We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Eats”
Review of Marlin Bill's

Marlin Bill's
Ranked #28 of 79 Restaurants in Nosara
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, International, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: In business since 1994, Marlin Bill's offers guests of our open-air dining room panoramic views of Guiones, the ocean, and Costa Rica's world-famous sunsets, along with mouth-watering options from our eclectic menu of choice steaks, chops, fresh seafood, family fare, and dreamy desserts. Daily food and drink specials, and our ability to cater to large parties, make Marlin Bill's beloved by both visitors and locals.
LaBelle, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Eats”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Brought our daily catch to Marlin Bills. He prepared it for us. Tasted awesome. Great place to end a day of awesome fishing with a cold beer at Marlin Bills.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank helojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinBills, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Bill's, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hola! We're always happy to hear that we lived up to the high standards we set for ourselves, and that are guests enjoyed their time with us. We love contributing to your Costa Rica experience by preparing your fresh catch for you, and are glad you enjoyed it! We hope you come back, catch "the big one," and let us help you enjoy it, as well! Until then, safe travels! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    42
    12
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“fair”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

apparently the staff had the night off, service was off, one in party had a steak based on recommendation of lady who took order, not the "hand select cut" nor tender as anticipated - everything else fair, kinda disappointed

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Zevonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinBills, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Bill's, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hola! We're so sorry to learn that your experience with us was less than satisfactory. We pride ourselves on our food, as well as our service, and we don't view anything less than our best as, "...just an off night." We are disappointed that we failed to show you our best, and wish you had brought your concerns to our attention, as we would have tried our best to rectify any problems and make your experience the terrific one we feel is the standard at Marlin Bill's. If you come back to Guiones, we hope you'll visit with us, again, and let us show you that what you experienced is definitely not the norm at Marlin Bill's! Happy travels! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Moose”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a view! As far as I know the only ocean view place in Guiones. If you want a taste of the states go to Bills. Service is the best in town. Friendly cats moose, snapper and mala noche are always ready today hello. Lunch -burgers nights-everything

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinBills, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Bill's, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hola! We're so glad you had such a good experience with us! We pride ourselves on the attention we give to all our food, but as you noted, we're sort of known, locally, for our burgers, and are happy you agree that they're something special! As for the cats, they're definitely a part of the Marlin Bill's experience, and sometimes, we think they're more famous than our restaurant! (ha) We hope to see you on your next visit, and are so glad you enjoyed this one! Safe travels! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food and good local service”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We enjoyed a great meal here in this open air restaurant with a view of the ocean. A lot for the kids to choose from and the adult menu was deliciously fresh. Kids had hamburgers, fries, steamed veggies, drinks and vanilla ice cream with rainbow sprinkles for roughly $13 each. I enjoyed a very fresh lightly seared tuna sashimi dinner and two margaritas for $27. Service was very friendly and they tried their best to accommodate any extra requests like the steamed veggies- which were perfectly cooked with a wide variety. Prices are American so don't expect to eat well on the cheap. A common theme in Costa Rica.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KTErving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinBills, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Bill's, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hola! We're happy to hear that you and your kids had such an enjoyable experience with us! We pride ourselves on having something for everyone, including the little ones, and are always happy to do our best to accommodate special requests, like your steamed veggies. We're glad you enjoyed the view, and your time with us, and we hope to see you on your next visit to Costa Rica! Safe travels! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you want American food....”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is your place if you want to eat just like you were in the States. There is nothing special about Marlin Bill's...their jalepeno burger was pretty good...but c'mon, you are in Costa Rica!!! We ate here one time and that was plenty...it's over priced for what you get and the food really was average. I did enjoy the draft beer...but you can always go to La Luna and get draft beer...MUCH better food option there, too!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hatnole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinBills, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Bill's, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hola! As you noted in your review, we are definitely an American/Continental restaurant. We feel we give visitors the option of something familiar in the midst of all the Costa Rican restaurants, and we're also a "taste" of home for the many ex-pats in our region. We're glad you enjoyed your beer with us, and hope you enjoyed the beauty and wonder that is Costa Rica! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlin Bill's also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Marlin Bill's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing