We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura Vida at Lagarta Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pura Vida at Lagarta Lodge”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We visit Costa Rica yearly.mWe had not been to the Guanacaste Region and we weren't sure where to stay! We chose Lagarta Lodge based on Trip Advisor recommendations and the fact that it was not an American resort. We had the superior room which was simple, spacious, and had an excellent view of the jungle, river and ocean. The food was very good, the best Flan I have ever had!! The owners are very gracious and always available. We had at least 20 Howler Monkeys pass our balcony "monkey highway" according to the owners. It was awesome as the babies were attached to the females who was trying to get them to detach and be independent. There is no TV butt they offer Wifi which is free. Air conditioning is optional. We also attended the Spanish a Institute which is close by. I recommend having your own vehicle. Lagarta is a very clean lodge and they do participate in sustainable tourism! Another great stay in Costa Rica!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 8 or 9, top floor , best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    29
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
93
134
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Ok... there is good and bad news...

Let's start with the room.

Unless you are with your husband the bathroom has a lack on intimacy since it<s a open space {yes toilet has a door}. The beds are too soft... without A\C it<s humid in the room

restaurant
Breakfast is good and so the coffee!!!
the rest is descent but for the price paid they could do better... For example: seafood are overcook!
Fish didn't smell fresh and portion is really small for the price.
Ceviche way to expensive and seafood soup is really good.

Room Tip: Ask for the new room, they have a nicer view and new beds....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lapequenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina A, Owner at Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest
Thanks for your visit at Lagarta Lodge at the end of the rainy season, which was indeed rainy, with all its side effects. This is the reason why you just paid $ 55 plus taxes per room and night. There are rooms with A/C for an additional cost available, if you like to avoid humidity completely.
On our website one can see the details of each room category. There are options for room changes, if the guest is not satisfied – in your case you even extended your stay in the same room. Thanks again for staying longer at our place.
Our restaurant buys the fish directly from local fishermen – it couldn’t be fresher then it takes only 15 Minutes from the water to the kitchen. If someone is not satisfied with the cooking style, there are possibilities to react – especially when the owner’s are always around and are attending the guests personally – don’t forget the nice conversations we had – please tell us next time if you feel uncomfortable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The best hotel on our trip in Costa Rica. We had booked Standard room, but we got Superior. We were lucky.
The room was spacious and clean. Beautiful view from terrace to ocean.
Interesting bathroom - Nontraditional view of the ocean when you are in the shower.
Wifi on the room. Breakfast was traditional and very tasty.
The part of the hotel is Natural Reserve with trails. Many animals and plants. Staff was nice.
Owners were very nice, caring and allways helpful.
Bad roads in and around Nosara - worse access to shop due to unpaved roads.
Worse access to beach, but beach nice and clean.
We were very satisfied. This is a place we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman_Dita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We (2 families, 4 adults, 4 children) have spent three nights at Lagarta Lodge, because we wanted to be close to Ostional to watch the Turtle arribada. We were very satisfied. The lodge is situated on a hill overlooking the Lagarta-river, the nature reserve and the pristine beaches of the region. There was always a breeze on the terrace, where we enjoyed a very generous and varied breakfast and delicious dinners. The beaches are not too far away, but your own transport is recommended. The managers are devoted, generous, multi-lingual, professional, quality-oriented, environment conscious, innovative, personal, in short: they are SWISS and they let you feel welcome no matter where you come from or how long you can stay. They are participating in a programme for sustainable tourism, controlled and certified by the Costa Rican government. There is a direct access to the private nature reserve on the grounds - with a little luck you can spot monkeys, squirrels and a huge variety of birds.
Rooms are very spacious, super clean and comfortable. No TV, so plenty of time to sleep, relax, meditate, read and listen to the birds, waves and wind.

Room Tip: superior rooms have A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolaSanJos_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We've visited Lagarta Lodge a few times before and will no doubt visit again.
There is no prettier view that we have seen anywhere in Costa Rica.
The owners are very helpful in recommending activities in the surrounding area.
They helped us arrange a private boat tour on two rivers as wall as an early morning visit to a neighboring area to watch the sea turtles come ashore to lay their eggs.
The food there is super and they have some REALLY nice, new rooms since we were there last.
Suites #8&9 have probably the best views.
The road to Nosara have improved some since our last visit but still have some rough spots. When you get to the lodge you'll forget and forgive the roads. It is a beautiful spot that we recommend highly.

Room Tip: Check out suites 8 or 9 for a SUPER view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandL830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you are a nature lover, this is your place. That most amazing botanical gardens at your footsteps. We had monkeys at our balconies and spotted the white faced monkey just up the tree. The restaurant and service are second to none. This is were all the locals come for happy hour, now I know why. Breathtaking views, unlike anything you have ever seen. Just wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: They have a new building with updated rooms that are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agentlemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lagarta Lodge is on a great location to begin with. The sunset views from their sunset bar, or from any of their balconies are one of my best memories. The rooms are clean, comfortable and very affordable. The staff was always smiling and providing great service. The couple that owns it make sure you have everything you need, they make you feel at home and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The food is delicious and the fact that is right next to the river biological reserve is a great plus! But once again, the best thing about this hotel is their service.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view overlooking the river and the ocean are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmurriet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
2.1 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
2.0 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#2 of 22 in Nosara
98 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#7 of 22 in Nosara
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Harmony Hotel
The Harmony Hotel
#5 of 22 in Nosara
386 reviews
1.1 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#9 of 22 in Nosara
145 reviews
1.4 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#18 of 22 in Nosara
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge

Property: Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
Address: Apdo 106-5233, Nosara 50206, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Lagarta Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find rest and relaxation at our recently remodeled unique hotel amidst pristine nature. At Lagarta Lodge we reopened the doors as a fully remodeled hotel with twenty-six junior suites last December 2016. It is considered as a favorite Costa Rican hotel with breathtaking views onto the Pacific Ocean where our guests can enjoy the unique ambience surrounded by verdant subtropical vegetation and within reach of the ocean. Give yourself the opportunity to explore the hotel-owned nature reserve Reserva Biológica - or you can choose to relax in our spa or delight the magnificent views from our pools. For a relaxing vacation, Lagarta Lodge in Nosara is the ideal boutique hotel in Costa Rica as other options include practicing yoga, treating yourself to a massage or other special treatment in a naturally restorative setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing