We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Del Sol
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge(Nosara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Living Hotel(Nosara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveler rating
32
8
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
8
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshady spotsthe property managercosta ricafive minute walkfull kitchenhanscondopropertiessurf
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 45 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Villa del Sol is on Playa del Coco. There is a hotel called Villa Sol (or something similar) on Playa Hermosa, which is 10 minutes away. Villa del Sol offers a hotel area and also condos for rent, all within a gated community that is within walking distance (10 blocks or so) from the main road and within walking distance (2-3 blocks) from the beach.There is also a pool in the community. We felt very safe here, liked being within walking distance form everything, and loved the seemingly remote accommodations. We only met one woman who worked there, and she was able to answer all of our questions and was very hospitable - "stay tonight, pay tomorrow," I mean, very hospitable. We stayed in a top-floor condo and the bedroom had a glass wall that overlooked the ocean. Gorgeous. What a way to wake up!!! The wildlife at the condo was great, we heard howler monkeys at night and took pictures of a quetzal that must have nested nearby. We would go back here (with or without our kids) and recommend it to others. We had a refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Villa del Sol with our 2 young children and we couldn't have been happier with the accomadations. They were new, nice, and spacious and even have in suite laundry and a dishwasher. The pool is fantastic, the beach is only 2 min away (walking with 2 kids in tow) and the tide pools at low tide are great for swimming with the kids or just looking at all the marine life swimming around. Also waking up to howler monkeys everyday right outside your unit and seeing iguanas chilling is too bad as well!!!

The complex was always clean, as was the pool thanks to Daniel (the caretaker) who was very friendly and accomadating and never stopped working it seemed, and safe (gates close at dusk and 2 guards always there).

I highly recommend the Villa del Sol and we will most definetely be back, hopefully sooner than later!!!!

Room Tip: Upstairs has the 25ft vaulted ceilings, a nice feature, but they are all new and nice
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShooterW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for 1 month with 2 children under the age of 2.5. It is wonderful. So close to beach, great safe pool, fenced, security, paved road, clean, and huge. The condos are not busy and the kitchen has nice, new appliances. Bring your own spices from home to save money as groceries in Costa Rica are not cheap. Will come back to this location for sure. Danielle (caretaker) is super friendly and seems to never stop cleaning and working on the place, helpful as well. Oh yes you need a car to stay in Nosara area, it is very dusty if you don't and much to far to walk. Glad we rented a car, someone told us so passing it on...:)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lifes2shorttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We simply couldn't have asked for more. Stayed here for two weeks with our toddler and loved every moment. Beautiful setting, a short walk to a very quiet beach, and a lovely pool area. Complex was less than half full so very quiet and relaxing. Stayed in a top floor unit which had 25 ft vaulted ceilings. Very spacious. Will definitely recommend to friends and family - just a wonderful place to vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DWD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My friend and I took a surf trip to Nosara. The company we booked through listed Villa del Sol as the accomodations. After a lengthy off-road drive through the jungle, we arrived at Villa del Sol. It was very nicely maintained and the resident caretaker was very friendly. If you needed anything like towels or bedding, even coffee, you just let the caretaker know and he'd get it for you.

We stayed in a spacious downstairs unit with a living room, large kitchen, 2 bedrooms and two bathrooms. It was spacious enough to store our longboards in the livingroom area. The fully equipped kitchen was nice. It allowed us to hit the local mercado and stock up food. the bedding was adequate, there was air conditioning in every room and the showers had hot water. In the middle of the jungle, those were very nice amenities. They also had free wifi to check email and keep in touch with people...or in my case, to rub in the fact that I was surfing for 8 days in Costa Rica while they had to work. Hahaha.

The pool area was very nice and well maintained. There were a couple iguana sized lizards running around and I could hear the Howler Monkeys in the area while I hung out in the pool. It was pretty cool.

It's lke a mini oasis in the middle of the jungle and it's a 5 minute drive to the beach or a 10 minute drive to town. There was only one other group there (a family of 6) and there appeared to be only about ten units total in the entire complex.

The only downfall was that the door jambs to the exterior doors did not have insulated seals on them or door sweeps on the bottoms. Because of this, the small crabs and insects from the creek behind Villa del Sol were found daily on our floor. It's a little startling to see a small crab running across your bedroom floor in the middle of the night, but hey, we were in the jungle and if all I had to deal with was some crabs and a few ants, I was okay with that.

I'd stay here again and recommend others stay here too. It s VERY relaxing. Next time I'm bringing my hammock!

Room Tip: All of the Villas are the same, it just depends if you want an upstairs unit or downstairs unit and how close to the pool you want to be.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews