We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Del Sol & Casa Dos Palmas
Ranked #13 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Nosara
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location for family”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we just spent 6 wonderful nights at Villa Del Sol. We were the only guests in the condos and had a delightful experience. We knew very little about the area. We hired private transportation from Liberia and stopped at a super market in Santa Cruz on the way down to Nosara. The driver dropped us at the beautiful condos and we knew immediately we would need to arrange for a 4x4 vehicle. The location is a bit remote, but we did not feel isolated. Believe everything you read about the roads! They are dusty, bumpy, unmarked, and dark at night. However, we decided that was part of our adventure, so we took it all in stride. There is a full-time caretaker, Daniel, at the condos who is very friendly and helpful, but no one is there to help with arranging tours. We were the only guests, an all female family, and were glad to see a security guard at the gate at night. We never felt uncomfortable or threatened. The gates were closed after dark, which comes earlier than you might expect....around 6:00 p.m. None of us speak Spanish fluently, although one is fluent in Italian, which was somewhat helpful, but really didn't encounter serious language barriers anywhere, anyway.
The condo was large, well equiped, and easily accomodated five females. Two bathrooms and a large kitchen were great. We only cooked about half our meals, but it was nice to have the option. The condo has beautiful wood throughout, including a gorgeous wooden bar top. You should bring your own bath soap, bath items, laundry and dish detergents, however. The pool and cabana are wonderful. Someone in Nosara said it was the most beautiful pool in the entire area! We watched monkeys jumping from tree to tree by the pool while we swam or sipped fruity rum drinks made in the blender in our condo. It was also a great place to catch up on email as wi-fi is available at the condos and at the pool. We made coffee each morning and sat in the cabana watching nature, relaxing, or emailing!
The area has many hidden restaurants that are surprisingly good. We learned quickly to never judge the food quality or expectations by the external appearance! We found great places each evening for dinner. Walking on the beach, which is about five minutes from the condo, was a real treat each morning and evening.
If you go there, you must visit the Logarta Lodge for an evening drink on the sunset terrace. The view is fabulous! We also loved the La Luna for another gorgeous sunset view and delicious dinner. The Pepperoni Pizza restaurant is within walking distance (long walk!) from the condo and has great brick oven baked pizzas as well as fresh fish. Remember to pack and carry a flashlight as the roads are very dark at night.
We moved to the J.W. Marriott for our 7th and last night in Costa Rica. It was also a lovely property, but it is a "compound" and we were restricted to the meals offered at the hotel, which were good but very expensive.
We are pleased and don't have any regrets about our choice of places to stay or visit in Costa Rica. We look forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OKCtraveler682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    8
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was our first trip to Costa Rica, and we will be back next year, along with staying at the Villa Del Sol. We were a bit skeptical when we saw it online thinking too good to be true. But it was all that was pictured and more. Close to everything, spent most of the time in Guiones beach, but the 200 feet you walk to this beach, and watch the sunset disappear behind the rock is amazing! We can't wait to bring our kids back next year. Thank you to Daniel, the great caretaker and Gary and Henry the owners. Great experience, and the condos are spacious with a wonderful pool--Iguanas, Howler monkeys...all right there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

WOW! Stayed at Vila del Sol for 2 weeks and enjoyed all the condo had to offer. Close walking distance to a beautiful beach. Bought fresh fish from the fisherman (house just behind Olga's). Pool perfect, whether for swimming laps or letting our granddaughter play in shallower water. BBQ available if you want to cook at "home". Back covered patio perfect for early morning coffee. Wifi kept us in touch with those at home. Caretaker Daniel was always helpful. A lot of fellow Canadians were staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We returned to Nosara for the third time, we love the area and even though there has been much development (and the roads haven't improved), it has kept its wonderful casually elegant style.
This was our first time to Playa Pelada which is a great fishing, tidal pool swimming beach and an easy walk to Playa Guiones for surfing.
I was nervous but actually like Pelada a great deal.
The house is very comfortable, private and well taken care of, and has been nicely set up. Unlike other houses that we have stayed in in Costa Rica, each room has its own bathroom, there are laundry facilites and a completely private pool.
Daniel the caretaker was very responsive as was Gary who did everything that he could to make for a pleasant stay.
Would highly recommend Casa Dos Palmas !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The villas are fully equipped so that made our stay very pleasant and relaxing. The pool area and its surroundings are incredible, absolute peace; the only perceivable sound is the sound of nature and of course the sound of the howler monkeys that are quite curious. I just love them!
The beach is only two minutes walk and is very private; you can also go to other nearby beaches if you're interested in surfing or if you want to explore, you´ll find lots of beautiful places.
We've really spent a memorable time here and we are so looking forward to coming again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Good: our 2 bedroom unit is lovely; very spacious (plenty of room for our family of five) with modern amenities. The pool is nice and it's a short walk to the beach. The beaches are gorgeous, but the one that's close, playa Pelada, has some dangerous rip tides and is a little scary with small kids. Nosara is beautiful, rustic and unspoiled with a high population of ex-pats.

the Bad: we were led to believe by the owner's website that there was a manager, "Eduardo", on the property to assist with booking tours per http://www.mynosararental.com/planning-your-trip-to-nosara.html -- We haven't been to Nosara before and had been counting on that. There is a guy on site named Daniel who speaks some English, he will help with unit issues, but that's it. Also, the locals who live on the adjacent property have been burning several piles of sticks and leaves several times a day, and the smoke nauseating, makes eyes burn, requires keeping windows shut & makes it impossible to enjoy sitting on the patio.

Also, if you've never been to Nosara before, be aware that you need to rent a car --at least, if you have kids who can't ride the quads that some people use to get around on. If you do rent a quad or scooter, you really need a gas mask as the roads are incredibly dusty. We've been having fun driving around & learning the lay of the land, but hadn't planned to have a car.

The Ugly: speaking of opening windows, you have to have them locked all the time. No breezes while sleeping, as the night we arrived, the ground floor unit next to ours was broken into while the guests were sleeping inside. The thieves cut the screen on the kitchen widow to open the window enough to enter, took all the electronics, cameras, alcohol and tried to take the microwave but it seemed they couldn't get it back through the kitchen window. Though Villa Del Sol is a gated community,the gates are open all day and it seems at night when gates are shut, they'll let anyone in with a wave.

are staying in one of Gary

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hcmartello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2011

The Villa complex was very nice. However, the roads in this part of the country are dirt, rocks, rutted, and steep. It is difficult to get from one place to another over these roads. The Villa is located 10 minutes away from the Playa Guiones Beach, where all the swimming and surfing is. The beach near the Villa is not suitable for swimming, as it is rocky.
The beds were hard; we had to use the sofa cushions to sleep on. The water pressure in our Villa was poor, as was the hot water. We moved after the second night, with no offer of a refund.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwoer1, Owner at Villa Del Sol & Casa Dos Palmas, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
I received a call from Sue that her partner broke her foot 2 days ago and that she was having a hard time getting around Nosara. They said that driving on the roads was hurting her foot and they wanted to move to Guiones beach. They wanted a refund for the days that they where not going to use the Villa. I told her our cancellation policy is that you must cancel 30 days prior to reservation date. If there was something that we done to cause them to move we would have given them a full refund.

She also said that they wanted to move to Guiones Beach, I told her the roads are the same at Guiones beach as they at Pelada beach. Some guests don't realize that most of the beach towns in Costa Rica are on dirt roads. The roads in Nosara are always keeped in good condition and we never have any complaints about the quality of the roads getting to our Villas. A lot of guest like the rustic nature of Nosara and the roads just add to that.

Pelada beach is a beautiful beach and there are plenty of places to swim. Pelada beach is not as crowded as Guiones beach and that's why a lot of our guest choose to stay in Pelada Beach.

Our Villas are beautiful and well maintained. If they had any problems with the water pressure or hot water they never brought it to our attention.


Thanks for allowing our response,
Gary Woerner
Owner - Villa del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
0.0 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
0.0 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#5 of 23 in Nosara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Teak Pacific Hotel
Teak Pacific Hotel
#13 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#7 of 23 in Nosara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Harmony Hotel
The Harmony Hotel
#6 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Del Sol & Casa Dos Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Sol & Casa Dos Palmas

Property: Villa Del Sol & Casa Dos Palmas
Address: West Brigantine Ave 3219, Nosara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Del Sol & Casa Dos Palmas 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casa Dos Palmas and Villa Del Sol. Both Properties are newly built and are located at beautiful Pelada Beach in Nosara, Costa Rica. Our villas are luxury 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom with a resort-style swimming pool and the house is 4 bedroom / 4.5 bathroom with private luxury pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Del Sol & Casa Dos Palmas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Sol & Casa Dos Palmas Hotel Nosara
Villa Del Sol And Casa Dos Palmas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing