We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want American food....”
Review of Marlin Bill's

Marlin Bill's
Ranked #28 of 84 Restaurants in Nosara
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: In business since 1994, Marlin Bill's offers guests of our open-air dining room panoramic views of Guiones, the ocean, and Costa Rica's world-famous sunsets, along with mouth-watering options from our eclectic menu of choice steaks, chops, fresh seafood, family fare, and dreamy desserts. Daily food and drink specials, and our ability to cater to large parties, make Marlin Bill's beloved by both visitors and locals.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is your place if you want to eat just like you were in the States. There is nothing special about Marlin Bill's...their jalepeno burger was pretty good...but c'mon, you are in Costa Rica!!! We ate here one time and that was plenty...it's over priced for what you get and the food really was average. I did enjoy the draft beer...but you can always go to La Luna and get draft beer...MUCH better food option there, too!!

1  Thank hatnole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinBills, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Bill's, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Hola! As you noted in your review, we are definitely an American/Continental restaurant. We feel we give visitors the option of something familiar in the midst of all the Costa Rican restaurants, and we're also a "taste" of home for the many ex-pats in our region. We're glad you enjoyed your beer with us, and hope you enjoyed the beauty and wonder that is Costa Rica! Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 114 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Compared to other places we ate this was not our favorite. The staff was very friendly and the service was good but just not our favorite meal.

1  Thank JMenjoylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinBills, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Bill's, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Hola! We're glad to hear you enjoyed our service and that our staff was friendly! We work hard to let our guests know we're truly glad you're dining with us. We're sorry to hear the rest of your experience wasn't equally as enjoyable, and hope it might have had something to do with us being a Continental-style restaurant, instead of one that is more "Tico-style" in both food and atmosphere. The next time you're in Nosara/Guiones, we hope you'll come back and let us show you us at our Continental-style best! Until then, safe travels! Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

So here's the thing. There are several really charming and super good places to eat in Nosara. My problem with MB,s is the atmosphere. It feels like a Greek diner/bar and it doesn't fit the overall feel of the beachy town it's in. The server I had was also nice enough, but I felt like I was in the US. The food was tasty and the menu seemed geared to US tastebuds. I dined at night, so I did not experience the views etc, but I personally found other places I preferred more for a night time dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NDJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinBills, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Bill's, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hola! You are completely correct in the fact that Marlin Bill's is not a Tico-style restaurant with a local vibe. We're sorry you were looking for that type of atmosphere when you dined with us, but we're glad you found our food tasty! We strive hard to give our guests high quality, and delicious, dining choices, and are pleased to know we managed to do that for you! You stated that your lack of enthusiasm came from the fact that our food and atmosphere are not "beachy" enough, and that we seem more geared for US tastebuds, and I definitely understand why that would be disappointing if you were looking for a restaurant with local flavor. As our main page states, we offer a contemporary, Continental menu, with a relaxed lunch atmosphere and dinner options more in line with a fine dining establishment in the US or Europe, rather than one with local dishes. We're sorry we weren't "Tico" enough for you, but are glad you liked our food, regardless! We hope to see you, again! Until then, safe and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great place for lunch, dinner, or drinks. The location is the best in Nosara. It is on the third level of the building that sits on a hill looking out to the Ocean. It's above the street level so no dust and you get a nice breeze . You can even watch the sunset. Our group ate here 4 or 5 times during our stay , everything we had was very good from the burgers to BBQ chicken to Tuna. They cooked our Mahi Mahi from our fishing trips for us to perfection. The people were friendly and very helpful. Marlin Bill's is number ONE in my book.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank esnewton2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinBills, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Bill's, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Hola! We're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us, so much so that you kept coming back during your stay! We love making our guests happy, and are glad we were able to help you enjoy the fish you had the fun of catching! Our guests are number one in our priorities, so we're ecstatic that you feel we're number ONE in your book! Come back and see us! We love when guests become like family! Until then, though, safe travels! Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our hotel concierge recommended this local place that wasn't too far from our hotel. He was spot on. It had a bunch of expats (which to us was nice) and their kids chilling out. The food was good. They have "sushi" on the menu but is actually delicious, fresh hamachi-style tuna with pepper. The fried food was a little too fried for our taste but yummy. Fast, friendly service. A good reliable spot. Wish the surrounding roads were better!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MelisaSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinBills, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Bill's, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Hola, Melisa! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit with us! We pride ourselves on our specialties, like the hamachi-style tuna you liked, as well as our friendly service, and the reliable consistency of both, and are pleased that you feel we met the high expectations we set for ourselves. We're also happy to hear we were recommended by the concierge at your hotel, because that means the local community is confident in our ability to provide quality food and service to the area's visitors. We hope we'll see you on your next visit to Guiones! Until then, safe travels! Pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlin Bill's also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Marlin Bill's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing