We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Wildlife Treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu

Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu
Ranked #2 of 31 things to do in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: SIBU Sanctuary is located in Santa Marta - 3.3 miles from the north entrance to Playas de Nosara and 15 + minutes from Playa Guiones. We are a 50 acre jungle garden reserve, surrounded by thousands of acres of jungle and located between the Rio Nosara and Rio Montana. We are a care / rehabilitation and Step Down Release Center for the area's injured and orphaned wildlife, returning them back into the wild. Those who cannot be released, receive life term care. Please note that we are NOT a petting zoo. These animals are all slated to be returned back into the wild. No interaction is allowed. Our facilities include a non-primate / quarantine habitat, two 70ft.X75ft habitats, three stories tall encompassing trees, with movable walls to adapt to any enclosure requirement and a new 2 1/2 story tall, Step Out Habitat with movable walls.. . We offer Up Close and Personal Educational visits by ADVANCE RESERVATION only.We cater to adults who wish to know more about the plight of Costa Rica's arboreal wildlife with the effect of man's encroachment into their habitat. Children are welcome but must be supervised and at least 5 years old. Visit our web site to learn more about our Educational Visits, participate in our Adopt-A-Monkey Program, inquire about becoming a volunteer or find out how you can make a difference by making a 501(C)3 donation. Thank you all so very much!
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wildlife Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We arrived at the Sanctuary not sure what to expect. $50 per person for a couple of hours might seem a lot to many people, I can assure you it's an experience worth double !
We were met at the gate by Steve and once parked had an informative and amusing walk up to Steve and Vicki's accommodation and the animal enclosures through beautiful forest. Steve is happy to chat on any subject, we covered politics, geography and of course wildlife. We learnt a little about the flora and fauna in the area and the story of how Steve and Vicki started the rescue centre and the problems uninsulated power lines cause to wildlife across Costa Rica.
Once at the family home we were introduced to Vicki and were served a refreshing fruit juice drink, then we sat down to watch a couple of brief video's about their work and how they are raising awareness with the power companies and local residents and trying to address the power line problems.
Finally the moment had come and we were introduced to the various wildlife that were in the process of being rehabilitated.The animals welfare was always at the forefront of concern, it was a wonderful experience, one we'll never forget.
Steve and Vicki were consummate hosts,and they work tirelessly for the animals, this was an extremely personal activity. Our family would thoroughly recommend a visit here, your entry fee is put to really good use and you'll leave with a warm glow.
Thank you Steve and Vicki for a wonderful visit.

Visited August 2012
2 Thank Paul_Laura_Hine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sibu Sanctuary - An amazing adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Set in the sleepy Tico village of Santa Marta, Sibu Sanctuary is 50acres of Costa Rican Jungle and tropical gardens. As you pass through the monkey themed gates you will get a sense of something special going on. The first person you meet will be Steve Coan, one of the two owners (and tireless workers!). He takes you along the trail explaining the history of the sanctuary and how the whole project began. With a wide knowledge of the area, the wildlife and some ‘hilarious’ jokes, Steve makes you feel at ease and you will get a sense of the true wilderness of Costa Rica and the wonder of it.

After this first part of the tour, you will be taken to the sanctuary house where you will meet Vicky Coan, the other owner. No doubt Vicky will have some drinks ready for you and even more trivia on local wildlife and fill you in all the day to day in and outs of running a wildlife sanctuary. You will be made feel right at home as you watch two short movies outlining the issues of conservation in Costa Rica.

Then the real magic begins the animals! A trip to the enclosure is something to be savoured. Pisotes, squirrels, racoons and of course, the monkeys! You will learn that every animal has their own personality, likes and dislikes and habits. An amazing experience!

After a visit to Sibu Sanctuary you will realise the issues with conservation in Costa Rica, and the world in general, but also how two extremely hard working and dedicated people can make such a difference. They have worked endlessly and re-released countless animals to the wild with the step down release programme and have lobbied and worked with the Costa Rican government to try and cut the current problems facing the wildlife there, mainly the un-insulated power lines.

As someone who had the extremely good fortune to live and volunteer there for two months, take my advice and take a break from surfing or zip lines and everything else and take a trip to see Sibu. It will be something you will never forget and a great opportunity to see things most people would never see in their lives. All money paid for visits goes straight back into the sanctuary so it’s for a good cause.

Visited July 2012
1 Thank Steamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day at Sibu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

If you care about Costa Rica's wildlife and enjoy a tour "off the beaten track", come to visit the Sibu Sanctuary. Just the premises alone are breathtaking and showcase the beautiful Costa Rican forest and landscape. Steve and Vicky will give you an amazing tour full of details about the premises, nature and the animals. The best part is the tour of the actual Sanctuary, though. You will meet Tobi, Ben and Jerry and all the other orphans who were rescued and rehabilitated by Steve and Vicky. All of these animals were traumatized by their experience with unprotected electrical power lines and the accounts of their circumstances deeply saddened me. It is heartwarming to see how everybody at Sibu cares for the animals and the mutual love can be felt when you join in and let yourself be greeted, touched, cuddled, nibbled at and sometimes peed on by these gentle creatures. ;-) I loved every moment of the physical interaction with these animals and was very impressed with the actual sanctuary "amenities". So much so that I am now trying to find some sponsors to support Steve and Vicky's great work! Although the tour is supposed to last between 1.5 and 2 hours, we stayed for more than 3, which shows the dedication of the Sibu team. Enjoy the tour and give generously! Thanks again guys for a wonderful experience, I will be back in December!

Visited August 2012
1 Thank PuraVida100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Incredible Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Experience first hand the heartbreaking, selfless and passionate work that Steve and Vicki Coan have committed themselves to. Upon entering the gates of the rescue, you have no idea you are about to have a life changing experience. If you love animals and/or still have a little bit of hope for mankind.... arrange a visit and give a donation. I promise after your visit you will be thinking of ways of how to drop everything, pack up and move to Nosara. Or at least start with donating, or contacting anyone with the means or funds to donate to a fantastic non profit cause. Do it because you are a lover of the animal kingdom, or you just need to see that love and selflessness still does exist in mankind. They do not get government funding and rely solely on donations. If you do one thing in Nosara, make sure you visit Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary.

Visited July 2012
Thank ceangle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We emailed to arrange a visit after reading about the rescue here on trip advisor. Vicki and Steve were quick in getting back to us and were able to fit us in even with short notice! The rescue was such an experience.....the work and passion these two have put into saving wildlife is truly commendable. And getting to see and hold the monkeys up close? This was indeed a once in a lifetime experience. Like so many others have said...this was also the highlight of our trip!

Visited August 2012
Thank allisonwear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
El Guapote, Tamarindo

Been to Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing