We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Sunset Shack(Nosara)(Great Value!)
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort(Nosara)(Great Value!)
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$300
$281
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$448
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teak Pacific Hotel(Nosara)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jungles Edge(Nosara)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Living Hotel(Nosara)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveler rating
342
43
12
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
43
12
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe reservenature preservehowler monkeysbreakfast buffetwelcome cocktailcosta ricabird watchingstandard roomflora and faunafour wheel drivenosara riverbeautiful hotelthe hotel managerostional beachplaya peladaamazing views of the oceanrainy season
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 404 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The day starts with a big breakfast buffet including the typical local "Gallo Pinto", Swiss home made bread and good selection of seasonal fruits which was excellent.
The location and view is the best in Nosara, close to nature and a short drive to the beaches.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLauchenauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This lovely hotel is up a hill on Playa Pelada (a quieter beach than the bustling surfer hangout in "hippy" Nosara, a 10-minute car ride away). The food is fine (nothing special), but the views are beyond lovely, and the hotel owners take care of a 100+ acre reserve that is just magical (quiet, tho in Dec., we didn't see many animals, save a number of birds and lizards). One of the co-owners, Amadeo, is especially helpful.

Room Tip: I don't think there would be a bad room (all have a view of the valley beyond the hotel).
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We just got back from a 17 day stay at Lagarta Lodge, and will join the other previous guests by raving about our experience there. Our hosts, Regina and Amadeo, have embraced the Pura Vida goodness of Costa Rica in a big way. To run something like Lagarta Lodge in Costa Rica, especially in such a remote location, would be daunting at best - yet they make the impossible seem almost effortless. Their warm smiles and friendliness never faltered, no matter how busy they were. This is by far the best value in the area for lodging. Our standard room was huge, had an incredible view, was kept spotless by daily housekeeping services. We felt comfortable at all times and with the provided safe to store our iPad, phones, passports and money, we had extra piece of mind. We did not have AC, and did not miss it at all, the fan and mountain breezes were perfect for staying cool in the Costa Rican heat.The area is breathtakingly beautiful and Lagarta Lodge provides easy access to river trips, horseback and ATV tours and nature hikes. The Lodge is located away from the more crowded Guiones area, but you can drive to Guiones, Playa Pelada, Garza, Ostional and Samara quite easily and be home for a siesta or dinner in no time. The restaurant is very handy when you don't feel like driving the bumpy roads down to Guiones, and the food is great. The breakfast buffet is terrific, with healthy selections of fruit and cereals and cooked food every day. Costa Rican coffee is served at 6 AM, can't beat it. The sunset bar attracts visitors from all over the area, as the view of the River Nosara and the Nosara Coast is magnificent. We initially thought we might have been hasty in booking just one place for our entire Costa Rican vacation, no matter how great the price was (and it is incredible) - but now I feel it was a lucky decision - we had so much fun in Nosara and having this wonderful place to come home to after a day of surfing, SUP paddling, yoga, horseback riding, turtle watching and dining out was a blessing. The road up to the Lodge is best done in a four wheel drive, as is most of Nosara - so take that into account when renting your vehicle. We had no trouble finding the place, there are good signs all the way up. Highest praises to Lagarta Lodge, we would definitely return and we highly recommend it to anyone looking for the best bang for your Nosara vacation buck or just as the best place to get away from it all in Nosara. The staff is terrific as well, all Costa Ricans, all wonderful. They keep the grounds and pool looking beautiful every day. Your hosts speak multiple languages fluently, so no matter where you are from, you will feel at home here. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: We had room number 1 - upstairs, great view, no AC and none needed. This is a less expensive room, but you would never know it. Massive space with high ceilings, killer view, large balcony - heaven.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmanblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

What a great place if I had more time I would have stayed longer. I've visited CR many times over tha past 20 years, but this is my first time to Nosara. I wish I would have come here sooner, I probably would have built my vacation home, but that's another discussion.

I've been wanting to come to Nosara because of it's proximity to Osteonal, a must see for turtle watcing in CR. After reviewing a number hotels on Tripadvisor and others I chose to go with Lagarta Lodge for its location, quiet and amenities. I made the right decision.

Upon arrival, we were met by the owners, Regina and Amadeo, who exude hospitality. Amadeo spent about 15 minutes with us going over the hotel, the nature preserve they created and maintain, the views, and environs (don't swim in the river - there are crocodiles). The view from their restaurant is spectacular. I can only imagine the sunset view from their bar since we only had one night there, and I wanted to spend that turtle watching.

Regina was very kind to call Osteonal and arrange for an English speaking guide for us. She recommended the best time to leave for the best possible encounter at no additional cost. There was another couple staying there who did not have car, and Regina broke the ice and asked if we might have some room in our car to take them with us. We happily agreed and made some great new friends that evening.

The amenities were as claimed, and maybe even better. The place is immaculately clean. I have a vacation home in CR and know how difficult it is to keep clean and in working condition. Kudos to Regina and Amadeo for keeping this place in as good a shape as it is. We stayed in an air conditioned room which was very large and comfortable. The views from the room were spectacular with iguanas lounging on the trees not far out of reach. There are great rocking chairs on the balcony where you can relax and read a book or enjoy the view.

Loved this place!

Room Tip: Definitely go with the air conditioned room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margaret I l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We have been visiting Costa Rica for almost 20 years, but had never had the opportunity to visit the Nosara and Ostional areas before. This trip we took a couple of days from working on our own vacation home to drive to see turtles nesting on Ostional beach, and based on previous reviews we decided to stay at the Largarta Lodge.

We were NOT disappointed. The entire property - restaurant, rooms, pool, decks, driveways - every bit is assiduously maintained and beautifully kept. The owners were AMAZINGLY helpful in arranging the Ostional tour and any other activities that we might have wanted to participate in, such as the awesome massages we had in town. The two meals we had at the restaurant were great, kids found plenty to their liking and the beer was cold.

All of this of course topped of by a breathtaking view of the beach and nature preserve directly below the hotel, offering a great view of flora and fauna (as long as you don't wander into the croc-laden river). An early morning stroll to the shore allowed us to watch teams of fishermen capturing bait in tide pools and using it to catch the sea bass thick in the waters just offshore.

All in all an amazing property that I can't recommend enough. Thanks to the staff for a great family adventure!

Room Tip: We liked the rooms on high floors. Make sure to ask for A/C if you don't like the humidity in the green season!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikey_and_Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews