We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of a bad bunch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunee Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunee Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Ubon Ratchathani
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best of a bad bunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed here in Jan 2012, second time having stayed there in Nov 2011. Compared to the place down the road not bad. The rooms are nicely furnished and are of a reasonable size for the price. However, noise pollution from next rooms are quite bad, cheap walls? Some of the bath plugs are too small and there's nowt more disconcerting than having a bath while you can hear the water escaping. The staff are reasonably friendly but the general standard of English spoken is quite poor. The lobby area is very nice and the breakfast is quite good but could do with a bit more Western foods. The adjoining shopping mall is very convenient and I understand a cinema is opening in March 2012. So in summary not a bad place to stay.

Room Tip: 6th floor or higher to escape noise below
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AjarnBulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    92
    45
    14
    8
See reviews for
44
56
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yasothon, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

I've stayed here on many occasions over last few years. Initially it was a lovely place to stay and I put the bad service down to teething problems.

However, the service just gets worse and worse. Apart from the complete lack of English skills, their attitude to Thai speakers is exactly the same. Aloof and not interested.

The breakfast is very basic. Every morning I almost have to fight with them to get cheese in my omelette! Its a running joke at this stage.

All that said, location is great and the rooms are really nice. The beds are huge and comfortable.

This could be excellent with better staff and management.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank applemanthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

I very much enjoyed my stay at this 4 star hotel. The only complaint I would have is that very few people have any knowledge of English although there were quite a few Europeans staying.
The hotel had no brochure or tourist info available.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter with no street or traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raymondcoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
384 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

This place is the best hotel in Ubon.

The pros:

Location. Part of the largest mall complex in the city it has almost everything you need under the same roof.

Great for kids with an indoor play ground, free hotel pool and (charged) adventure playground pool.

Staff: Reading some reviews it would seem that the staff can be a little aloof as well as charging for small incidentals. We never seem to see this and I assume it is because my family and I have stayed here for approx 30 nights since they first opened a few years ago. They cannot do enough for us and turn a blind eye to many of the charges. The free cot and letting the kids eat free at breakfast are good examples. We also get a slightly cheaper price.

The rooms are large. They are generally quite clean but the carpets are already showing some serious wear and tear. Beds are comfortable. They have also finally sorted out there TV as before there was nothing in English but now there are a few movie channels and well as various news outlets including my favourite, the Australia network. Nice thick curtains help provide a nice sleep in (unless you are travelling with a baby like us!)

The cons:

Penny pinching. As I said before we manage to avoid a fair bit of it but there are two things that annoy me. having to pay for coffee in the room and no free wifi.

The food is not overly great for the price you pay. Heaps better option in the shopping mall or better yet, directly over the road on the street. Beware the broken skewers in your club sandwich!

The mosquitos in the lobby are terrible and have been since they opened.

The place was built as a hospital so it is not designed terribly well.

Room Tip: Paying the extra money for larger rooms is not really worth it. Stick with a standard room and if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeMock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

Good hotell in ubonratchatany and good room swummingpool fitness verynice

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leeyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

The hotel is attached to a shopping mall, convenient for picking up snacks or clothing. The rooom was nice. Large size with a good bed, nice linen and a beautiful bathroom. there was a kettle in the room, but the weird thing was that you had to pay for coffee or tea, even sugar.

I paid extra for a better rom, but I could not tell if we got it or not. If we were in a standard room al I can say is that it was nice.

The pool is upstairs on a terrace. Nice water features, but limited space arond the pool and was quite crowded come evening as everyone returned from day trips.

Breakfast was reasonable. Not sure about the restaurants but it all looked nice.This is probably the best hotel in Ubon and it does a free pick up from the airport and will arrange tuk tuks for you to get arond the town.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

I had a very poor experience at this hotel. It may be a good place to hold a convention, but I found it lousy for a couple. First, the parking situation. The hotel is attached to a second-grade shopping mall, and there is no dedicated parking area for hotel guests: you have to fight for a slot in the parking lot along with the thousands of of mall shoppers. Each time, it was a 15 minute (minimum) ordeal to get in or out. Second, the attitude of the staff is pretentious. This is Isan -- Northeastern Thailand -- known for lack of pretension and hospitality. This hotel has pretensions of grandeur, and the staff seem to think they're working at the Ritz. They were totally unprepared for a rush of conventioneers to get room keys, and seemed out of their depth and useless. They refused to issue me a second key card for my wife. My back was aching after a long drive, so I called down to ask for an extra pillow to help prop myself up. Can you believe they wanted to charge me 100 baht for a lousy extra pillow?!?!? No free wifi either, except in the lobby (200 baht a day in the room). Major, noisy construction just outside the window. Paper thin walls (every cough, sneeze, and light switch audible from the next). Lousy, lousy, lousy. It's back to the Laithong for me.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Radhanond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubon Ratchathani hotels
1.2 mi away
The Bliss Ubon
The Bliss Ubon
#1 of 27 in Ubon Ratchathani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pen Ta Hug Hotel
Pen Ta Hug Hotel
#4 of 27 in Ubon Ratchathani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
V Hotel Ubon Ratchathani
V Hotel Ubon Ratchathani
#5 of 27 in Ubon Ratchathani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
T3 House
T3 House
#3 of 27 in Ubon Ratchathani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tohsang City Hotel
Tohsang City Hotel
#8 of 27 in Ubon Ratchathani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
2.1 mi away
Laithong Hotel
Laithong Hotel
#6 of 27 in Ubon Ratchathani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunee Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunee Grand Hotel

Property: Sunee Grand Hotel
Address: 512/8 Chayangkul Road, Ubon Ratchathani 34000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Ubon Ratchathani Province > Ubon Ratchathani
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Ubon Ratchathani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunee Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sunee Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing