We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even Better than I could have Imagined”
Review of Surf Simply

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Simply
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Even Better than I could have Imagined”
Reviewed December 17, 2010

I am just back from a week with the surf simply team. I have nothing but compliments to give.
I fell in love with their website, which I thought was showing a very unique atmosphere, but everything I found over there exceeded any expectations I had.
The location is perfect, very close to the beach (10mins walk), but far enough that the mosquitoes do not bother you at night. Still a golf buggy takes you to and from the beach for each surf sessions, which means all of your energy can be focused on trying to get the best out of the coaching and the perfect waves over there.
The atmosphere is brilliant, and can be explained by the very relaxed environment that the owners have set up. We were 9 guests staying at the camp. all from different backgrounds and origins, but all with a desire to learn something new, and to enjoy every minute of the experience. That meant many great evenings in one of the local restaurants (Casa Romantica highly recommended), or sat by the pool having a cold beer after a good day of surfing
Accomodations are very comfortable, perfectly clean, even though you do not end up spending much time in your bungalow. Your own terrace can still provide with some isolation if you want to spend some quiet time with a book.
Well done once again to the team for what has been one of my best holidays to date

Helpful?
Thank Damien022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
71
119
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Simply incredible. World-class instructors who challenge and encourage and support and teach and demand and applaud and want you to succeed. An upbeat spiritedness that allows for belly laughs and afternoon naps and remembering how great it feels to do something for the first time. Enthusiastically exhausted and basking in progress made. Food that is festive and fueling. A setting that is abundant and welcoming. There is an effortless, wonderful vibe here that draws you in and makes you part of the experience...you're much more than a guest here. With so many places to see throughout the world, I've never contemplated return visits anywhere...until spending time with Surf Simply at Nosara. I am certain that I will greet that beach, and the friendly, familiar faces that introduced me to it, someday soon.

Helpful?
Thank sdcampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Last week I took myself on a solo vacation to Costa Rica, to attend a surf camp called Surf Simply. The "curriculum" included surfing in the morning and at sunset, theory classes and surf videos, home-cooked meals, and even yoga. I went by myself. I found myself at this beautiful "rancho" with a pool, an outdoor living room, and several private 2-bedroom chalets for lodging.

There were nine travelers at Surf Simply that week, including myself. It was amazing. We all got along like gang-busters, and I spent more time in the ocean this week than I had cumulatively in my entire life previously! The first day I had some fear of the waves, but after nearly three hours a day in the water and having some fun getting tumbled, swallowing water, and taking a wave or two in the face, that fear was long gone. Over the week, I found myself completely enjoying surfing and everything that goes along with it. (There was one meal where we found ourselves groaning in pain just from pouring a bowl of cereal, arms sore from paddling). I'm much more comfortable in water than I was that first day, and I can even surf. I can surf!
I'll never forget my three favorite waves of that week, or that awareness as new skills clicked into place at the peak of a wave. As one of my new friends from surf camp put it, I caught the stoke.

For those of you considering going to Surf Simply, I can also say that the coaches and the staff are wonderful -- their friendliness, commitment to excellence, and all around wonderfulness is abundant. Every coach gave me at least one important insight into surfing (and maybe even life!) -- and the positive attitude of the people around me was unbeatable. And it was really nice having my surf board carried by one of the coaches every once in a while, and getting an extra tow or "paddle-power" push into a wave. :-)

Surf Simply treats their guests well, and I REALLY appreciate that the package truly was all inclusive and hassle free.
The owners have put together a really solid experience. Their commitment to excellence is clear.
Oh! And they also send you an online album with photos that they take of your surf lessons So great!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ana456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2010

I did a ton of research before going, and was skeptical that of the 70 odd reviews they received here no one had anything bad to say. They deliver on EVERYTHING they state on their website. Surf Simply is a great little vacation spot; regardless of your surfing ability, if you want to surf, you’ll have a great time.

My Top 10 reasons to go vacation with Ru, Jem et al. at Surf Simply:
10. Wetsuit, um no thanks – not having to put on a cold wetsuit everyday is really nice
9. Wristband, I don’t need no stinkin wristband – the resort is beautiful, clean, great wifi (and you’re in the jungle), very intimate and private. Great communal lounge area, but also the ability to chill by yourself. No pretention. Very different from a typical “all-inclusive resort”. Snacks beer and wine available, it’s great to finish a day of surfing with a beer… or maybe two
8. The “off” day – great chance to do something a little different, but still plenty of time to go for a surf without the instructors
7. The People we meet – you’ll meet some really cool people who are there to vacation and surf as well
6. Soundly sleeping – you’re so active during the day you’ll have some great sleeps, the A/C in the room doesn’t hurt either
5. J’adore Chef Jem – clean, fresh food, every day at the resort. The restaurants are good, but its Jem’s food I adore
4. The camera doesn’t lie - Video analysis is irreplaceable, especially if you have been surfing for a while. You’ll see what you are actually doing, instead of what you think you are doing
3. The wave, the stoke – the basic element of a surf trip is a clean, consistent, fun wave. Playa Guiones delivers, and the people in the water are chill
2. Back to school – both in and out of the water, I doubt you’ll find superior surf teaching anywhere in the world
1. The crew – while the instruction is excellent, it’s the instructors and staff that make the trip

And a few tips and cautions
1. If your idea of a vacation is lying on the beach, relaxing / sleeping all day and partying all night / every night, this is not the place for you. There is a couple of places to grab a drink that are fun though
2. Despite how much exercise you’re getting, the food is so good you probably won’t lose weight, but you’ll be in better shape
3. The camera doesn’t lie – be ready to laugh at yourself, along with everybody else, because you are going to bail badly at some point and it will be documented forever
4. Before you go, make sure you do some exercise, you’ll get way more out of the trip
5. Protect yourself – take care of your ears (water inside them sucks) and your body from rashes (boys – under armor type spandex under the board shorts are a great idea). Surf Simply prepares a great care package for you to do this

While surf simply may have a higher sticker price than other surf trips in Costa Rica, I highly doubt you’ll get more for your money than at Surf Simply.

Reviewer’s note – it should be noted that I was asked, very politely, to write a review. Given how great these people run their business, I was more than happy to.

Helpful?
2 Thank Aiken819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

I made quite an impractical decision 5 years ago to make surfing a big part of my life. To pursue my new dream, I made it a mission to learn how to surf. It's an impractical goal simply because I am landlocked in Toronto and I only visit the ocean about twice a year.

I wrote my first review of Surf Simply 4 years ago when I discovered them during my first trip to Nosara. Since that first visit, I've returned regularly to Surf Simply for week-long lessons and coaching. I've written rave reviews about the camp, its staff and its service. Well, I'm now both thrilled and amazed to report that the Surf Simply methodology is effective and I am the proof.

I returned to Nosara last week for another coaching session. In total, this is my 6th week-long coaching sessions with Surf Simply. It's crazy that I am now able to catch green waves, surf down the line and attempt maneuvers. We went on a few trips to different breaks and I'm now comfortably paddling out to various breaks and conditions. I can now honestly say that I can surf and I now have the foundation to continuously improve.

I was recently asked how and why I was able to accelerate my learning curve so dramatically. After some thought, I attribute it to one simple reason: I mentally and intellectually understand the mechanics of surfing. The Surf Simply coaches did not just push me into a bunch of waves, yell at me to stand up and call it a day. They spent a ton of time on breaking down, simplifying and explaining the theories of surfing. I intellectually understand the "WHY", and not just the "HOW" of surfing. I understand why I should lie three inches further forward on my board. I understand why I should angle my take off during low tide surf. I understand why I should step on my tail for my turns. Although I surf infrequently, my mind is fully prepared to surf when I do get to an ocean.

Here is the punch line. There is no way a guy from Toronto who only surfs a few times a year should be able to surf. Surf Simply has proven that it can teach anyone who is willing to learn and try. For those of you who truly do want to learn, then Surf Simply is simply the best.

Helpful?
3 Thank rathersurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

I had an amazing week with the crew at surf simply. I had never surfed before but these guys made it easy. I think there was about 10 people in our group for the week with 6 instructors. They always were right next to me to talk about what was going on and seemed to be more excited than me when i caught a wave. Food was awesome. I even did the yoga. Conditions were sick. Highly recommend. Ru and Gem are the best.

Helpful?
Thank mbower123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Well imagine not having to take out your wallet even once while you're on holiday. The Surf Simply guys provide nothing but refreshing services such as these throughout your time there. Everything from surf, food, outings, massage and yoga is taken care off.

Jems gourmet food is incredible and experimental and I would rate it higher than any of the top restaurants we were taken to. The massage was beyond incredible at day 5 when my body was not moving anymore. The sunset yoga was a perfect combination to the surf.

The surf lessons are technical and you learn from EVERY session. How could you not, you get blackboard and video tips aside from a twice a day surf schedule. The guys are friendly and take their coaching very seriously.

Somehow by the end of it, you will leave feeling either:
- you want to become a surf pro
- surfing is your sport. for life.
- promising yourself you will be surfing more regularly
- upgrade your fitness regime after you saw yourself in the surf camp, surfing twice daily!

Ill be back again for sure.

Helpful?
1 Thank poojamunshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
0.3 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#3 of 22 in Nosara
87 reviews
0.6 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#22 of 22 in Nosara
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Negra Surf Hotel & Soda
0.5 mi away
The Harmony Hotel
The Harmony Hotel
#5 of 22 in Nosara
383 reviews
0.9 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#7 of 22 in Nosara
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Simply? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Simply

Property: Surf Simply
Address: Playa Guiones, Nosara, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Nosara
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf Simply has broken the surf camp mold by providing coaching of a standard one would usually expect to receive in more mainstream sports. The makes of the Surf Simply podcast (available on iTunes) offer all inclusive package from their beautiful boutique surf coaching resort in Nosara, Costa Rica. You stay incorporates not only - video analysis, theory sessions on everything from board design to surf forecasting, pool training and in water coaching during your two fun surf session each day; but also transfers, accommodation, yoga classes, massage, fresh home cooked food and a variety of destinations in the evening from beach BBQs to stunning cliff top restaurants. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing