We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow!”
Review of Nosara B&B Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nosara B&B Retreat
Ranked #5 of 17 Nosara B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 24, 2014

What a wonderful place in a lush jungle garden in Playa Pelada in Nosara! My friend and I stayed only for a couple of nights to enjoy Guiones good surf. We stayed in the upper apartment in the treehouse and we enjoyed every minute there. Rooms are clean, kitchen is perfectly equipped- it s an outdoor kitchen! we had a couple of animals coming by so be sure to hide all food and lock it in the fridge. The owner is super-friendly and her staff is amazing. I am definitely coming back there. Can highly recommend this to families, single travellers or couples.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tortugero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 105 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

I stayed with a friend back there in mid april 2014. We were looking to relax and chill out. Guess what...this place was perfect for that. Is a remote place, that true but once you get there everything is just perfect.
You can hear the birds wake you up in the morning, get out from the room and see this garden with the sun just touching it and is just inspirational.
The main house, where the breakfast is, has a really nice view of the mountains and the beach is just 2 blocks away, really close and really nice beach.
The staff, Deborah, Teresa and Michael are just the best. They will help you in EVERYTHING you could need and they just want you to feel all the inspiration and the peace that its in that place.
I will totally go back there!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed here in March with 2 friends, and we loved our experience. The staff is very friendly and are close with the local community, so they told us all the cool hang out spots. They also arranged a personal yoga class for us!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shengxiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I visited here with two of my girlfriends for two nights last week and it was absolutely a wonderful place to stay by the beach. We stayed in the cabina and it was the perfect size for us... three single beds plus a couch which could be used for a bed for a fourth person, bathroom, bathroom with shower, kitchen table/chairs and full-enough kitchen (we really only used the fridge because we were there for such a short time). There are little bugs here and there but if you put the fans on while sleeping it's not an issue. You can't flush toilet paper but that is standard all over the country. If you're a light sleeper like me, the birds will wake you up in the morning... but don't you want to make the most of the daylight anyway?

Food/To Do: Included breakfast was delicious coffee, fruit and toast (it's a light breakfast but honestly great for the heat!). We loved the empty beach just a few minutes walk away, and grabbing a drink/dinner at Olga's on Playa Pelada. We ventured over to Guiones on Day 2 to mix it up, which was extremely easy to do just walking down the beach. Don't miss Seekret Spot Italian gelato!

Amenities: Nosara Retreat planted the seed of my growing hammock addiction. There are hammocks all over the property, including right behind the cabina... an incredible shady nap spot in the heat of the afternoon! There is also yoga offered in the on-site pavillion as well as many nearby studios. We weren't there on a day when there was yoga, but Mandy (the BEST) offered to call up the teacher and arranged a private class for us exactly when we wanted to do it!

Nature: I saw some of the most interesting wildlife while staying here... partly because it's so damn quiet! Tons of birds, of course, but we also had multiple Howler monkey sightings (thanks Deborah for letting us know that's what they were!)!!!! They really like the trees around the cabina, and we saw a whole family (about 10 monkeys) one morning soon after sunrise. We also saw a giant sea turtle (maybe not actually giant but it was giant to me... a few feet long) one night on our walk home from Olga's, in addition to a ton of hermit crabs. During the day in the rocks by the water during low tide we saw all sorts of little crabs and fish, sea urchins, and possibly a sea cucumber. Really cool!


TL;DR - This is the place for you if you're looking for a laid-back beach retreat, FOR SURE. Great value, great people, great nature. Pura Vida, and don't forget your sunscreen!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

There are few frills but plenty of value for anyone happy to be removed from town and the beach scene. My indoor/outdoor room was spacious and cleaned daily. The outdoor kitchen had a freezer, and ice water became a luxurious indulgence. Breakfast consisted of a very limited amount of fruit, toast, coffee, a blended fresca and moments of good company. This is a good place to diet! As a solo female traveler I felt a bit isolated at first, especially when hungry, but grew to love the location by day two. Walking to Guiones along the beach is easy, except when dinnertime coincides with high tide. Then you'll need to somehow summon a tuk tuk (sort of a gas powered rickshaw) to take you to civilization for about $6 each way. Access to the nearby bio reserve and underpopulated beach is a huge perk.

Room Tip: I enjoyed my treehouse room, "Lemon," even without airconditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

There is truly something magical about Nosara Retreat. My partner and I stayed at the retreat on our first trip to Costa Rica for what intended to just be a week and a half before moving along to the next town, but after checking in to our next destination we found ourselves missing Nosara retreat, the beach, and the people there so much that we ended our stay early so we could return for another week. Deborah and the staff were so lovely and warm and welcoming that after a week we felt like family. Having morning breakfast of fresh fruit juice and toast gave our stay a nice sense of community with the other guests. Everyone was so helpful in helping us get around and giving us suggestions of where to go in Guiones. Our room was spacious and clean and safe and had a beautiful outdoor kitchen area that I loved cooking in daily and the grounds were fun to explore and were very close to the beach. My partner and I are young and fairly active and easily made the 20 minute or so walk into Guiones for groceries almost daily, which never felt that far as we walked along the beach which was beautiful and scenic and filled with friendly faces. Since leaving the town of Nosara and Nosara Retreat I'm already missing it once again and can't wait for the next time I'm in Costa Rica to return. Nosara Retreat feels like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juhsteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The grounds of the retreat are very well kept and the trails wind around the property and down to the road that leads to the beach. We took one of the small cottages with two rooms. The kitchen was fine for a couple days and the super on the road to Nosara is very well stocked. It was very quiet at night and the beds were great. The walk to the beach is pleasant and the beach is very nice.

I generally prefer fans to AC, unless it is extremely hot. One room had a ceiling fan with only one speed, high. The other room had no fan at all. Given that you want to close the door to keep out mosquitoes at night, this made it a little stuffy.

The other problem was a lack of WiFi in the cottage, an amenity available in even very inexpensive Costa Rican hotels. They said they would call somebody to address the problem, but I got the idea it was not a new issue. There was working WiFi at the main house.

Breakfast was included and it was excellent fruit, coffee, toast, etc. There was no hot breakfast option. If you want eggs and pinto, you will have to drive. They did insist on knowing what you would want the day before.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quincho Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
1.8 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#6 of 24 in Nosara
165 reviews
0.9 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#8 of 24 in Nosara
178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#9 of 24 in Nosara
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Teak Pacific Hotel
Teak Pacific Hotel
#18 of 24 in Nosara
50 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cafe de Paris B & B
Cafe de Paris B & B
#23 of 24 in Nosara
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Mar
Bella Vista Mar
#3 of 17 in Nosara
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nosara B&B Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nosara B&B Retreat

Address: Mtrs South of Boca Nosara 100 | Playa Pelada, 200 Meters North from Rancho Suizo, Nosara 50206, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Nosara
Price Range: $76 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nosara B&B Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nosara B&B Retreat is nestled in the pristine Pacific coast of Costa Rica on two acres of tropical gardens and jungle. Created in harmony with nature, we are here to provide you with an ideal setting for relaxation, rejuvenation, personal rediscovery and fun. A five-minute walk brings you to the secluded Pelada Beach with fine white sand. The ocean is the centerpiece of life here. You can walk for miles along the quiet, unspoiled beaches of Nosara observing magical rock formations, breaking waves, and gentle tide pools. We provide affordable earth friendly living with personalized service. We have a variety of room choices from private rooms and baths to shared kitchen areas. As well as a private casita with separate room that sleeps up to four. Onsite yoga pavilion with mats, props, and pillows available. Also on site Temescal (sweat lodge). Activities we offer include: turtle nesting, surfing and horseback riding, water sports, hiking trails, walk through the biological preserve, and zip line tour. Our on site jungle trail through the green zone to the beach allows you to explore the unspoiled wildness of this vibrant natural habitat. Nosara B&B Retreat is an ideal spot from which to explore Nosara's laid-back charm, fine restaurants, shops and assortment of Yoga and wellness options. Or you may want to just relax in a hammock, watch the howler monkeys and listen to the ocean. This peaceful setting is ideal for unwinding. Enjoy rural, rustic Costa Rica, "pura vida" (pure life). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Nosara B&B Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing