We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
103
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews frog pad casa del sol fantastic location horseback riding rent boards minute walk david hammocks paradise yoga lodging surfers
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 108 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The surf is less crowded on the North End of Giones, and there's a lot of restaurants and a mini-super within easy walking distance. Very chill place to hang out in peace and quiet. A two minute walk up the road to check the surf, or a 30 second bike ride, probably the easiest access to the beach in all of Playa Giones. Great pool area that has a new large loft for yoga or parties. Dave is always around to help with activities and special requests, and if you just want to chill out in the a/c after a few hours in the water and watch a movie, the Frog Pad has just about every movie ever made (US and foreign films) available for rent. Overall a very chill place to base out of if you want to surf and relax.

Room Tip: There's not a lot of units which makes Villa Tortuga such nice place to be and they fill up fast, so it's always best to reserve in advance.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndiSurfSkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed at Villa Tortuga for 4 weeks in their busiest season. Nevertheless, Dave and the staff always had time to answer our questions and help out with excursions. There was always someone available to help at the Frog pad, where they also had the biggest DVD collection for rent I have ever seen. Very cheap to rent and lots of movies for the kids (and adults too of course), which was good since we stayed indoors for the hottest hours of the day and needed to entertain the small ones. The two kids, 3 and 5, had the best time. The staff was so friendly to them and the kids loved playing in the beautiful pool. There was a spa on the property too, Spacio, which had many different treatments. We both tried the massage and it was great.

The location is great, 5 minutes or less to the beach and 5 min or less from 4 great restaurants and a well stocked minimarket. It was close to everything without being too busy, the atmosphere was very laid back. The more busy part of Guiones with the boutiques, bakery, car rentals, yoga places and so on are located a 10 min walk of more from Villa Tortuga so you are a bit further away from where the most action is. However, we thought this part of Guiones was nicer and it is still possible to walk to Guiones center or if you rent a bike (which you can do at the Frog pad) it is real quick to get to the other part.

We had such a great and relaxing time. The houses are beautiful, the garden too. We stayed at the two bedroom suite Del Mar and it was nice and tidy and had all the amenities. The daily maid service was a big plus. We looked around but couldn't think of a better place to stay at Playa Guiones, if we get to go back we will definitely stay at Villa Tortuga. It felt like home away from home which is a great feeling.

Room Tip: We stayed at the two-bed room apartment Del Mar on the ground floor. It was the best place for us, nice and cool apartment and the patio was great to have lunch, dinner or just lay around in the hammock. I think that the verandas on the top floor apartments probably were much warmer than our patio, where it was even possible to be outdoors in the middle of the day with the kids. The three bedroom houses seemed very nice too, with nicer interior decor than Del Mar and great patios and verandas.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Songbird2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We looked at a lot of places online as location was important to us as we were traveling with our infant child. Villa Tortuga is clean, quiet, around the corner from great restaurants and a bar. It is as close as you can get to staying on the beach, just a minute up the road ( the beach is protected, nothing is located 'on' the beach). Dave and his staff will take care of you and Mark is a great surf instructor!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aminstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have been to Playa Guiones several times, and now stayed at Villa Tortuga 3 times. There is no better spot. All the condos are clean and well maintained! The Staff is awesome and always willing to help. Dave and the Gang will steer you to the best excursions and do anything they can to make your stay as pleasant as possible. This is a unique multi condo facility with a shared pool, as close to the beach as you can get, and stones throw to the bar at the Iquana. I highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkidwell30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is the Best location in Nosara. Our family has stayed here for many years and we love it every time. The folks at The Frog Pad are super helpful in getting you set up with excursions, bikes, boards, you name it.

Room Tip: Room selection depends on the size of your family.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtwiegman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews