We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super!!”
Review of Pen Ta Hug Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pen Ta Hug Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Ubon Ratchathani
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Super!!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I have never expected a great experience while traveling to upcountry Thailand. However, this hotel was surprised me by making my stay so perfect. The hotel itself has been very well designed and decorated as a boutique hotel. Staffs, from reception, house keeping to restaurant are very helpful, friendly and very efficient. Breakfast menu was not variety but great especially for coffee, great value for money indeed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyLovesJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    35
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
14
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Umag, Croatia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. We were welcomed by friendly staff, who spoke very little English, but somehow compensated for it with their overall attitude. For 20 Euros we had a modern, spotless clean double room, equipped with everything we needed and breakfast included in the price. Since it was already late in the evening, we decided to stay in the hotel restaurant for dinner instead of trying to find some other place to celebrate our friend's birthday. The food was delicious, served on the outdoor terace, but what we shall remember most about this hotel is a young waitress, who served us that evening and here lovely smile.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Renata G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

The cafe open til 11 pm. So I asked for coffee at 9 pm but they said the only one who could make coffee has gone home. Unfortunately, there is no coffee shop around :(

They provide only shampoo and hand soap, not bath gel. Bed and Pillow not comfy but other things are ok.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rada C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Having tried (and reviewed) many hotels in the Ubon area I was looking forward to trying this place given the good reviews.
I would have rated it much higher apart from one thing - the bed. I like firm beds and have slept on some pretty bad mattresses all over SE Asia but the one in room 214 was a doozy! Yes it was hard but also as flat as a pot holed road making sleep basically impossible. If there was a Thai Massage place on site I would have been their first customer the next morning. It has been 24 hours since I left and my back is still sore.
Having said all that there were some good things. The bathroom water pressure was nice and strong and hot. The wide selection of TV channels was welcomed. The place was very quiet.
Breakfast was included but the selection was very small (to be expected for such a small hotel).
The location is a little out of the way.
The internet while not super fast was reliable.
At 800 baht I will not be staying here again. Much better sleep to be had at places like Phadaeng, Nartsiri, T3 and Pan House for a cheaper price.

Room Tip: Do not chose room 214!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeMock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

A very nice new hotel, modern look with a very nice promotion deal. Room are very comfortable with a nice big well equipped bathroom. Breakfast are fabulous, even not locate in downtown area but going everywhere will take about 10-15 mins with a very convenient taxi on demand.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank junya_and_gangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were there for a few times for business trips. The room and bathroom are clean, good size, not too small.The bed is a little bit on a harder side though. The design is modern and minimal, just enough. The restaurant is nice and modern with nice staff, serving all day meals. Breakfast is included, sufficient and good quality for the price you pay. The location is in a small road (soi) quiet enough to get some rest, at the same time, right in the city. However, if you don' t have a car, you might find it a little difficult to get around.
We will surely stay here again next time we travel to Ubon.

I hope that they can keep it new and clean as time goes by.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jitchaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This place is really nice. Very clean , stylish rooms. Whole hotel is very nicely designed. Very good resturant there also. Deluxe room include free mini bar. Fast wifi throughout the hotel. 15minute drive from airport and 5min to bus station. On a street with an excellent Thai restaurant also , zaab ...soi 9. I am looking forward to staying here agin in the future.

Room Tip: Zaab soi 9 restaurant just 100 metres up the street is fantastic with excellent Thai food and cold b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cornish-scrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubon Ratchathani hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bliss Ubon
The Bliss Ubon
#1 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
V Hotel Ubon Ratchathani
V Hotel Ubon Ratchathani
#4 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
49 reviews
2.0 mi away
T3 House
T3 House
#2 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunee Grand Hotel
Sunee Grand Hotel
#3 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rich Hotel
The Rich Hotel
#8 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chansuda Lake View Hotel
Chansuda Lake View Hotel
#13 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Ta Hug Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Ta Hug Hotel

Property: Pen Ta Hug Hotel
Address: 13 Soi Sukha Uppatham 9, Muang Ubon, Ubon Ratchathani 34000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Ubon Ratchathani Province > Ubon Ratchathani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Ubon Ratchathani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen Ta Hug Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pen Ta Hug Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing