We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A little of everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marlin Bill's

Marlin Bill's
Ranked #30 of 72 Restaurants in Nosara
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, International, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: In business since 1994, Marlin Bill's offers guests of our open-air dining room panoramic views of Guiones, the ocean, and Costa Rica's world-famous sunsets, along with mouth-watering options from our eclectic menu of choice steaks, chops, fresh seafood, family fare, and dreamy desserts. Daily food and drink specials, and our ability to cater to large parties, make Marlin Bill's beloved by both visitors and locals.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A little of everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This place is at the top of the hill, literally. Same as everything in Nosara, it isn't the cheapest but the food was pretty good. The selection of specials and menu items is very broad so I am sure there will be something for everyone. We had fresh Tuna, chicken parmesan, and a pork chop. All were above average with the Tuna being excellent. Lots of Americans to chat with at the full liquor bar and a few Tv's for those sports enthusiasts.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bartevious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinBills, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Bill's, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Hola! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit with us, as well as the variety of food options we offer! We like to think we have something for everyone, and it's nice to hear that you agree. We're also thrilled that you describe your tuna as "excellent." Our fresh tuna is a specialty on which we pride ourselves, so it's always nice to learn that our guests feel we continue to do it well! As for the atmosphere, we work hard to make our guests feel comfortable and relaxed, and our well-stocked bar, great bartenders, and TVs for our sports-lovers help us do that. We're glad you liked it, and we hope we'll see you, again. Until then, safe and happy travels! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    39
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great seared Tuna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

By far the best seared Tuna I've ever had! Ate there several times while in the area and all the food was outstanding as well as the service. Lots of friendly people who frequent the restaurant too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinBills, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Bill's, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Hola, Lori! We're so glad you enjoyed your seared tuna! That has become one of our signature dishes, so we're always happy to hear that we continue to do it well! We're also happy you enjoyed our food and service enough to visit us more than once during your stay! That's one of the best compliments you can give the staff of a restaurant, so thank you! We hope you'll return to our little corner of paradise before too long, and we look forward to seeing you when you do! Until then, safe and happy travels! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee WI
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“KILLER Chop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had an excellent meal at Marlin Bill's! The pork chop and mashed potatoes was incredible. They have a TAP, not many places in C.R. have tap beer so this was quite refreshing. Pet the cats too but careful, they'll let you know when they've had enough.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank xtracycletony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinBills, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Bill's, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Hola! We're so glad you enjoyed your pork chop and mashed potatoes! We've been told the potatoes are addictive, but you'll have to come back to decide that for yourself. (ha) We're also glad you were happy with the beer on tap! It is somewhat unique, so it's fun for us to have that to offer to our guests. As for the cats, they're definitely part of the ambiance, and our guests seem to love them, but they do have rather strong personalities, and aren't hesitant to let you know their feelings! Safe and happy travels! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of palms,sc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Three of us had dinners of fresh grilled fish, Corvina and Mahi. Good service and fun environs. Great bar with darts! We ate there twice while in Nosara.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iopgirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinBills, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Bill's, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hola! We're so happy you and your party enjoyed your visits with us- and that your first time was so pleasant, you came back, again! We take pride in serving excellent food in an environment that makes guests feel at home, so we're always glad to learn we succeeded in that endeavor! We'll make sure to have the darts ready, so come back when you can! Until then, we wish you safe travels. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Atmosphere and Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had the best burgers South of the Equator at Marlin Bills! So happy we had the good fortune to enjoy this restaurant during our amazing vacation in Nosara. Great bar with awesome people and fantastic service!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MAggie89j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinBills, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Bill's, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hola, Maggie! We're glad you had a great time during your stay in our little slice of paradise, and are so happy your experience at Marlin Bill's was such an enjoyable part of your visit! We pride ourselves on our burgers, which are a favorite of both locals and visitors, and although we've never heard them called "best burgers south of the Equator," we may have to rename them! Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your visit with us! Until next time we see you here in Guinones, we wish you safe travels! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlin Bill's also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Marlin Bill's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing