We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best View of our Trip, Best Meal of our Trip, One of the best Hikes of our Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Nosara
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best View of our Trip, Best Meal of our Trip, One of the best Hikes of our Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

What a great place. Okay, just to be clear, getting to Nosara in the rainy season sucks, don't go unless you have a 4wd with high clearance and some solid driving skills. Once you get to the Lagarta, your efforts will be rewarded! The owners are just absolutely wonderful people with great recommendations as to what to do and where to go in the area (although I would drive to the beach instead of walking down), thank you Regina! The view from the lodge is unsurpassed, you look at the waves crashing onto the beach, a crocodile-infested river, and monkeys in the jungle from your perch hundereds of feet above. If you stay, definately take the early morning guided hike that they offer, it was probably the most informative hike we took, we saw lots of wildlife. Gabriella the guide also makes some nice jewellry that she sells at the lodge.
The very best dinner we had in CR was here, the fish was caught that day and served incredibly well. The sides were wonderfully prepared as well. The breakfasts were also wonderful, with at least 4 different types of freshly baked bread each day.
Our room was a nice size for a family of 4, with two twin beds for the kids, and plenty of elbow room.
One thing I'd recommend is bug spray, if you're in CR in the rainy season, you'll need it, and there were a lot of no-see-ums while we were at the Lagarta. It is best to put your room fan on high and close the windows to keep them out. Also with the windows closed the howler monkey alarm clock at 5:30 a.m. is not so loud!
Also, you can't really walk into town from the lodge, but it is close enough that driving back on the horrible road at night is bearable.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    24
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
78
114
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

They own a private nature reserve. What else needs to be said?! You've essentially got wildlife on tap.

But that's clearly not all. They must have one of the best views from a restaurant and bar in the whole of Costa Rica. You look down on acres of rainforest, the end of two big rivers, the river mouth and the ocean. It's breathtaking. And the view from in front of the rooms is much the same (except we had the added bonus of a 5 foot iguana every morning catching his morning rays).

The service was very friendly (although, being Swiss, the owners couldn't help themselves from paying slightly more attention to their Swiss guests! Bless 'em!), the rooms were very clean and the location is fabulous.

As per the other reviews, my sole complaint would be the horrendous choice of bedding for the rooms. Really clean, but the sheets in our room were mustard yellow and very antiquated looking - not nice!

The cocktails were really good (the terrace bar is perfect for watching the spectacular sunset) and the restaurant is excellent. The best steaks ever.

All in all, what with the great little forest reserve, lovely setting and friendly service, there is precious little to fault at the Lagarta Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbrammah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

This lodge is in a stunning spot at Nosara - a bluff with two rivers below and an amazing view to unreachable black sand beaches. The entry, dining room and Sunset Bar take your breath away. There is a really nice swimming pool to cool off in after hiking in their reserve or down and back up from the beach. The roads are horrid in Norsara but getting around by foot is exceptionally difficult! The rooms show their age and there is a little bit of a musty smell in the bathroom but they all have decks or porches that face the incredible view. Definitely a place worth staying for a night or two for it's outstanding location.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MexicoLover100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

I don't have too much to add that hasn't been said here. We loved that the Lagarta Lodge was small and intimate. It was absolutely fine for children as well.

I don't know how the owners manage to have the time/energy/patience to be so friendly and helpful. We were greeted warmly and they were always available for our questions.

We enjoyed the nature hike and the German guide was very friendly. Unfortunately as it is the rainy season we didn't see any wildlife and probably could have done the self-guided tour to see the reserve. Nonetheless, it wasn't too expensive and she was very informative.

As others have said, the rooms are quite basic. I think that an upgrade of mattresses and linens would go a long way. The shower was great though, good pressure and sunken which was neat. The room did not take away from the enjoyment of this place at all.

And I agree with the others, the food was very good. They had warm fresh breads in the morning and with dinner. The prices were a little high for Costa Rican standards but very affordable compared to some other hotels that cater to tourists. The only thing we didn't care for at all were the rice dishes, we tried seafood rice and chicken and rice and they were very, very salty and just not to our liking.

In summary, it was clear to us that the owners really cared about their hotel and customers. The grounds are natural and beautiful and the place is very intimate. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momto2girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2009

Perfect view on a secluded beach, access to beach needs 15 minutes of walking as the lodge is situated on a hill, very good food, friendly people, very big, clean rooms with a balcony or a terasse. During dry season I would not go there again as it is very dusty. All the plants on the roadside are covered with dust so that the landscape sometimes is not so nice. I assume in rainseason the surroundings are much better.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Putzteufel_SOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2009

Very romatic little 6 bedroom hotel. Great hosts and even greater views. A 7 minute walk to a beautiful almost desserted beach. Wonderful pool and grounds and incredible food. There are not words to descibe the sunsets there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantstptravln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

The views are simply stunning from Lagarta Lodge and all the photographs in the world canot prepare you for the amazing location.

We had breakfast watching the Howler monkeys sit in the trees as the lodge has a telescope for guests to use to see them more closely, there are a couple of Iguanas that sunbathe in the tree that was outside our bedroom and the nature walk from the bottom of the lodge is a must! If you love animals and wildlife this is definitely a place to be.

The rooms are fairly basic with no air conditioning, but with ceiling fans which did the trick in the heat of the night. The views more than make up for this and the feel of the hotel is one which is very "eco" as is the ethos of the owners. The pool is a good size when you consider there are only 6 guest rooms and is a lovely quiet spot to relax in where the sun and shade share the pool side.

The food was very good and should be tried, along with cocktails taken on the sunset terrace (if you can handle the mosquitos). We tended to sit at the corner of the restaurant as Regina (one of the owners) burned citronella to try to keep the mozzies at bay under each of the restaurant tables. The restaurant is very popular with people from the town coming up to eat and to have drinks on the terrace but well worth the experience as watching the sun go down there is just lovely.

Regina and Amadeo (the owners) were a lovely couple and helped us in lots of ways, including lending us a torch to see an armadillo which had ventured up to the lodge through the bushes. We did have a rather bad shock after using the telephone as each one of our calls (3 of which were 10 second calls) cost us £30 per call (around $45). Regina was very distressed about this as this is not the way this hotel would like to be viewed and helped us get some of our money back. I believe there has been a sign put on the phone (or it may even have been removed) but be warned, don't use the credit card phone.

Despite this, I would heartily recommend the Lagarta Lodge as a lovely place to stay in Nosara.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyMuslington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
2.1 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
2.0 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#6 of 23 in Nosara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.4 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#3 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#11 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harmony Hotel Nosara
Harmony Hotel Nosara
#5 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.2 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#8 of 23 in Nosara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge

Property: Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
Address: Apdo 106-5233, Nosara 50206, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Lagarta Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find rest and relaxation at our recently remodeled unique hotel amidst pristine nature. At Lagarta Lodge we reopened the doors as a fully remodeled hotel with twenty-six junior suites last December 2016. It is considered as a favorite Costa Rican hotel with breathtaking views onto the Pacific Ocean where our guests can enjoy the unique ambience surrounded by verdant subtropical vegetation and within reach of the ocean. Give yourself the opportunity to explore the hotel-owned nature reserve Reserva Biológica - or you can choose to relax in our spa or delight the magnificent views from our pools. For a relaxing vacation, Lagarta Lodge in Nosara is the ideal boutique hotel in Costa Rica as other options include practicing yoga, treating yourself to a massage or other special treatment in a naturally restorative setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing