We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money!”
Review of Fundee 1 Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fundee 1 Mansion
South Pole
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This 'mansion' is located in a bit of a strange place, as it's in a back corner far outside of the city centre. (To get there, cross the busy street from the Ubon Square McDonald's, and continue into the alley that exits onto the main street a few metres to your left.) However, a 'songthaew' into town costs only 10 baht, and there is a HUGE shopping centre a stone throw away from the hotel (featuring lots of street food, a local market, a Big C Super Center, and some boutique stores). Also, it's about as close as you can get to the main bus station.

The rooms are large, cool, and clean. The bed is a tad hard (typical Thai style), there is a good desk to work on, and a large fridge to stock up on supplies. This would not have been a bad place to stay for a few weeks, and it does seem like the hotel also offers long-stay contracts. Outside of the room there is not much in terms of services, so you're basically dependent on what you can find in the Ubon Square shopping centre (everything!). The man who runs the front desk is very friendly, speaks excellent English, and can offer helpful suggestions (although he's not always there).

I found the place excellent value. It's a good base if you only have a one-night layover from the bus station, or to stock up on supplies before venturing into Laos. I would also consider it for a longer-term stay.

Room Tip: It seemed like the rooms on the ground floor had a little more traffic from the cleaning staff and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Orniii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
14
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

The location of the guest house is just opposite of the Ubon square - the big bazaar with many food stalls, restaurants, shops and Big C department store. And it is only 8 minutes ride to the bus terminal. This was the reason I chose it to stay one night, the next day take the international bus to Laos.

The room is large, clean, new and very bright. Plasma TV, refrigerator and wifi is fine. But the water is not very hot for shower. There is a mini mart outside, convenient for snacks and drink. There is coin washing machine. The hotel is opened for one year only and they have apartment for long stay. Great place for short stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Corali2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed here just overnight on our way to Bangkok from Pakse. It's more like a motel than a guest house, but the room was very clean with TV, large fridge, kettle and AC. The sheets and towels were very clean and fresh but as others have said the bed was hard even by Thai standards.

The staff were very friendly and spoke some English and were kind enough to order a taxi for us to get to the airport in the morning.

As we arrived late and left early I couldn't say how well located the hotel is as we didn't have time to explore the area but we did find a great steak house restaurant just round the corner.

If you're passing through it's a great place to stay the night and great value at 400 Bhat per night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrispypancake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakse
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We were really happy with our stay at Fundee. We've been through Ubon many times before but hadn't tried Fundee before. Location is great for the bus station and it's also very near shopping like Macro and Big C. There were a couple local places to grab food without needing to cross the hwy but we didn't try them out this time. Like someone else mentioned noise from the hallway can be a little loud but it didn't disturb our sleep. The bed was firm but still comfortable enough. Overall great stay for the price and very likely we'll be back next time through Ubon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed here only for its location - a couple of hundred metres from Big C (Admittedly over a very busy road which can be hard to cross). The bus station is a further 200 metres, again another busy road, but a flat walk.

The room was very clean but the bed surprisingly hard. Linen, especially the towels was good quality. The bathroom was well designed and bright and has a large shower cubicle, good water pressure as well. There was a small red sofa, not too bad to sit on and watch TV. Unfortunately the English language TV channels were very fuzzy and no movie channel except in Thai.

There is a fridge and kettle, but only three-in-one coffee mix was available!

All up a well presented room.

The downside was the noise from the corridor. This is a 'mansion' a Thai long and short stay apartment block. People come and go all the time. Additionally there were coin operated washing machines adjacent to the lobby, also noisy and washing continued until 11 pm.

Staff were friendly and helpful, especially as the internet would not work in our room.

If you want a cheap, but decent room near Big C or the bus station, stay here, If you are a light sleeper, don't!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Good value for your money. We paid 490B for a night here. the room is spacious, and VERY clean. The bed is big, clean bedding and towels, hot water on demand. flatscreen tv with lots of channels. The bed is very hard! But I would prefer this to soft and lumpy. Hotel is at a dead end street so fairly quiet, but the design of the hotel means that noises echo through the hotel and your room. So you hear everyone coming and going. Security is very good. Owner speaks good english and is very helpful. Right across the road is Big C, McDonalds and a huge market with lots of food and other other shopping. Very close to the southern bus station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianTraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

great place for people in transit to Pakse laos,hotel is opposite BIG C and bus terminal,brand new hotel,10 months hotel,friendly staff,good internet and perfect big room,with nice big bed,sure will stop here again on my next trip

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubon Ratchathani hotels
0.0 mi away
T3 House
T3 House
#2 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chansuda Lake View Hotel
Chansuda Lake View Hotel
#13 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sri Isan Hotel
Sri Isan Hotel
#10 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Bliss Ubon
The Bliss Ubon
#1 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunee Grand Hotel
Sunee Grand Hotel
#3 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pen Ta Hug Hotel
Pen Ta Hug Hotel
#6 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fundee 1 Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fundee 1 Mansion

Property: Fundee 1 Mansion
Address: 18 Chayangkul 38, T. Naimuang, Ubon Ratchathani 34000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Ubon Ratchathani Province > Ubon Ratchathani
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Ubon Ratchathani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fundee 1 Mansion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Fundee 1 Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing