We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$29
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/09/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$26
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/09/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$27
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/09/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$27
Travelocity$27
Orbitz.com$27
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
20
31
21
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
20
31
21
6
8
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 86 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2012

When I arrived at the hotel I asked the concierge where was my seminar being held at the hotel, and in which room. I showed him my documents and he said there was no seminar of that nature going on in the hotel that day, so I asked him are you sure and than I started to doubt myself by saying I may have gone to the wrong hotel. But checking my documents, it clearly stated the Laithong hotel. So I went back to him and he looked a bit annoyed to say the least as if I did not believe him. I told myself go to the front desk reception and ask l them, they were clueless as well and the concierge decided to join in on the conversation and repeated there was no such seminar.

I decided to walk around the hotel to look for the conference board that every good class hotel has and to my astonishment, there it was listed on the board. I called the employees over to check this out, they looked at each other with such an amazed look that it really turned me off with this hotel. The staff obviously don't know or have no communication with the higher level staff and are really clueless to go and find out about something. I was expecting him to do just that and not follow me around the hotel. The general conference room was freezing cold and I did mention it but no action was taken, and the coffee breaks were so disorganised that I gave up have anything to eat or drink.

The lunch that was organised was good, the food was fresh and tasty. I think personally the hotel is outdated and needs a lot of work. But I think the management needs to run many courses for their employees, so that people who have some kind of business there is in the right place, otherwise you will have people walking out because of incorrect information.

I know I will not go there to stay, dine or for any function because its just possible that I would be told nothing is going on there that I am supposed to be taking part in and walk out. When I walk into a hotel lobby I want to feel the warmth and and meet friendliest employees of the hotel, but I did not get that, it seemed very cold atmosphere to me. A good question "What has happened to that AmazingThai feeling of warmth and friendliness, not there any more.

Room tip: Like I always do, I check at least 2/3 rooms and than decide which one I want to sleep in. You have to do this with many hotels that you are going to be satisfied with. I do know some hotels do not like this process but its just to bad, you pay the rate they are obligated to show you the rooms, don't take no for an answer. Because the room you want may depend on many aspects, south side, north side, east or west, quiet rooms, high floors, no smoking rooms. So you need to check what you are paying for. In life the classic saying is "You get what you pay for in life"
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

To say that this hotel rated 5* is really an overstatement. I would think that a 3* might be more applicable.or even less.

The suite was fine and of a good standard, no problem there, except that the telephones did not work, water was lacking during the first day and breakfasts were geared to Asians, Japanese, Thais and Chinese than to Europeans. Only sausages and eggs for the Euros and Aussies. The cooker in the restaurant was a normal gas cooker with four burners reversed so that the gas bottle was clearly seen.

At the time of our visit, the internet was not working when I wished to use it.

The "pool" was NOT as shown in their brochure and was a complete disappointment and which my wife and I did not use. No loungers, no towels and no pool services were provided .

We had booked for 11, yes eleven nights, but left after 5 nights.

I WOULD NO RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE.

Liked — Nothing
Disliked — See the report
Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LawrieMellieha_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The Laithong Hotel is in need of a lot of repair. Has seen better days. Cob webs all over the dining room. Hotel staff not as friendly as in past. Ordered a cheeseburger from kitchen, but, when served, was missing the meat. After complaining, said they were out of meat. They still charged me for the regular price of a cheeseburger. "Wrong Answer". The Laithong Hotel use to have a great reputation. Not a good situation for a questionable 5 star hotel. When I asked to speak to a manager, they said there was not one available, as it was Sunday evening.

Room tip: I have spent a lot of time staying at the Laithong Hotel in past. I have never been disappointed with their service, until yesterday, Sunday April 29. There is an definate change going on at the hotel and it is not good. Maybe it is the economy, but there are other newer hotels that are cleaner and better. I am extremely disappointed what I saw and experienced yesterday. I hope this review helps.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 63jcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Pros:
Well established, large Thai hotel in downtown Ubon
Well appointed rooms with fridge
Updated decorations in common areas.
Large restaurant with buffet breakfast and lunches that are very good. The noon buffet features local Issan cuisine
Not on bus routes but staff will find whatever type of transportation you desire quickly (Samlor {bicycle cab}. TukTuk , or metered taxi)

Since my wife is from Ubon and still has family there, we travel there often. We have tried all the hotels in Ubon and find that the Laithong is the one we enjoy the most. The staff is large and attentive (although we conduct our business in the Thai language). They do have English speaking staff but sometimes this appears to be a small problem. There are small businesses and restaurants within walking distance along with 2 different hospitals but you will need transportation to see the sights of Ubon and the surrounding areas.

I think that we will continue to use this hotel on all of our subsequent trips to Ubon.

Room tip: Ask for Junior suite for more room
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrlandoMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Myself and my wife stayed at this hotel early March. I found that the location was ideal, The hotel itself was more than I expected. Staff extremely helpful and willing to assist. The room was very comfortable. The only problem I had, only minor, was with staff understanding english, however I found this part of the fun when travelling. Breakfeast was average with nothing special, I would suggest eating the asian set menu. I would stay here again

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maz092
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews