We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come and feel it!”
Review of Nosara B&B Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nosara B&B Retreat
Ranked #6 of 19 Nosara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Heredia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Come and feel it!”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The only thing I regret about staying at Nosara B&B Retreat is that it was only 1 night!, we wanted more of this small yet cozy beautiful place, and the 5 minutes walk to Pelada Beach, was the lobby for such breathtaking Beach.
Once we met Crystal, Michael and Deborah we felt like we were at their home not at a business, you can feel a lot of positive energy!
We'll be back for more of cozy rooms, howling monkeys wake up calls, healthy breakfast, breathtaking Pelada Beach and warm care of Nosara B&B’s guys!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RZamoraH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    24
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
33
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We´ve stayed there for 5 nights and it was totally worth it. Although we came here in the dry season the Retreat was green, nice and relaxing. The thing I liked the most was the fact that you actually have 4 beaches to visit and none of them is far away so that you can always get there by foot. The beach "Pelada" is just a 5 minutes walk away and definately the best beach! It`s quite and really nice. But still there's the posibility to have some action and visit Playa Guiones where you can watch surfers or go out at night.
I would always come back and recommend it to everyone who wants to get to know the beaches of guanacaste!! It`s an escape from all the touristy places!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers Point
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Nosara B&B! Michael and Debra are wonderful hosts. The location is amazing...just a few minutes walk to the most beautiful beach and the wildlife in the area is incredible; howler monkeys, birds, coatis, etc.

We had a really comfortable room with a porch/patio and a hammock which was wonderful after a long day at the beach. The open kitchen was great, too.

Someone else mentioned it here - and we agree...the customer service is exceptional!

Pura vida!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cita55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2012

After a long trip from Amsterdam i have been retreived in a very nice and relaxed manner.
The crew of B&B is very helpfull and does everything to make you feel at home . Rooms look nice and clean with hammocks outside ( a must for me :- ), open kitchen with locks against the pesota's (Costa Rican racoons).
I like them but dont give them food , otherwise they will keep on visiting you at night ;-) .
Breakfasts where great and the dinners as well. B&B has a nice yoga platform made out of teakwood, great to practice on and in a nice surrounding by nature. A 5 minute walk from B&B and you are at the beach with various possibilities. When you take a walk from there, there are different places to have drinks and foods. What i like about the environment is that it is not crowded, people are relaxed and if you like to surf , there are pretty nice waves over here.
Over all a nice place to reload, relax, do your yoga , enjoy nature and your hammock.
Worthwhile to come back sometime.

Cheers, Koen

01-04-2012 Amsterdam, Netherlands

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I loved my stay at Nosara B&B and can't wait to go back. It's quiet (except for the birds and monekeys!) and I really felt like I was in the jungle with all the lush vegetation throughout the property. I especially enjoyed using the yoga palapa and appreciated the clean mats provided. Debra, Michael & Krystal are exceptional at customer service and made my stay feel like it was with extended family rather than at a hotel.

Room Tip: They have rooms with kitchenettes but we stayed in a large room with a massive bathroom and king siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogini016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This B and B is located right in the forest and is quit secluded. Staff were nice and helpful. Breakfast was very good and the howler monkeys were in the trees right above. The room however reminded us of an outdated summer cabin and we felt for the decor etc.. it was overpriced compared to other lodging in Costa Rica. We could easily here the other people in the adjacent rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbieLaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Nosara B&B worked beautifully for me. It's rustic, meaning not fancy, but with enough to be quite comfortable. Nice setting with lots of jungle right up to the door. Wake up to howler monkeys and birds. The staff - Debra, Michael and Krystal - are friendly, helpful. If you like luxury, this is not the place for you. But if you like simple, comfortable and peaceful, it's great.

I hope I have another chance to stay there.

Room Tip: I liked the room with a kitchen on the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
1.7 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
0.8 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#7 of 23 in Nosara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#9 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#11 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
0.3 mi away
Teak Pacific Hotel
Teak Pacific Hotel
#13 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nosara B&B Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nosara B&B Retreat

Property: Nosara B&B Retreat
Address: Mtrs South of Boca Nosara 100 | Playa Pelada, 200 Meters North from Rancho Suizo, Nosara 50206, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nosara B&B Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nosara Retreat is nestled in the pristine Pacific coast of Costa Rica on two acres of tropical gardens and jungle. Created in harmony with nature, we are here to provide you with an ideal setting for relaxation, rejuvenation, personal rediscovery and fun. A five-minute walk brings you to the secluded Pelada Beach with fine white sand. The ocean is the centerpiece of life here. You can walk for miles along the quiet, unspoiled beaches of Nosara observing magical rock formations, breaking waves, and gentle tide pools. We provide affordable earth friendly living with personalized service. We have a variety of room choices from private rooms and baths to shared kitchen areas. As well as a private casita with separate room that sleeps up to four. Onsite yoga pavilion with mats, props, and pillows available. Also on site Temescal (sweat lodge). Activities we offer include: turtle nesting, surfing and horseback riding, water sports, hiking trails, walk through the biological preserve, and zip line tour. Our on site jungle trail through the green zone to the beach allows you to explore the unspoiled wildness of this vibrant natural habitat. Nosara Retreat is an ideal spot from which to explore Nosara's laid-back charm, fine restaurants, shops and assortment of Yoga and wellness options. Or you may want to just relax in a hammock, watch the howler monkeys and listen to the ocean. This peaceful setting is ideal for unwinding. Enjoy rural, rustic Costa Rica, "pura vida" (pure life). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nosara B&B Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing