We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ride at Sunset”
Review of Playa Ponies

Playa Ponies
Ranked #14 of 47 Outdoor Activities in Nosara
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Personalized Horseback riding tours through the jungle and beaches of Nosara. Our horses are beautiful and trained for all experience levels. Every tour is customized to match the riders whether it is a short jungle kids adventure, or half-day waterfall treck or a sunset beach ride we make sure every rider leaves with an experience they will remember for a lifetime.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ride at Sunset”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Beautiful horses, very kind and patient riders. Avoid the white horse, it is uncontrollable. The sunset was outstanding, make sure you get back to the corral right after as it goes pitch black at the beach.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect Outing...Highlight of our Trip!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Thank you to the trip advisor community for recommending Playa Ponies. We took a trip with them, and it was the highlight of our trip!

My kids had never ridden a horse before, and my wife was apprehensive. But the horses were calm and responsive, Heidi was a perfect tour guide, and the trip was great. We started in the woods, and saw multiple groups of monkeys in the trees overhead. Then we got to the beach, and took a long ride along the shoreline. Everyone was disappointed when our two hour ride ended.

Thank you to Heidi and Playa Ponies for a great time!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank PTCPittFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Always a great ride”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We've been coming to Nosara for more 20 years and love horseback riding along the back. Carrie has the best horses and takes great care of them. We ride with her every time we are in town.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely morning ride through beautiful scenery on great horses!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our family of six had a great last day in Playa Guiones in large part thanks to Playa Ponies' Carrie and Nano. None of us were proficient horse riders, and it was even the first time on a horse for a couple of us, but we all felt safe and relaxed on the horses chosen for us. We had hoped to snorkel with them also, but the weather conditions didn't cooperate with us. They gave us lots of helpful information. The view of horse back riding along the beach and through some jungle areas (we heard a howler monkey!) was just gorgeous. The inexperienced 10 year old was still able to ride solo, and Carrie stayed very close to her so she felt quite safe.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Delilahdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
csaiticachica, Owner at Playa Ponies, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review! We had a great time with your family. Hopefully you will make it back to Nosara in the future, we would love to take you out again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“A wonderful ride!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A superb two hour ride through the jungles and out onto the beach at Playa Guiones/Playa Pelada.

While Nano's English was sketchy at best, we still had a wonderful time on his well mannered and well cared for horses. Truly a nice family run operation! If you want a ritzy dude ranch ride behind some Zorro type caballero, this isn't the place to go. No Roy Rogers bling on these horses either!

If you want a nice friendly ride through beautiful scenery and an excellent price, then this is it. Just what we wanted!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy_and_Holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Ponies also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Playa Ponies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing