We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A life changing experience!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Costa Rica Yoga Spa
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A life changing experience!!!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time at the Costa Rica Yoga Spa! Such a beautiful place with an amazing energy. The staff was extremely hospitable and the food was out of this world. Add to that surf lessons, watching the sea turtles lay their eggs on the beach, hiking in the jungle, hanging out in the pool, yoga at the rancho overlooking an amazing sunset and making new friends. We had a wonderful time and it was so hard to leave this paradise. I would recommend it to anyone and I cannot wait to return. Advice : Wear lots of sunblock!!!

Room Tip: If you're wanting to save money or traveling with a group I recommend sharing a quad which sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane D, Manager at Costa Rica Yoga Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
We are very happy to hear you guys had a wonderful time here. Our food is always loved and mentioned when people either write their reviews or think back on their time with us; it's great to continue seeing that happen. Our activities list, like our spa treatment list, is very extensive and consists of a multitude of options that will fit your needs and or desires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
27
97
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nosara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

It is always a treat to spend time at the Costa Rica Yoga Spa, yet I have to stay this last visit was spectacular in so many ways. The food has gotten even better and is all organic, the staff so kind and helpful, and the new yoga/dance deck feels like butter under my feet. If you are looking for a sweet quiet spot to stay for a few nights or a place to hold a retreat The Costa Rica Yoga Spa is the spot!

Room Tip: The Suite closest to the rancho is my favorite room in Nosara!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane D, Manager at Costa Rica Yoga Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thanks for writing this response, we can't wait to have you back again. Our food is indeed entirely organic and is so incredibly good for you, you feel the difference almost immediately. We completed our new floor in our Yoga pavilion commonly known as the Yoga Rancho as it is now better than ever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I'm so happy to have experienced CRYS. The environment is beautiful and magical, the food is amazing, every meal is different and made from scratch, and the people, the entire staff, are amazing and loving...I can't wait to go back! Darin, Jill, Benito, Ashley, Sarah, Disha and also all the amazing guests I met really made my time there so special!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbppbp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane D, Manager at Costa Rica Yoga Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
It was so great having you here, we hope to see you again soon! We take great pride in the beautiful portion of pure nature in which we are located. Everything natural you experience here, including all of the meals, establishes a very grounding and blissful sense as you connect with nature. We always enjoy hearing the endless compliments about our staff and the memories we create for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

While not being the most avid yoga participant, I have to say my experience at the Costa Rica Yoga Spa was absolutely surreal in a good way. The whole vibe of the place is so relaxing that it will make you completely forget the hustle and bustle of everyday life. I cannot tell you how refreshing it was not to have a television around. I resided in the Harmony room which I feel was quite appropriate in retrospect. Very nice decor of aqua hue mixed with local darkwoods. Striking.

Lying in bed at night only hearing the sounds of the jungle and watching the lightning show, it is truly an awesome experience. Waking up in the morning and making my way to the back deck, I was greeted by mom and baby monkey enjoying a papaya snack. This overlooks the most beautiful and picturesque valley all the way out to the sea. After a morning stretch, it was time for breakfast which was vegetarian and every day was something new. I am a bit of a meat and potatoes kind of guy, but I have to say my energy level was higher as the trip went on (and I lost a couple lbs!). All of the meals were very interesting and tasty too. From there, it was off to the beach. Awesome, CLEAN white sand beaches made of broken shells but don't take any with you! :) We had some good surfing experiences, very nice people and just a beautiful all around place. Local transportation fascinating with families of 3 zooming by on motorcycles alongside buses on interesting roads. Never a dull moment.

The staff was great, the accommodations made me feel like I was at an upscale hotel, very clean. There are so many things to see and do, I felt like I barely scratched the surface in the few days that I was there. I will definitely be making this an annual trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane D, Manager at Costa Rica Yoga Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We are definitely well known as an amazing "getaway" where you can escape everything from stress to traffic and any of your day to day toils. Each of our rooms is extensively designed around a large central painting to create very individualized themes. The balcony of this room and the other suites open up to an absolutely awe inspiring view of the jungle canopy below and the glistening Pacific Ocean.

We are very proud of everything here, from our staff to our beaches and are so happy to hear that all of our guests have been as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Costa Rica Yoga Spa was the most best and positive experience I have ever had.
My life has changed. I am now so happy and excited to live life. The staff was so caring, positive and supportive. I felt like they were family!
The rooms are so beautifully decorated and very welcoming.
Everyday since I have left I wake up with a smile and have so much patience with everyday life.
Thank you so much for creating a piece of LOVE.
Can't wait to go again!! Thanks again so much for everything.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane D, Manager at Costa Rica Yoga Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for the response! Our staff as an entity is indeed very "caring, positive, and supportive." We have established ourselves as a "family" here and always love welcoming others when they come stay with us. We enjoy this because it consistently creates a wonderful sense of unity amongst all the guests and staff members with ease. Come see for yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

A couple of months ago I visited this amazing place. I was in San Ramon just finishing two back to back retreat that I was hosting and when it finished I decided to take Darin up on his invitation to come visit his place; the Costa Rica Yoga Spa.

I grabbed my girlfriend and my son and we started driving from La Fortuna. We thought by the map that it would only be a couple hours…we were wrong. Due to our lack of preplanning we ended up getting to Nosara at 11pm at night. We didn’t know where the place was and at night Nosara as Darin put it “is a Labyrinth” so we ended up staying at the first place we found. The next day we arrived at Costa Rica Yoga Spa. We were very tired from the ride and from working so hard the weeks prior and we needed a place to reconnect to ourselves and reenergize. I can not express in words how incredible this place was, energetically and aesthetically. Soo sooo Much Love has been poured into this place and it created a space for us to relax and rejuvenate in a very deep way.

We were greeted with warm hugs. We were shown to our room which was very comfortable and clean, very well designed with a balcony just over the pool with an amazing view of the valley and ocean. We were supplied with fresh drinking water with citrus and herbs. We were introduced to the kitchen team which included a wonderful woman named Disha who is very passionate and educated about super healthy food. Meals were offered throughout the day and every meal we ate was incredible. We ate with everyone from Costa Rica Yoga Spa and the whole team felt like family. We had a chance to connect with many of the “key players” in the operation and contributors to the development of what the center is to become. Which is a next level wellness center. Although it already is. It’s hard to imagine that it can get even better….but the Grand vision is impressive.

Darin is like a contemporary Shaman. He is a true and honest man and visionary. He treats his team like family and he is operating his center from a place of compassion and love and this is so obvious once you arrive, see his creation and interact with all the amazing people who come together there to help make your stay wonderful.

Darin’s parents Jill and Ben were incredibly hospitable. My son immediately adopted Jill as his “Cost Rica Grandma” . My friend had a chance to do a Yoga class with Ashley and she said it was one of the most transformational Yoga classes she has ever taken in her life.

Over the four days that we were there all of our interactions with everyone were very delightful. Chris, Sarah, Lane, Erik, Ashley, Paola, and everyone else who was there thanks for making our experience so memorable.

We miss you all.

When we were there we went out on couple outings, saw amazing bands, beaches, turtles laying eggs, hundreds of crabs crossing the road, even the corner store across from the Spa blew our minds. Franklins place was unlike any store I have ever been to.

The whole time we were in the care of the Costa Rica Yoga Spa we kept having one incredible experience after the other. Thank you guys for being your authentic selves and making such a place exist.

If you are looking for a place to heal, rejuvenate or just a super cool place to be. This is it. I highly recommend the Costa Rica Yoga Spa to everyone.

I can hardly wait until I can make it back. Most likely in another couple months at most.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IbogaHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane D, Manager at Costa Rica Yoga Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
We are very thankful for your visit and review. It is always incredibly pleasing to hear how much people can completely unwind, relax, rejuvenate, and replenish their energies. We take great pride in greeting each and every guest with very warm welcomes and cold, all natural, beverages. We love all of our rooms and love to hear that our guests do as well. Disha is indeed our superfood guru as she creates the most amazing, all organic foods including chocolate from all natural cacao. Just come and see some of the incredible things she creates in the kitchen, you would never believe that they are entirely beneficial to your body and health as well! I personally am truly struggling to address this incredible review with a decent response, so, stop reading this and read the review again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Words cannot adequately express my experience at Costa Rica Yoga Spa. The landscape of the lush jungle greenery and views onto the setting sun from the Yoga rancho are breathtaking. I'm not sure that breathtaking is an appropriate word to use for a Yoga retreat center where deep breathing is so encouraged, but the beauty here does take your breath away. Then, there are the people, the food that is cooked by amazing vegan chefs, the sounds of nature, the activities, the Yoga, the rooms, the views, etc. etc. etc. I felt like I was visiting my favorite aunt, uncle and cousin (Jill, Ben and Darin) because of their warm and welcoming personalities. Jill goes out of her way to take care of her guests by making sure we are all very well fed. Then, she chauffeurs everyone around town; to their activities (I went horseback riding and kayaking) to the daily beach outing, to the airport, anywhere you need to go. The staff were lovely and similar to another reviewer, I too, feel like I made friends with several of CRYS' employees.
When I read the reviews of CRYS over a year ago, I was determined to visit Costa Rica and this retreat center. I am so glad I did! The experience, people and time there far exceeded my expectations and I look forward to my next visit at Costa Rica Yoga Spa!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Wisdom room which was very spacious for one person. A perfect room for two girlfrie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JARidle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane D, Manager at Costa Rica Yoga Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Love the title of this review... You can use any words you like! Our location was carefully picked out a long time ago as the owner has lived here for over 25 years. We are situated on a small riviera overlooking the jungle canopy, the diverse coastline and beaches, as well as the seemingly endless Pacific Ocean. As staff and owners we will always be happy to help people do pretty much anything they would like and always have the means to provide rides to and from. Our activity list is rather extensive so you have quite a bit to choose from. We can't wait to see you guys again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
3.4 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
1.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
2.8 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#4 of 22 in Nosara
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#8 of 22 in Nosara
144 reviews
2.7 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#10 of 22 in Nosara
140 reviews
3.5 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#5 of 22 in Nosara
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Yoga Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Yoga Spa

Property: Costa Rica Yoga Spa
Address: 300 meters south of the Rio Montana, Nosara 05233, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nosara
#2 Green Hotel in Nosara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nosara
#6 Family Hotel in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa Rica Yoga Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Costa Rica Yoga Spa , we believe the good life begins with a balance of the mind, body, and spirit. Whether you're looking to find fun and adventure, deepen your practice of yoga, or simply begin your path to renewal and rediscovery, you'll find an abundance of ways to do this and much more. This will occur at our location atop a jungle riviera overlooking awe-inspiring jungle canopy and Pacific Ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Costa Rica Yoga Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Yoga Hotel Nosara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing