views of the ocean and the mountains. At night the stars seem close enough to touch!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This place FEELS phenomenal. It is a place of rejuvenation and a reminder that we should always walk in mindfulness and be with nature. The staff goes above and beyond and l ive what they speak. The space is shared with mother nature; please be respectful when you stay at this amazing retreat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned from an amazing week at AHKi. What a beautiful place. The attention to detail and the convergence with nature are inspired. I was there for a week long retreat and it's an incredible place for such an experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlliJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
5.1 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
2.8 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#9 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
3.6 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#3 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#7 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
3.4 mi away
Olas Verdes
Olas Verdes
#6 of 23 in Nosara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
3.9 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#10 of 23 in Nosara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AHKi B&B Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AHKi B&B Retreat

Property: AHKi B&B Retreat
Address: Kilometers North Of Playa Garza 3, Nosara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Nosara
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AHKí Retreat is an intimate yet spacious facility, infused with simple elegance. A short hike from the main house, down a natural stone path are six guest rooms that accommodate up to 3 per room. Each room has a private bath and large unique, luxurious indoor/outdoor shower and patios that command stellar views of the mountains and valleys. Our main house offers grand views of the ocean, mountains and valleys. Enjoy good food, yoga, our mountain view pool and library for reading, films and games.Ahki is predominantly for group retreats. However, depending on availability, we may have special offers available for individual travelers if we are not booked with retreats. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing