We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And a Mansion it is, in the heart of Ubon Ratchathani.”
Review of Phadaeng Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phadaeng Mansion
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
195 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“And a Mansion it is, in the heart of Ubon Ratchathani.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Kim and I stayed there in Oct 2011 during the floods that devastated Thailand all over. How holiday was totally disrupted by train cancellations etc due to flood waters so we made alternate arrangements and visited parts that weren't so badly affected. We felt sorry for the people in the town as so many had to be evacuated to higher ground. The staff at the mansions were extremely friendly and we enjoyed our stay immensely. When the manager found out Kim was from Vietnam and I was from NZ, he hoisted the Vietnam and New Zealand Flags on the flagpole in the front of the entrance for the whole time we stayed. After 5 days we moved to Surin another city 100 plus klms away then returned to the Ubon and the mansion for two more days before travelling back to BKK by plane. It was also close to the night food markets which surprisingly consisted of mostly Vietnamese food stalls. This part of Thailand has a lot of Vietnamese who fled war torn Vietnam in the 60s and 70s. The cheap baht bus goes right past the residence so we often went for rides just to see where it took us and on one of those trips discovered an all you can eat buffet for 99baht about $3 on one of the baht bus routes from the residence heading away from town. By the way its not a hotel as such but more a long term residence but you can still stay there for a few days only. And lastly its chock full of art. Some are a bit Kitsch but still art all the same. Would I stay there again, definitely.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better view of the city of Ubon
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DirtyPierreOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
14
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We've tried another hotel in ubon, but P.Mansion is our best choice, cheaper price with high quality room / service. P.S. you will find 'Art Hotel' sign at its door, in reality, it is. We have come across some different rooms with different title such as 'Monet', 'Da Vinci', if you don't like classical it also have 'Star Wars', 'Manchester United' theme room. Although the title is only depends on the paintings but it is one of our hightlight to find the 'Star Wars' room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CNBorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

From talking to some other people about the hotels in Ubon, Phadaeng Mansion is definitely one of the top choices. It is not listed under hotels, apparently because mansions tend to have a long-stay focus, but I stayed here for two nights in October and there is absolutely nothing to fault in this place far as I could see - it outclasses many true hotels I have stayed at in recent years.

So there are no hotel services (no room service, etc.) and what you get is the room only. But it is spotless, it has its own bathroom, good aircon, a good-size LCD TV, free wifi which was of higher speeds than I used to get in Auckland NZ (and I never complained there), firm king size bed (if you book that), and a building full of art reproductions (some of them kitchy, some of them nudy, but many of them true masters of various eras): a nice surprise in this relatively remote outpost in Isaan. Some rooms have special themes: my room was the Claude Monet room and sure enough it was full of reproductions of famous Monet paintings (see the pictures).

Only minor issue would be that the room doors are not insulated, so noise from people flip-flopping through the hallways is very audible. But overall there was not much noise, this is after all not a party destination.

Overall highly recommended if you're not looking for hotel-style services but are after a clean and complete room not far from the center of Ubon. You can email them to book via thephadaeng a t gmail which I got off another website as you may not be able to book them thru other means apart from calling them (did not find any websites to book them).

Next time in Ubon I will be back here, for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sergio2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
160 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is a very simple yet well maintained hotel. Rooms are clean and decent as is the entire building. It aspires to be an arty boutique mansion, but you don't have to pay attention to the kitch on the walls. Location is solid, you can walk to most places in town, but do need a taxi ride to the transportation hubs, including the airport that is very near. Breakfast included in the low price is very basic - coffee and Chinese fried sticks. Wifi is free and covers all the rooms. The hotel doesn't have any additional services, such as restaurants, massage, but the helpful staff will point you in the right direction and at a good price. There are a few good cafes and eating places near by too. Taxis in Ubon are very cheap and quick. In short - it's a great place for backpackers or less demanding travelers. Basic but very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BorisDivjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht
Level Contributor
102 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This place was awesome. Came from Pakse, Laos and this was a breath of fresh air. In Laos you have to pay at least two times the price for something like this. Was a bit sick so staying in a spotlessly clean room with a big bed, balcony, fast wifi, tv was very welcoming. Did I say it was really really clean?

For 500 baht this place is a really good deal. Stayed for a few nights to get better and just to relax. Staff is friendly, market with excellent street food is about 10 minutes walk.7-11's nearby and you can even rent a motorbike to drive to Pha Taem National Park (80km away).

Good option when in Ubon

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was one of the best hotels that my friend and I stayed in while traveling through Thailand. It was so clean, spacious, and comfortable. It had a fridge, tv, and free wifi. It even had good water pressure in the showers (not always easy to find in Thailand). The front desk staff were helpful and courteous, and considering the amenities, it was a steal. I felt like I was in a much more expensive hotel.

Room Tip: They will barter with you a little on the price, but not a lot. The first price that they give you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SLL0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We really enjoyed our time in the Mansion. After traveling through Laos this was an excellent stop before heading to Bangkok. The rooms and beds are big and very clean. The staff is helpful and puts a lot of effort for client satisfaction.

I would surely recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StanleyIpkiss008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubon Ratchathani hotels
0.2 mi away
T3 House
T3 House
#2 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
115 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Bliss Ubon
The Bliss Ubon
#1 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
86 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunee Grand Hotel
Sunee Grand Hotel
#3 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sri Isan Hotel
Sri Isan Hotel
#10 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laithong Hotel
Laithong Hotel
#5 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
59 reviews
1.4 mi away
V Hotel Ubon Ratchathani
V Hotel Ubon Ratchathani
#4 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phadaeng Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phadaeng Mansion

Property: Phadaeng Mansion
Address: 126 Phadaeng Rd, Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Ubon Ratchathani Province > Ubon Ratchathani
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Ubon Ratchathani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Phadaeng Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing