We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, wonderful hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Nosara
eastbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best location, wonderful hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

WOW! Probably one of the best coastal views in Costa Rica from Lagarta Lodge, AND really friendly owners who were just so helpful and caring. Thank you Amadeo and Regina. This place is well worth driving to! (The journey here can be a little rough, but this is Costa Rica!).
We were in two of the new superior rooms, and what great rooms they are even though not finally decorated with pictures or bedside lamps, but the view just takes this out of any equation! The balcony is amazing, room size great. We sat and watched a whole family of monkeys pass our room every morning.
The hotel grounds are all lovely, pool clean and sheltered by large plants, breakfast is just great in the open air restaurant with the view, sunset terrace great, lounging area great. This is a bit of paradise, honestly.
I can not praise this hotel any more, just get booked in and expereince it for yourself.
Car is essential really as you are away from the main area of Nosara, but then Nosara is SO spread out, the main area is a little strange anyway.
Again, thank you Regina and Amadeo, you looked after us so well, it's a real shame we were not so well some of our time with you (Nothing to do with this hotel). We would definately stay again if we come back to CR.

Room Tip: Beautiful location, quite stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamsterramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    24
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
78
114
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, Ca
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

The rooms were simple, clean and spacious with refreshing a/c. Our hostess, Regina, was wonderful and she checked on us frequently to address any questions or make suggestions. The restaurant overlooks two rivers that meet the ocean and the biological reserve. The view is burned into my memory and I continue to revisit it often.

We hiked down to the reserve and were delighted with multiple families of howler monkey's. The boat tour in the early morning with Leroy was really enjoyable as he was quite knowledgable about the local animals. Well worth the $35 pp and leaves at 6:30am.

The pool was nice to lounge around in after a spectacular lunch and delicious pina colada's. Food and drinks at this lodge were the best we had while on vacation and we had visited Belize and Guatemala before various stops in Costa Rica. The prices were very fair and the food was abundant.

I absolutely loved this mountain lodge and can't wait to return. One other item worth mentioning.....the breakfast was amazing! Tons of fruit, fresh juice, yogurt and made to order pancakes or eggs and bacon....yum!

Room Tip: room 10 & 11 have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

We are 60+, retired and travelling a lot. And we really enjouyed our stay at the Lagarta Lodge. The owners and theyr staff are friendly and service oriented, the food is excellent and the rooms are very nicy and perfectly clean. We just wanted to stay three days, but we extended our stay for another two days and enjoyed every minute. We will also remember the beautiful sunsets and the Pina Coladas ...

The Lagarta Lodge is perfect for natur lovers but also for relaxing. It's an ideal getaway from "normal life"!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugenwilhelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

Lagarta Lodge is a beautiful biological reserve with the most amazing view of the ocean, two converging rivers and rolling hills. The breeze is always blowing on the restaurant terrace and the sunset view is unforgetable. Hosts Regina and Amadeo take good care of their guests with their immaculately kept grounds and rooms, delicous food, local tours, and abundant wildlife and flowering plants. We were greeted by a family of howler monkeys upon our arrival, bananas grew at our door, an iguana lived in a tree near our balcony, and hummingbirds darted to and fro as we ate in the open air restaurant, and a large variety of birds lived along the rivers edge. The beach was a 20 minute walk along a little traveled road, but gave a taste of the local life, and was well worth it. The beach at low tide was a quiet gem teaming with hermit crabs scurrying about. Thank you to all the staff at Lagarta for a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristabc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

this place is just paradise ! i do not even know where to begin !! the location is breathtakingly beautiful !! the hosts regina, amadeo + their staff are just wonderful, always trying to make all your wishes possible. the breakfast + dinners there are super! delicious !! to watch the sunsets there is a special treat, as well as being in a nature preserve. we were staying in a deluxe room, which was very spacious with a beautiful balcony overlooking the preserve. since the streets in nosara are not paved and everything is a bit spread out, it is helpful if not necessary to have a car there, get prepared for the dust!! but then coming up to lagarta feels even more like a tranquil paradise !! thank you so much regina + amadeo for making this place so special + wonderful !!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anfia112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

Lagarta Lodge (http://www.lagarta.com/) is such a beautiful place with stunning views and quiet seclusion, beautiful rooms and they have their own biological reserve. On arrival Regina welcomed us with a glass of wine (or whatever you fancy), which was a lovely touch. The restaurant was fabulous, and the Lodge was visited by many beautiful birds including the camera-shy hummingbirds, and squirrels. Oh, and the Lagarta tree/flower is awesomely gorgeous! We decided to stay here following recommendations from various forums together with the fact that they are close to Ostional Beach for us to see the Olive Ridley turtle arribada. We planned our Nosara visit around the most likely moon cycle for the arribada, and although of course there was every chance the turtles may not turn up for nesting, we were very lucky as they began coming in the first night we arrived. On Regina’s advice we went to visit Ostional early in the morning rather than at night, as there should be no torches, nor flash used on cameras, so the natural light of dawn made for a better experience than night-time viewing. We were blown away to see so many thousands of turtles on the beach and yet more coming in on the tide – we have great video of a sea of Olive Ridley heads popping up in the ocean as they swam towards the shore. We’re animal lovers so for us this was just an amazing and special experience.

We believe Lagarta Lodge deserves special mention because of their amazing help in tracing our lost bags. We flew Taca from Miami to San Jose, and for the first 3 days our baggage was ‘lost’ – if it weren’t for the efforts of the lovely Regina & Amadeo of Lagarta Lodge, we’re quite sure we’d never have seen our bags again. Additionally Regina kindly loaned us shoes, coats, and other necessities which of course we were left without.

Thanks again Regina and Amadeo for your kindness :-)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellingtonTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

This hotel offers everything you need for a couple of relaxing days. The guets service is absolutely excellent! Welcome drinks, friendly and helpful stuff, owners, who appreciate all their clients and help with special wishes, problems or whtever you might need.

The hotel itself is cute with different platform-areas for dinig, having a drink or just relaxing. Furthermore it offers an astonishing view over ocean, forest and river with a great variety of animals.
The rooms are equipped with everything you need, the pool is sufficient and the breakfast buffet is simply delicious!
In any other place you would pay at least twice as much for this kind of service!

I recommend Lagarta Lodge highly to everyone!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabiankoehli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
2.1 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
2.0 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#6 of 23 in Nosara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.4 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#3 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#11 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harmony Hotel Nosara
Harmony Hotel Nosara
#5 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.2 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#8 of 23 in Nosara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge

Property: Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
Address: Apdo 106-5233, Nosara 50206, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Lagarta Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find rest and relaxation at our recently remodeled unique hotel amidst pristine nature. At Lagarta Lodge we reopened the doors as a fully remodeled hotel with twenty-six junior suites last December 2016. It is considered as a favorite Costa Rican hotel with breathtaking views onto the Pacific Ocean where our guests can enjoy the unique ambience surrounded by verdant subtropical vegetation and within reach of the ocean. Give yourself the opportunity to explore the hotel-owned nature reserve Reserva Biológica - or you can choose to relax in our spa or delight the magnificent views from our pools. For a relaxing vacation, Lagarta Lodge in Nosara is the ideal boutique hotel in Costa Rica as other options include practicing yoga, treating yourself to a massage or other special treatment in a naturally restorative setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing