We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels right at home”
Review of Villa Tortuga

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Tortuga
Ranked #7 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Nosara
Orange County
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Feels right at home”
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Have a nice relaxing stay in a clean, family and friends oriented place. Nice to have a kitchen for eating meals in if you want. Friendly staff that are very helpful. Fun things to do around the area. Zip line, river tours and kayaking, hiking, biking, horseback riding, and more. Interesting creatures like iguanas, howler monkeys, cute land crabs, and nearby, when you are there at the right time, sea turtles laying their eggs. On the premises: a spa; DVD, books, surfboard, and bike rental shop; plus Internet, phone, and business services. Who could ask for anything more? One can work while vacationing if you have to. Simply said, it's an amazing place to stay in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoSurf44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
14
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
OC
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We had such a great time at Villa Tortuga. Its located in a prime spot at Playa Guiones which is known for having fantastic surf just a very short walk away. I've surfed many spots along the Guanacaste Peninsula and Playa Guiones (aka Nosara) seems to have consistent swell with offshore mornings. The Villa Tortuga grounds layout is great, landscaped with native trees surrounding a beautiful pool and covered BBQ area. The atmosphere is very relaxed with accommodating yet easy going staff. I'd recommend the Villa Tortuga for couples or families who enjoy surfing, viewing the wildlife, or just exploring Costa Rica, while still able to return to comfortable accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaessnerrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft walton beach. fl
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

We have been staying here since they opened. They have everything you need- clean rooms, full kitchens, pool- and they are close (walking distance) to everything you need- SURF, grocery store, restaurants, internet and phone. The owner lives on site and is always there to help . We go to Costa Rica several times a year and we would never stay anywhere else. It's like home to us.
Steve Meyer
surffla1@cox.net

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank panhandle42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, MD
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

I always stay at Villa Tortuga when in Nosara. Its simply the best. Clean and close to some of the best surfing in the area. Great amenities, and close to everything. Dave and his dad always make my stay great.
Bruce Anderson
surfer814@comcast.net

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank Laxmanba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, California
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2008

I can't say enough good things about Villa Tortuga and Playa Guiones in Costa Rica. My wife and I spent our honeymoon there and were treated like locals with warm and welcoming hospitality. The rooms were comfortable, clean, and with all the amenities needed...plus super close to great surf and walking distance to all the happenings. Unreal memories!!! Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rdeovlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
0.1 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#7 of 22 in Nosara
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#8 of 22 in Nosara
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#22 of 22 in Nosara
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
0.2 mi away
La Negra Surf Hotel & Soda
0.3 mi away
The Harmony Hotel
The Harmony Hotel
#5 of 22 in Nosara
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tortuga

Property: Villa Tortuga
Address: Mts S Of Gilded Iguana 100, Nosara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Villa Tortuga we've attempted to create a vacation destination that feels just like home. We've taken all of the things that we've enjoyed from our own vacation experiences and combined them to form our dream vacation spot. Nestled near the sleepy town of Nosara, Playa Guiones is an ideal getaway for everyone. A three minute walk through the National Parklands gets you to a beautiful white sand beach with great surf and warm water. Our guests enjoy a relaxing environment where they can forget about the stress of daily life. Whether strolling along the sandy beaches, surfing, horseback riding through the jungle, or just lounging by the pool, we are immersed in one of the most beautiful landscapes in the world. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing