We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
103
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews frog pad casa del sol fantastic location horseback riding rent boards minute walk david hammocks paradise yoga lodging surfers
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 108 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed at Villa Tortuga for a week and it was terrific. David (the owner) and his staff were great - very friendly and helpful. The place itself was perfect for us. The beach is practically in the backyard and it's in close proximity to just about everything else (restaurants, grocery, adventure tours, yoga, etc.). The room we stayed in was very comfortable, complete with a kitchen so that we could have some of our meals in. We had one really nice dinner by the pool, which we made on the BBQ. We could rent movies, borrow books, rent surf boards… it really had everything. We would definitely stay there again, and again...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hlss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monkey-ish, Manager at Villa Tortuga, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2015

Thanks for staying with us and I hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Last December I stayed at Villa Tortuga with my family and friends for my wedding. First of all I want to say that the Villa is absolutely beautiful, specially the Treehouse, which is where I stayed. The Villa is walking distance from the beach, which makes it very convenient, especially when sunset time comes because you HAVE to be at the beach at that moment, life literally stops in Nosara to enjoy this magical time of the day. Now to Dave, Dave, Dave…I don’t even know how to begin to describe how helpful this man was the whole trip, actually even before I arrived to Costa Rica. From suggesting bands for the wedding, to transportation around Nosara, to finding a chef for our pig roast, I truly believe I couldn’t have pulled off my wedding without his help and input. Any question, thought or comment I had was answered right away and if he didn’t have an answer he found the person who did. We were calling him the Mayor of Nosara by the end of the trip. Since we rented most of the Villa, he was kind enough to let me have a big party by the pool the day before the wedding and he went out of his way to make sure everything was perfect. And everything was perfect! He always had a smile on his face and was happy to help with anything, he even gave surfing lessons to my sister and her family!…Thank you Villa Tortuga and specially to Dave, because you are now a friend to us and we can’t wait to come back and stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geo1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We had a great stay at Villas Tortugas (we stayed in Casa Tortuga - first floor unit). It is as close to the beach as you can get. There are also a number of restaurants within walking distance. The house is well-equiped, though, so you could self-cater easily. We traveled with 2 adults and 2 children, ages 6 and 4, and it was perfect for us. The pool is great, the beach is close, you can rent bikes, surfboards, videos, get spa treatments all within the complex (Frog Pad). Very convenient and central. The surf and yoga options are awesome! Also, do some research to see if it's turtle hatching season - it was a highlight! We also saw monkeys just outside of the house most days. The staff is helpful and friendly. You can't go wrong with Villas Tortugas - we'll hopefully return someday!

Room Tip: First floor is very convenient, but remember this is a jungle. You will get some (harmless) insects in your house. If that's an issue for you, choose an upper floor unit. We stayed in Casa Tortuga and loved it.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirkandjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The surf is less crowded on the North End of Giones, and there's a lot of restaurants and a mini-super within easy walking distance. Very chill place to hang out in peace and quiet. A two minute walk up the road to check the surf, or a 30 second bike ride, probably the easiest access to the beach in all of Playa Giones. Great pool area that has a new large loft for yoga or parties. Dave is always around to help with activities and special requests, and if you just want to chill out in the a/c after a few hours in the water and watch a movie, the Frog Pad has just about every movie ever made (US and foreign films) available for rent. Overall a very chill place to base out of if you want to surf and relax.

Room Tip: There's not a lot of units which makes Villa Tortuga such nice place to be and they fill up fast, so it's always best to reserve in advance.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndiSurfSkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed at Villa Tortuga for 4 weeks in their busiest season. Nevertheless, Dave and the staff always had time to answer our questions and help out with excursions. There was always someone available to help at the Frog pad, where they also had the biggest DVD collection for rent I have ever seen. Very cheap to rent and lots of movies for the kids (and adults too of course), which was good since we stayed indoors for the hottest hours of the day and needed to entertain the small ones. The two kids, 3 and 5, had the best time. The staff was so friendly to them and the kids loved playing in the beautiful pool. There was a spa on the property too, Spacio, which had many different treatments. We both tried the massage and it was great.

The location is great, 5 minutes or less to the beach and 5 min or less from 4 great restaurants and a well stocked minimarket. It was close to everything without being too busy, the atmosphere was very laid back. The more busy part of Guiones with the boutiques, bakery, car rentals, yoga places and so on are located a 10 min walk of more from Villa Tortuga so you are a bit further away from where the most action is. However, we thought this part of Guiones was nicer and it is still possible to walk to Guiones center or if you rent a bike (which you can do at the Frog pad) it is real quick to get to the other part.

We had such a great and relaxing time. The houses are beautiful, the garden too. We stayed at the two bedroom suite Del Mar and it was nice and tidy and had all the amenities. The daily maid service was a big plus. We looked around but couldn't think of a better place to stay at Playa Guiones, if we get to go back we will definitely stay at Villa Tortuga. It felt like home away from home which is a great feeling.

Room Tip: We stayed at the two-bed room apartment Del Mar on the ground floor. It was the best place for us, nice and cool apartment and the patio was great to have lunch, dinner or just lay around in the hammock. I think that the verandas on the top floor apartments probably were much warmer than our patio, where it was even possible to be outdoors in the middle of the day with the kids. The three bedroom houses seemed very nice too, with nicer interior decor than Del Mar and great patios and verandas.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Songbird2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews