We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money”
Review of Pen Ta Hug Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pen Ta Hug Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Ubon Ratchathani
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. We were welcomed by friendly staff, who spoke very little English, but somehow compensated for it with their overall attitude. For 20 Euros we had a modern, spotless clean double room, equipped with everything we needed and breakfast included in the price. Since it was already late in the evening, we decided to stay in the hotel restaurant for dinner instead of trying to find some other place to celebrate our friend's birthday. The food was delicious, served on the outdoor terace, but what we shall remember most about this hotel is a young waitress, who served us that evening and here lovely smile.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Renata G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 68 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

The cafe open til 11 pm. So I asked for coffee at 9 pm but they said the only one who could make coffee has gone home. Unfortunately, there is no coffee shop around :(

They provide only shampoo and hand soap, not bath gel. Bed and Pillow not comfy but other things are ok.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rada C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Having tried (and reviewed) many hotels in the Ubon area I was looking forward to trying this place given the good reviews.
I would have rated it much higher apart from one thing - the bed. I like firm beds and have slept on some pretty bad mattresses all over SE Asia but the one in room 214 was a doozy! Yes it was hard but also as flat as a pot holed road making sleep basically impossible. If there was a Thai Massage place on site I would have been their first customer the next morning. It has been 24 hours since I left and my back is still sore.
Having said all that there were some good things. The bathroom water pressure was nice and strong and hot. The wide selection of TV channels was welcomed. The place was very quiet.
Breakfast was included but the selection was very small (to be expected for such a small hotel).
The location is a little out of the way.
The internet while not super fast was reliable.
At 800 baht I will not be staying here again. Much better sleep to be had at places like Phadaeng, Nartsiri, T3 and Pan House for a cheaper price.

Room Tip: Do not chose room 214!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeMock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

A very nice new hotel, modern look with a very nice promotion deal. Room are very comfortable with a nice big well equipped bathroom. Breakfast are fabulous, even not locate in downtown area but going everywhere will take about 10-15 mins with a very convenient taxi on demand.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank junya_and_gangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were there for a few times for business trips. The room and bathroom are clean, good size, not too small.The bed is a little bit on a harder side though. The design is modern and minimal, just enough. The restaurant is nice and modern with nice staff, serving all day meals. Breakfast is included, sufficient and good quality for the price you pay. The location is in a small road (soi) quiet enough to get some rest, at the same time, right in the city. However, if you don' t have a car, you might find it a little difficult to get around.
We will surely stay here again next time we travel to Ubon.

I hope that they can keep it new and clean as time goes by.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jitchaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This place is really nice. Very clean , stylish rooms. Whole hotel is very nicely designed. Very good resturant there also. Deluxe room include free mini bar. Fast wifi throughout the hotel. 15minute drive from airport and 5min to bus station. On a street with an excellent Thai restaurant also , zaab ...soi 9. I am looking forward to staying here agin in the future.

Room Tip: Zaab soi 9 restaurant just 100 metres up the street is fantastic with excellent Thai food and cold b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cornish-scrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed here for only 2 nights in May 2012. I've requested an early check-in since I've arrived there at 9 in the morning and got what I requested for.

Check-in process was swift. However, I got a room which was on the 2nd level and close to the street. I was too noisy. So, I requested another room on another section of the building. Again, my request was met quickly and I was in another room in like 5 minutes. Great service.

Room cleanliness is ok, not that good since the floor was concrete with no rugs.

Bed was comfy. Pillows were too low, for my standard, anyway. 2 bottles of drinking water for free.

4-5 choices to pick for breakfast.

What I liked the most here was staff's service. I brought my laptop to work at the night (Free wifi too) and found out that there was no socket for 3-legged plug. I went down to the front and asked for adapter. They didn't have one but offered me their outlet power bar. I used it for a night and returned it after I bought one next morning. Great staff!!!

I paid 850 a night and it worth every Baht!!!

The location was a bit out of the way. No other transportation except taxi which you had to call to the center, 20 Baht was added to the meter.

It was a nice little hotel, brand new and great staff. I'll choose this hotel again for my next trip.

Room Tip: Request for the room which not close to the street and stair case. Rooms which facing the hotel'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerryOu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubon Ratchathani hotels
0.3 mi away
B2 Ubon Boutique & Budget Hotel
B2 Ubon Boutique & Budget Hotel
#7 of 31 in Ubon Ratchathani
4 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bliss Ubon
The Bliss Ubon
#1 of 31 in Ubon Ratchathani
105 reviews
0.5 mi away
V Hotel Ubon Ratchathani
V Hotel Ubon Ratchathani
#4 of 31 in Ubon Ratchathani
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Sunee Grand Hotel
Sunee Grand Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ubon Ratchathani
235 reviews
2 mi away
T3 House
T3 House
#2 of 31 in Ubon Ratchathani
129 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tohsang City Hotel
Tohsang City Hotel
#8 of 31 in Ubon Ratchathani
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Ta Hug Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Ta Hug Hotel

Address: 13 Soi Sukha Uppatham 9, Muang Ubon, Ubon Ratchathani 34000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Ubon Ratchathani Province > Ubon Ratchathani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Ubon Ratchathani
Price Range: $22 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen Ta Hug Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pen Ta Hug Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing