We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location”
Review of Nosara B&B Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nosara B&B Retreat
Ranked #6 of 18 Nosara B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value, great location”
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Clean, friendly owner/host, great location. Did not feel isolated or unsafe at all. Pretty rooms with wonderful balconies/terraces overlooking the treetops. Woke to the sound of howler monkeys in the trees every morning!
Not a fancy place to stay - but clean and more than adequate with all the basic necessities. Who needs more than that in Costa Rica?

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leda05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    24
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
33
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

I and my boyfriend really enjoyed our stay in Nosara Bed and Breakfast; the place is very rustic, secluded, and peaceful and reasonably priced comparing to other places in Nosara. Our room was very clean with clean sheets and towels. Our patio was a communal patio connected to the kitchen with full cooking abilities. It was clean and tranquillo. I have read all the other comments for Nosara B&B and my advise is: do not expect much but a clean rustic accommodations, lovely atmosphere, welcoming owner - who gives you a choice of having the breakfast or not, close walk to lovely Playa Pelada. I have checked many places in Nosara and this one was the best priced as Nosara can be quite expansive. All the people that provided negative comments should stay in fancy places for fancy prices, if they expect king/queen treatment. We loved this place and we highly recommend it to others who are looking for rustic, quiet, peaceful and tranquillo accommodation with welcoming hostess and many amenities to choose from.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirka5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2010

we spend one night in this idyllic,but isolated place,We do not recomend it for others because of lack of protection.
We got woken up at 3.45 by barking dogs and footsteps on small stones covering the path.We thought it wsa a guaed,but person come on our porch and when we made noise on our door,he run away. In the morning we found our car with broken window and small parts from the car were stolen or broken down. we had to drive extra 150 km to closest Dollar rental to get ir repaired.
Our hostess was sad,but sothin is done there to protect this kind of things.

Stayed January 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank DenmarkAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NosaraBandB, Owner at Nosara B&B Retreat, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
We contacted the police when this regrettable incident occurred. We were told other thefts were occurring all around Nosara at that time.

Theft is a problem in Costa Rica, and around the world that travelers need to be aware of. That was the first and last time we had a guest’s car broken into. We have a private parking lot within our property. We instruct guests not to leave valuables in their cars.

All of our guest rooms have bars as well as double locked doors. We offer a safe in the main house where we invite people to keep their valuables for extra safety.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2009

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff was friendly, and we saw Howler monkey's in the trees. The room was basic, but comfortable and clean. It was just a short walk to beautiful Playa Pelada where we practically had the beach to ourselves. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selectiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2008

This place was the low-end of all the places we stayed in CR. It was built in a run-down garden, and our apartment was at the lowest floor , almost on the ground, really dark, depressive and there was a lot of mold in the roof. There was no housekeeping, no clean towels, no clean sheets, breakfast was just toast and coffee, the manager was nice, but the American lady who owned the place really knew how to rip the tourists off. I mean, we paid 60 dollars/night, but the right price would have been 30, no more. In the mainhouse lived some "wealthier" tourists. They had housekeeping and special services, but don´t know what they paid. Would not recommend this establishment to anyone. Only good thing was that the beach was close. We fled the place after a few nights. The website, where the place looks very nice, is really misleading, at least if you are put in the room where we were staying.

Helpful?
1 Thank LosFinlandeses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NosaraBandB, Owner at Nosara B&B Retreat, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
We’ve done a remodel since this complaint to improve the ventilation and remove mold issues.
Our property is surrounded by jungle, which keeps the rooms fresh and shady. In response to this feedback, we pay special attention to cutting back some of the jungle leaves to manicure the landscape although many people find the natural jungle appealing.

We always provide clean sheets and towels. The rooms are cleaned before they are rented out and checked before guests arrival. We provide maid service twice a week.

We’ve upgraded our continental breakfast. Included in our daily rate we now provide coffee/tea, juice, fruit salad and whole-wheat toast. Guests also have access to a kitchen shared by the other room on the same floor.

All our rooms and services are priced equally.

The owner and a responsible team now run and supervise the B&B with lots of care. It’s a great location if you are looking to connect with yourself and nature, not if you are looking for luxury and party atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
1.7 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
0.8 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#8 of 22 in Nosara
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Negra Surf Hotel & Soda
1.9 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#6 of 22 in Nosara
146 reviews
1.6 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#3 of 22 in Nosara
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nosara B&B Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nosara B&B Retreat

Property: Nosara B&B Retreat
Address: Mtrs South of Boca Nosara 100 | Playa Pelada, 200 Meters North from Rancho Suizo, Nosara 50206, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nosara B&B Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nosara Retreat is nestled in the pristine Pacific coast of Costa Rica on two acres of tropical gardens and jungle. Created in harmony with nature, we are here to provide you with an ideal setting for relaxation, rejuvenation, personal rediscovery and fun. A five-minute walk brings you to the secluded Pelada Beach with fine white sand. The ocean is the centerpiece of life here. You can walk for miles along the quiet, unspoiled beaches of Nosara observing magical rock formations, breaking waves, and gentle tide pools. We provide affordable earth friendly living with personalized service. We have a variety of room choices from private rooms and baths to shared kitchen areas. As well as a private casita with separate room that sleeps up to four. Onsite yoga pavilion with mats, props, and pillows available. Also on site Temescal (sweat lodge). Activities we offer include: turtle nesting, surfing and horseback riding, water sports, hiking trails, walk through the biological preserve, and zip line tour. Our on site jungle trail through the green zone to the beach allows you to explore the unspoiled wildness of this vibrant natural habitat. Nosara Retreat is an ideal spot from which to explore Nosara's laid-back charm, fine restaurants, shops and assortment of Yoga and wellness options. Or you may want to just relax in a hammock, watch the howler monkeys and listen to the ocean. This peaceful setting is ideal for unwinding. Enjoy rural, rustic Costa Rica, "pura vida" (pure life). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Nosara B&B Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing