We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, awful staff”
Review of KayaSol Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
KayaSol Surf Hotel
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2010

First impression of the staff: I arrive at the reception with my 16 kilo backpack on after walking and sweating for 15 minutes and the girl just locks the door in front of me without even asking if I needed something or by any chance HAD A RESERVATION! The owner (woman) is a lot worse, arrogant and not helpful.

Anyway we stayed five nights in a 6 person dorm (the one where a cat always manages to sneak in) with kitchen, really nice. The kitchen is good for cooking, the bathroom is big and clean. The wooden bunk beds are noisy if people move around.

5 minute walk to the surf beach and beautiful swimming pool with trees all around; a pity that the waterfall (over and in the swimming pool) is not active any more.

One night we could even hear howler monkeys in the trees next to our bungalow (definitely a plus).

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aciverson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOL27, Owner at KayaSol Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

There must of been a emergency for the door to be locked on you like that. We treat all our guests with the utmost care and tend to there every need. Glad you enjoyed the kitchen and the short walk to the beach.The waterfall is now on all day and most of the night. Come back and see us and you will get the proper PURA VIDA greeting that you deserve. The owner you talk to is my mother in-law, must of caught her on a bad day she is usually very helpful and sweet.

PURA VIDA~KAYASOL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 177 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2010

This is my first ever Trip Advisor review. I normally wouldn't complain but my b/f and I had the worst experience at Kaya Sol. It first started with the kitchen facilities they provide. We like to cook while travelling to cut down on costs but what they provide is impossible to use. No bowls, a spatula that melts, a pot that's so large you can't use it for two and broken plates. The 'stool's' that they have for sitting are made for little children. I couldn't even reach the table. The roof also leaked when it rained at night, conveniently over the bed. They also don't mention that the bar beside the place has blaring music each night until 11pm. Not great for a surfer who would like some sleep. They also didn't clean the pool frequently and lastly, when we couldn't take it anymore and explained all of our issues to the owner, he made us pay a fine for leaving early. But the best part was that when we paid the fine he said "I feel bad for taking your money but I need it anyways". Nice guy. I would not recommend this place to any of my friends. There are much nicer and friendlier places in Nosara.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LKNCND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOL27, Owner at KayaSol Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

We are sorry that you feel you were inconvenienced. We refunded your money in full when you decided to leave early however we felt it necessary had to adhere to our 48 hour cancellation policy that you agreed upon. We make our best effort to keep our kitchens fully stocked however we are in a quiet isolated area far from super shopping centers. We fixed the leaky roof immediately, purchased new stools, found a new pool contractor and the restaurant now closes at 10 pm every night. Perfect for all of you early morning chargers. Thank you for your criticism as it has helped us improve.

Pura Vida~KayaSol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

The price was not bad. We got "the" room with A/C, or at least we thought so since it didn't work, unfortunately we found out at night when the front office was closed, at least the room had a good fan and managed to sleep. Additionaly, the toilet was not clean and it was plugged; the only person there was the guard who didn't even have a plunger! Finally, he found one and got that part solved. We were told by the front desk that the Cafe Launge (very close to the rooms) closed at 10:30 pm but it ididn't ...again, not for light sleepers.
We only stayed one night and even though we were refunded the for not having the A/C working I would definitely NOT stay there again. The place is noisy, bathroom very small, nothing but trouble. I I know problems happen, but you should be prepared to solve them.
The only good thing was the Cafe Louge, hot spot in the area, good food!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisa-Edgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOL27, Owner at KayaSol Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

Our staff is now better equipped to handle problems that may arise and the restaurant closes every night by 10 pm. We still have great food, the a/c is fixed and the beach is calling for you!

Pura Vida~KayaSol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Just returned from another visit to beautiful Playa Guiones and spent 2 weeks living at Kaya Sol in #4.

Food menu has improved since last time I visited (yummy burrito) and there is a very good sushi chef now on Monday nights.

Judy/Cynthia and the rest of the staff are very helpful and welcoming. Pool and gardens are a great way to beat the mid day heat.

Restaurant can be loud depending on what night it is but usually is quiet after 11pm. There is also a small building going up across the street that did make for a few early morning wake-ups, but everyone is surfing by 6am....right!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artsofdarkness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOL27, Owner at KayaSol Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

Thanks for sharing your great attitude with us! People like you are what makes this job so rewarding. Sorry about the construction across the street...thankfully it's all done. See you soon!
Pura Vida~KayaSol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

We stayed in room 8, which had one separate bedroom with a bed and a futon in the living room. The place was clean, comfortable. There isn't A/C, but you don't really need it because it isn't too bad at night. Our room didn't have hot water, but once again, I didn't really miss it. It is only about 200 meters from the beach, so it's definitely one of the closest places to the beach. There is a good Thai restaurant across the street, Dee's, and the Gilded Iguana across the way also has really good food. Also, the Cafe Lounge, Kaya Sol's restaurant, is good too! Usually the lounge would have music until 11 or 12 at night, but it wasn't unbearable in our room.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunscapeJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOL27, Public Relations Manager at KayaSol Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

Thanks for your review! We love the feedback from great guest such as your self! We are always evolving and have some nice renovations in the works. We would love to see you all again. We now have more rooms with AC and our restaurant serves food and drinks until 10 but not latter, so everyone can get a good night sleep and surf hard in the AM. Coming soon Breakfast burritos to go. PURA VIDA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

What a great time we had at the freindly KAYA SOL, the people were nice the rooms clean. We loved the beach perfect for our two kids and we didnt have to get in the car to go to the beach, just a adventure hike thru the jungle with the kids then play play play and we found some surf time too. Great waves great trip great vibe at KAYA SOL... PURA VIDA a vaction that will last a life time.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachboy059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOL27, Owner at KayaSol Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

Thanks for the great review. We loved having you here! See you and your family soon!
Pura Vida~KayaSol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

This isn't a bed and breakfast, but a hotel/hostel. The grounds are filled with plants that give the place a secluded feel. However, it gets noisy. The bar in the restaurant is a popular place for live music on some nights of the week, and you can hear this throughout the complex. The rooms are nice--not great, not bad, but they are clean! They have the best bartender ever (Kurt), and a very helpful and accomodating staff. This was good, because they more than made up for the owners, who didn't seem too friendly. Overall, I liked the place and would stay there again. I would recommend it to friends that are deep sleepers. Light sleepers--look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOL27, Owner at KayaSol Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

Thank you for the time you spent with us at KayaSol. The neighborhood is continuously evolving to a more tranquil atmosphere and our restaurant now closes by 10 pm every night to assure all of our travelers get their much needed rest.
Pura Vida~KayaSol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
0.8 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#2 of 22 in Nosara
111 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
0.3 mi away
La Negra Surf Hotel & Soda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#6 of 22 in Nosara
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#8 of 22 in Nosara
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Harmony Hotel
The Harmony Hotel
#5 of 22 in Nosara
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KayaSol Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KayaSol Surf Hotel

Address: Norte Hotel Guilded Iguana 100 M, Nosara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Nosara
Price Range: $77 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — KayaSol Surf Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quaint family owned and operated hotel is located on the 200M Maritime Protected Zone. A 2 minute walk takes you to the best surf Guiones has to offer. We boast great prices & location; clean, comfortable, simple rooms; and our service is excellent. We are located on the non-commercialized end of the beach which gives you the tranquility you deserve yet puts you within walking distance to shops, restaurants & yoga. Come and enjoy the good life. Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your KayaSol Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing